We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gorge View

Gorge View
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hood River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gorge View
Save
You added Gorge View to your Saves list
1009 Columbia Street, Hood River, OR 97031   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Hood River B&B and Inns
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife and I only stayed one night. This B&B is on a quiet street a few blocks away from the town center and numerous restaurants. The place was very clean and the owners were very friendly. It has a large front porch which is perfect relaxing for relaxing with a glass of wine after a long day of sight seeing. Breakfast is served around the dining room table. We really enjoyed meeting and talking with the other guests and the owners.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room and the bathroom was across the hall. It was not an issue for us. The room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A magical 4 days at the Gorge View, friendly breakfasts around their lovely dining table, great recommendations on local places to visit and the best local eateries. Pat and Ann are wonderful warm hosts. Throughout the house tributes from kite surfing guests adorn the walls, this is a house where they really know the local sports and activities. But you can also simply sit and enjoy the wonderful views from the front porch and the beautiful garden........thank you for a memorable visit.

Room Tip: I stayed in the bunk room as a solo traveler - I was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

If you are looking for a classic heritage house with bright comfortable rooms, a great breakfast and a friendly family atmosphere, the the Gorge View B&B is the place for you.
I have been visiting Hood River for more than fifteen years and originally did try other accomodation but once i discovered the Gorge View i would not think of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

My best friend and I went to the Gorge View to spend a couple of days away from our loving husbands and children. It was a wonderful place to relax. It is only a few short blocks walk to the Full Sail Brewery and the other charming restaurants and shops of Hood River. Pat & Ann the owners were wonderful hosts. The rooms are comfortable and clean and breakfast was fantastic. I will definitely be back with my husband and would highly recommend this B&B to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Gorge View is a beautiful house is a quite graden setting with gorgeous veiws of Mount Adams and the Columbia river from the front rooms and the big wrap-around porch. The setting is lovely and so are the hosts. Pat and Ann instantly make you feel like a long time friend. They are an endless source of fun things to do, great stories and help when ever you need it. The Gorge View is definitely a place you can go on your own, feel right at home and meet fun people. i keep coming back year after year.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

I'm a repeat customer of over 20 years and hope to be a repeat customer for the next 20 years!!!
The hosts Pat and Ann go out of their way to make you feel at home! I felt like family after my first stay!!

The day begins with a latte and a huge breakfast, and more often than not ends with a glass of wine sitting on the porch watching the last of the windsurfers and kitesailors finish their sailing day on the Columbia River.

The Gorgeview is within a five walking distance of the amenities of downtown Hood River, and after more than one amazing dinner in town (at restaurants the host have recommended) I've appreciated not having to drive home.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

We loved Hood River. Great Kiteboarding, mountain biking and trail running.

I have never written a bad review before but I am very unhappy with the Gorge View. The accomodation were just so - so but I did not appreciate how the owners treated us. Clearly they do not care about customer service. Save yourself the grief and choose one of the other local B&Bs.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Gorge View, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
We are very sorry jrb was unhappy with Gorge View. He stayed with us in 2009 and booked again for 2010.(so he must have been happy then). When we called him at 8 pm on the night he had reserved for a 3 night stay, he told us he was not coming and forgot to cancel.
We told him we were very sorry but would have to enforce the 1 nt cancellation policy as we had just turned down a booking and were sold out. This is a standard accomodations policy and we are sorry if it caused him grief, we are a small b and b and try to go out of our way to ensure our guests have a wonderful time, and we do truly do care about customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Gorge View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorge View

Address: 1009 Columbia Street, Hood River, OR 97031
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gorge View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.