We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but noisy at the front” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Gorge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Columbia Gorge Hotel to your Saves list
Columbia Gorge Hotel
4000 Westcliff Drive, Hood River, OR 97031   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but noisy at the front”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our original allocated room was at the front but since they built the Interstate nearby I paid for an upgrade to a quieter room. We stayed in room 339 that was very spacious and serviced, with a beautiful view over the Columbia River. I could still hear the traffic a little and the waterfall outside the room but it was overall a lovely hotel and we enjoyed our stay. The area is a Mecca for trekking-enjoy

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    91
    39
    20
    14
See reviews for
38
187
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is a beautiful old hotel with perhaps one of the best views of the Columbia River Gorge that one could imagine. It even has it's own waterfall as part of the well-groomed property. Great food in the dining room was an unexpected bonus. It was nice to be able to enjoy this place without worrying about finding a better meal venue.

Rooms were apparently recently renovated, some of the new electrical wiring was unfortunately obvious. My other complaint is that wireless service was a little bit spotty. Minor concerns aside, however, this is a beautiful place to stay and the hospitality from the staff was outstanding.

Room Tip: The historic elevator requires that you find staff to operate it. If you have a lot of luggage or d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

If you love history but want modern amenities, the Columbia Gorge Hotel is for you. Immaculate, updated rooms, but the "feel" of the history of the hotel is still there; quite an accomplishment. The views of the Columbia are spectacular, the falls are right on-site, and watching the wind surfers is relaxing. The grounds are gorgeous and the staff are very friendly and eager to make your stay memorable. The restaurant is great. I brought family and friends with me; we'd all stay again in a heartbeat, and I'd certainly recommend the romantic, beautiful setting as a great place to bring your significant other (or potentially significant other) for a relaxing retreat from "the everyday".

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

It's a beautiful and historic hotel overlooking the scenic Columbia Gorge. Staff seems nice and helpful. The almost 100 year old hotel resurrected some years ago, feels like you're in another world, another time with the antique furniture, interior decoration, and architecture. It definitely has a romantic feel to it.

High season rates are a bit high at around $260; compared to low-season at around $120.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed for one night during a week long trek through Oregon. This is an old world place with a terrific location on the water. I was able to get the room right over the water fall so I heard the water falling all night which as delightful. The sound of traffic from the Interstate was unfortunately pretty loud. They had a very nice happy hour service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river so you are less likely to hear the Interstate traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The Columbia Gorge Hotel lived up to its billing as a historic hotel with an exceptional view of the Columbia River. We enjoy staying in historic old hotels in spectacular settings and we were not disappointed. Our room was beautifully furnished and reasonably spacious. We had a fireplace and a view of river, although the windows were small. The room was not inexpensive and you will hear noise/conversation from time to time; however, any noise from other rooms or the hallways was minimal and not a noteworthy issue for us. Some reviews mentioned highway noise from the nearby freeway, but we really did not notice it. If you want an inexpensive room, sound-proof room - you'd be better off staying at one of the nearby hotel chain brands. However, it you enjoy a beautifully furnished hotel with a spectacular setting that wreaks of travel in bygone times - you will enjoy this one. The view of the river and the hotel gardens (complete with waterfall) are exceptional. The elevator is an old style one requiring an elevator operator. The dining room has an outstanding view of the river and the food was wonderful (although we only ate breakfast).

We'd stay here again and highly recommend the Columbia Gorge Hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights here. It is an historic hotel in a beautiful setting above a waterfall overlooking the river surrounded by nice gardens. The hotel has a lot of charm and what we thought of as charecter but I can see why some people would not like it. We particularly like older places but this hotel had kind of a "faded glory" feel to it at times. We talked to a couple with some mobility issues where having to wait for a staff member to take them upstairs was annoying to them. Another guest i talked to said they did not like the room decor and "plain" furniture. But, that being said,we had an enjoyable stay. We slept great,our mattress was comfortable,the shower was hot with great water pressure and we received friendly helpful service from every employee we encountered. We had a delicious breakfast there,and excellent salmon burgers in the lounge with friends.The early morning coffee and biscotti was appreciated too.We would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Columbia Gorge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Gorge Hotel

Address: 4000 Westcliff Drive, Hood River, OR 97031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its historic charm and reputation for excellence the Columbia Gorge Hotel is a perfect location for your next leisure visit in the beautiful Columbia River Gorge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Columbia Gorge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Gorge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.