We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the good and the disappointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Gorge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Columbia Gorge Hotel to your Saves list
Columbia Gorge Hotel
4000 Westcliff Drive, Hood River, OR 97031   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Portland, OR
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the good and the disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

under new ownership compared to last must influence my review.the property is the center piece together with the hotels ambiance. there were just too many small oversights that are inconsistent with the standard of quality.There was no bell staff. the only person available was the clerk who checked us in,ran the elevator, showed us to our room w/fireplace.had to move us to another room as the TV didn't work wasn't check when room was made-up other thing were overlooked as well the toilet seat was loose,limited room service.for emergency purpose there were to be a flashlight in each room either didn't work or missing. the food quality was not that good. the bar was ok.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    90
    39
    20
    14
See reviews for
38
184
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

I read the reviews about the new ownership and the kinks to be worked out such as poor service but decided to try it anyway. I didn't wait a year knowing that a new owner wouldn't have a year to get the establishment running well to stay in business. I found my stay very pleasant. Great service from a caring staff, beautiful location, great food and a very friendly atmoshpere. My wife and I couldn't be more pleased.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

My wife and I met our best friends at the Columbia Gorge Hotel last weekend - Easter weekend. It could not have been better. All the employees - from the desk clerk, to the bartender, to our waiter (Todd - you're awesome...and funny) were incredibly professional, accommodating and warm. Our room was well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. Our dinner the first night was a feast to remember - the seafood platter for two. I don't think we could have chosen a better place for our rendezvous!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We were pleased to see that this grand hotel has reopened. The lobby and other common areas are very inviting and the grounds are a delight to walk around. We enjoyed sitting near the fireplace enjoying a glass of wine and reading about the history of the hotel. The staff is very pleasant and it is particularly nice to be able to enjoy a fabulous dinner in the elegant dining room. The rooms are very nice and the linens very nice too. The hotel reminds us of the elegant hotels we've stayed in around Boston.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

This is a gem to be found! The history alone is very rich and interesting! The staff is very friendly and hospitable and the hotel itself was extremely clean! My husband and I arrived after dark and so did not see to much of the garden, however we spent over an hour just walking through it the next morning taking pictures! It was absolutely gorgeous! If you go don't miss the waterfall that flows into the Columbia River in the back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, WA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

We were sorry to hear even one poor review. Our experience was amazing. Especially the staff! They went above and beyond our expectations. It is true that the hotel is under new ownership and making renovations. However, that means we can only expect improvement in the future on what is already more than what we expected. This historic hotel is worth supporting through this process. We were looking for a romantic get-away for our son and daughter-in-law before he was deployed to the middle east. They treated our children and us like we were royalty the entire time we stayed with them. We were overwhelmed by their hospitality. Our son and his wife plan to revisit them after he returns, as do we. Not only that we are recommending them to our friends, family and clients. The restaurant was five star. If you want five star contemporary rooms, stay at the Columbia Cliff Villas right next door but, be sure to try the restaurant in the Columbia Gorge Hotel while you are there. It's a short stroll through beautiful gardens. We prefer the vintage feel of the Columbia Gorge Hotel. It was like stepping into a time machine to enter an era of elegance and romance. Bravo to the new owners and staff! We will make this a family tradition to visit them at least once a year. Sincerely, Scott and Dian

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tacoma/everett wa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

My husband and I had an amazing time during our stay here. He was home for 2 weeks on leave from being deployed in Afghanistan and we wanted to get away for a few days. From the moment we made the reservation to the time we checked out we encountered nothing but top notch customer service. Everyone was so friendly and went above the call of duty. We were not too familiar with the area and the front desk gave us excellent information on things to do and see. It was becuase of their advice that we have now found our new favorite wine!

Our room was a river view room with a fireplace and had the upmost charm and romance. It was very clean and spacious. I loved the comfy robes hanging in the closet and the huge windows to soak up the beautiful view of the water and mountains.

We not only enjoyed a happy hour menu that was not your typical cheap, small servings size menu, but also the best tasting food at Simon's. I have never had food that was as fresh and delicious as we did here. The service in both the Lounge and at Simon's was impeccable. The perfect balance of privacy and attention was given to us each time we ate there. We even got the pleasure of meeting the head chef as he visited our table and even shook my husband's hand for serving our country. That is not the 5 star service you encounter these days anymore. I still am dreaming about the lamb and tasty rabbit. Yum!

There are not enough wonderful things to say about this charming hotel. My husband and I fell in love all over again and left with the desire to not only come back soon, but at least once per year for the rest of our lives. This truly is our fairytale getaway.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Columbia Gorge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Gorge Hotel

Address: 4000 Westcliff Drive, Hood River, OR 97031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its historic charm and reputation for excellence the Columbia Gorge Hotel is a perfect location for your next leisure visit in the beautiful Columbia River Gorge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Columbia Gorge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Gorge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.