We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely historic stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Gorge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Columbia Gorge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Columbia Gorge Hotel
4000 Westcliff Drive, Hood River, OR 97031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Hood River
Palo Cedro, CA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely historic stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Columbia Gorge Hotel is one of those lovely restored historic hotels in an amazing setting (similar to many old lodges in national parks)....the main difference (and drawback) is that it is right next to the railroad tracks, so if you are a light sleeper this might prove challenging. The rooms are clean with modern amenities etc. The rooms over looking the Columbia River have terrific views (but they are also more impacted by the railroad noise).
We were having a bit of a challenge getting seated in the dining room (we had not made reservations, but heck we were staying there and they had plenty of empty tables). After waiting for almost a half hour in the bar, we decided to eat there and had a lovely meal...and our waiter, the bartender, was delightful.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden also face the highway. Those facing the river overlook the railroad tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    68
    21
    15
    10
See reviews for
28
139
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had been told by a customer this was a great hotel. I guess it is the old adage "beauty is in the eye..."

First off I will have to admit the grounds and landscaping were fabulous. The setting and views were beyond fabulous! Loved the old elevator that required an operator. However you were encouraged to use the stairs when you don't have luggage. The stairs, hallways and rooms smelled musty. The king room was small, the bed was creaky. The bathroom was extra small, however the shower had great water pressure, in fact better than any other hotel we've ever stayed at.

We tried three different times to call room service - all to no avail so we gave up and went out! The room did have a small refrigerator and there were two robes - which for almost $200 a night was something!

The young man who ran the elevator on our departure was a delight to visit with. All in all, we were disappointed and chose a different hotel in town for our second night in Hood River.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Salmon, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Good Service, skip the "house" salad and go with the soup. Entrees well presented and prepared. Out standing vegtables and deserts. Did not use hotel. Resturant only, dissapointed that the menue posted on the enternet and hotel page was not available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful, historic hotel. The grounds are breathtaking and the views astonishing. The staff are very service oriented and strive to please. We had a king river view room that overlooked the waterfall (yes, part of the landscaping) and the Columbia river. The room was furnished with antiques but was well modernized with a gas fireplace and flat screen TV. The bath was fine, hardly sumptuous, but clean and functional. One must keep in mind that this is an old building and difficult to make ultra modern and retain the historic charm. We had dinner in their restaurant and it was excellent! We enjoyed our stay very much and will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Great weekend in Hood River. The Columbia Gorge Hotel was perfect for a romantic weekend mini-vacation. Beautiful garden, stunning river view and the style and charm of the 1920's style hotel made this the perfect getaway. Tony, the lounge singer at the hotel, surprised her with singing "Michelle" on request, which made her feel like the most special lady in the world. The hotel staff was friendly, and you have to love the falls behind the hotel. The wine-tasting along the gorge vineyards was the perfect touch to a fantastic weekend. Will definitely come back for a repeat weekend.

Room Tip: River-view rooms cost a little more, but are well worth it. If the weather permits, sleep with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel is at the top of my list...From the minute we pulled into the entrance, we were in another world: a world of beauty, color, smiling people, outstanding food, and a great bed!
This hotel tops them all for us. We stayed two nights, and next time we'll double that stay. We spent one whole day just walking the grounds and taking pictures. The staff was alert, smiling, comfortable to be with, and wanting to do anything to make our stay pleasant. The waterfall was just outside our bedroom window, and the view of the Columbia was magnificent. The chef is tops, the steelhead is superb, as is this creamy broccoli soup and the clam chowder. We will return to this haven. Thank you.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the Columbia River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Got a room at Columbia Gorge hotel from a local promotion. You'd think the hotel would be interested in promoting return business by making sure everything was perfect for us. Wow, what a pipe dream. Though the grounds were interesting they didn't compensate for the dump of a room they put us in. It was extremely noisy from hiway traffic and they stuck us next to a busy stairwell so the noise continued all night. When confronted they apologized and that was the end of it. We WON'T be going back

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Columbia Gorge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Gorge Hotel

Address: 4000 Westcliff Drive, Hood River, OR 97031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its historic charm and reputation for excellence the Columbia Gorge Hotel is a perfect location for your next leisure visit in the beautiful Columbia River Gorge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Columbia Gorge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Gorge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.