We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“White Salmon White water rafting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Salmon River

White Salmon River
Hood River, OR
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 52 things to do in Hood River
Activities: Kayaking, White-water rafting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular river in Hood River, Oregon.
Lake Oswego, OR
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“White Salmon White water rafting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Great fun with white water on the White Salmon river. Class 3-4.. up to 6 (depending if they're running the water fall). Just need swim suits and personal items. The companies provide the wet suits. Beautiful basalt carved route. 1 hr 15 min from Portland which is not common to have such great rafting so near a great city. I've used Wet Planet and River Drifters, (although the former the most). Hint: take the splash guards they offer over the wet suit when the water is 40 degrees.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Cajon, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“raft this river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

a very quick side trip from Hood River will take you here for about 3 hrs of class 4 white water rafting. we used allstar raft co. and had a safe fun time but wouldnt recommend for any younger than 13 years

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Most Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Now that Condit dam has been removed the river is free flowing and is simply amazing how its changed for the better. White water rafting is excellent and the fly fishing will be amazing once the fish return.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome time with Wet Planet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Met up with some friends for a great rafting trip down the White Salmon. We went with Wet Planet and they were awesome. They gave us everything we needed and drove us up to the river. All you really need to bring is a bathing suit. I particularity enjoyed passing the public launch site that was bustling with other companies and continuing up the road 2 miles to a private launch site. Our main guide talked to us under the shade of the forest along the river (which was well appreciated on a 90 degree day) about safety and what to do in case you fell in. After the group split up into our individual rafts the excitement began. We were well trained in a calm pool before we went into the first rapid: "Triple Drop" our first class IV rapid. That was followed by more fun rapids that I sadly don't remember the names to, but do remember how awesome they were. We got out and walked around a big waterfall and then jumped off a cliff back into the river, it was super fun! After about an hour of fun, we passed the launch site that we passed on the road where other companies were putting in (I wonder if they knew what they missed)! The rest of the trip was super fun, and I highly recommend the last falls (some folks walked around) where you drop over the edge of the falls to end up totally submerged! It's crazy and totally a blast!

We got done with our trip around lunch time and headed to town for good food and beer. What a great visit! I highly recommend rafting the White Salmon (particularly Wet Planet) and visiting the Columbia Gorge what a great time!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The white salmon river is NOT in Hood River, Oregon- it is in Washington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I am a life long Resident of the Columbia Gorge and for the White Salmon River to have an Oregon address is wrong. It is in Washington State near the town of White Salmon ACROSS the Columbia river from Hood River Oregon. Please Correct your information

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Salmon River also viewed

 

Been to White Salmon River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Salmon River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.