We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting, good wine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Ridge Winery

Cathedral Ridge Winery
4200 Post Canyon Dr, Hood River, OR 97031
800-516-8710
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 35 Activities in Hood River
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted Oregon Winery of the Year and located in Hood River, Oregon, Cathedral Ridge is a premier Oregon winery and vineyard experience that features Columbia Gorge hospitality and world-class wines by Michael Sebastiani. Visit us during your next trip to Oregon Wine Tasting, or sign up for our Wine Club to bring the Cathedral Ridge experience directly to your doorstep each month.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great setting, good wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Well set up for visitors. Pretty setting, great view. One could picnic here happily. It took a bit to get a space at the tasting bar, but the wines were delicious. "Rusty red" wine (with the dog on the label) was one of our favorites. But spendy ($44 a bottle). Ouch.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    6
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Some wines good, staff not very knowledgeable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Most of the wines were good with a few gems (try the Pinot). Staff was not very knowledgeable (at least on the day we were there), but if you just want to taste wine that is fine. Amazing view and beautifully manicured grounds.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Somethin.g for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Great wines, especially for a more advanced palate. Can be a bit pricey but pretty darn good

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Zin in the Gorge.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Every time we are in the Hood we have to go here as my wife loves the 2009 Zin. The tasting room folks are not pretentious at all and love to talk about the different wines they are pouring.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent wine and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The staff was very nice and helpful to pick and choose the wine. One of the wines my parents loved was the Rose wine that is only made by this winery. They loved it and I plan to order it again when I visit them next.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Ridge Winery also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Ridge Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral Ridge Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.