We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room with gorgeous view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Gorge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Columbia Gorge Hotel to your Saves list
Columbia Gorge Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4000 Westcliff Drive, Hood River, OR 97031   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, WA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nice room with gorgeous view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We took an impromptu trip to Mt. Hood, ending with dinner and a night's stay at the Columbia Gorge Hotel. Even though the room was a little small with dated furniture, it was comfortable. We had the river view, and it was spectacular, especially with the sound of the falls below. We had a fabulous dinner at the restaurant that was presented beautifully at a good price and the service was great! We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    92
    42
    21
    14
See reviews for
38
195
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Beautiful hotel and amazing service. We were celebrating our anniversary. Upon arrival, a congratulations on our anniversary was posted and there was chilled Champagne waiting in our room. The room was clean and nicely decorated. Loved the gift shop, too! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Water view was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, Ca
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We enjoy staying in historic lodges and small hotels. We have wanted to stay at Columbia Gorge Hotel on several previous trips to Oregon but it never quite worked out. With a two-week trip planned just for the state of Oregon, we made certain that our trip included two nights at the hotel.

Sadly, our stay just didn't live up to our expectations. First, it is an older property and there are many issues that come with that, but we enjoy the uniqueness of older properties and recognize that with age comes a different level of expectation.

On the positive, the setting is very nice with grounds that are attractive. The restaurant was good but not exceptional. The hotel staff was generally friendly, as was the restaurant staff. We had an issue with a supervisor or shift manager over parking that I will allude to later.

We had a River View Deluxe and this was quite a small room, so issue of "deluxe" comes into play. The mattress was very hard. The halls are noisy but it may have been in part due to a wedding party that was enjoying themselves.

Parking can be a bit challenging. If there is an event in the ballroom downstairs, you may find yourself parking in the farthest lot from the hotel, which is almost one hundred yards from the entrance and obscured, leaving you wondering about the security and perhaps yourself if you arrive late in the evening.

The second evening of our visit, we ventured into Hood River for dinner. On our return, there was a wedding reception in progress and there was no parking except in what appeared to be a vacant lot that didn't even seem to be on the hotel property. Concerned about the safety of our vehicle, I inquired at the front desk when they anticipated the wedding guests would leave so that we might move our car closer to the hotel. The young woman on the desk told me that it would be after 11PM. I expressed dismay that there were no provisions for hotel guests to have parking priority over banquet guests and apparently was overheard by a supervisor or shift manager, a middle aged woman. She was a bit huffy and said something to the effect that if it was that big an inconvenience that I could leave my car in the unloading zone.

Great solution, I get selfish and make someone else haul luggage half a mile or block the driveway while they unload. I did suggest that if they are interested in their hotel guests, they might make provisions for banquet parking in the distant lot and work with their wedding or banquet personnel to insure that wedding/banquet guests do not park in spaces reserved for hotel guests. Don't think that was very well received.

If you want to enjoy the hotel, you might first inquire if you will be competing with an event for parking and perhaps solitude (the reverie from the wedding reception--directly below us) kept us from being able to relax too much until late in the evening.

Room Tip: It is historic so you take your chances
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Great old hotel!! Stayed with friends and we loved it. Beautiful overlook of the Columbia River gorge and the Washington shoreline. Interesting to watch the wind surfers, kite boarders and logging ferries all sharing a beautiful river. The hotel, although old, is in pretty good shape although the elevator was spotty at best. Travel light and use the stairs and don't fret about the elevator. The hotel bar and restaurant was excellent although a bit pricey. A quick trip into Hood River (the town) for more shopping and better restaurant choices. The grounds around the hotel are worth walking around- nice waterfall right on the property. We sat on the veranda/balcony for a great romantic setting. Worth another stay, for sure- It lost a "star" rating by being a tad overpriced for the rooms.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for one facing the river!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

An aging dowager of a hotel from the early 20th Century. The public spaces are in need of some attention but there is a certain charm to slightly shabby elegance. The room was large for a hotel of this era and well appointed. The view from the veranda overlooking the Columbia River is not to be missed. The grounds are well tended as you would expect for a wedding destination type property. All in all a pleasant stay with a friendly staff to help.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights in early June. I picked the "garden setting" room due to our love of flowers. What we could see out the window however, was a parking lot and Interstate highway. In retrospect, I wish I would have chosen a room viewing the Columbia River due to the noise level from the highway and windows being only single paned. Our room was small but did have that antique feel and historical aspects. On Sunday morning we enjoyed the 7 course Sunday Brunch but found for the price, the food was only "okay". Would I recommend this hotel? Yes, for the look and feel but choose a room with the river view.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The room was very small but pretty, and the elevator has to be driven by an attendant. However, this hotel has it's own waterfall and the building and grounds are beautiful. Everyone on staff was very friendly and helpful. is just outside of Hood River and you have to drive to town, but it is a wonderful little downtown.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Columbia Gorge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Gorge Hotel

Address: 4000 Westcliff Drive, Hood River, OR 97031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbia Gorge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its historic charm and reputation for excellence the Columbia Gorge Hotel is a perfect location for your next leisure visit in the beautiful Columbia River Gorge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Columbia Gorge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Gorge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.