We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty trail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mirror Lake Trail

Mirror Lake Trail
Hood River, OR
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 22 Attractions in Hood River
Type: Hiking Trails
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located on the Mount Hood's north side.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Pretty trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This popular trail took a little longer than we planned (maybe an hour and a half total), but it was nice. The reflection of Mt. Hood in the water was not as spectacular as I imagined but that could have been because people were fishing in there and the water was not totally still.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    14
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hike was stunning, and perfection with 1- 4 year old, 1- 3 year old, 1-2 year old. The views were breath taking and kids and adults were all happy hikers

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“One of the Most Popular Mt Hood Area Hikes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a hike on the South side of Hood, not the north, as described. It's accessed from parking areas alongside Route 26. If the first area is packed with cars (usual on weekends), continue on to a second parking area a bit farther east to try your luck there. The hike itself is a steady uphill hike for about a mile. Rated "easy" in most hiking guides, it's still a breathy experience for folks who are not accustomed to uphill hiking or mile-high altitude; so take it easy, rest when you need to, and drink lots of water. The hike can include a circuit around the small lake, which gives you nice views, and can also include a further ascent up the ridge overlooking the lake (very nice). Lots of folks make this hike, especially on weekends and holidays, so try to do it on a weekday and get there early for parking. Take a picnic lunch.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our hike to Mirror Lake. We went on a Monday around 11am. The drive from Portland was nice and scenic. We stopped at the first gas station we saw in Sandy to buy our parking pass for the day and continued on to the trailhead.

There was a rushing stream at the trailhead that was really cool. The hike up to the lake was invigorating. It is uphill of course, so be prepared for that. When you get to the top there is a trail around the lake, part of it was a boardwalk to take you through the watery areas.

We took the trail to the right at the top, then continued to the right on the Tom Dick and Harry Mtn trail. I had read that there was a scenic viewpoint of Hood Mountain part way up, and boy it did not disappoint. We got some great pictures, and you can see down to the road below. It is amazing how far up we had climbed on the trail!

We headed back to the lake, then took the loop around for views of Mt Hood in the lake. Awesome.

From here we drove over to the Timberline Lodge, then to Hood River and back to Portland. Views, views and more views. The best day of our trip!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota/Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Popular path, went beyond the lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had never hiked in this area of the country before so we picked something more popular in hopes of getting a glimpse of Mt. Hood. Although we were there during the "off" season on a drizzly day, it is obvious that this is a very popular hike and I suspect might be a bit obnoxious during camping season. Hence their attempts at keeping everyone on the trail and picking up after themselves. The path is easy, obvious and wide, approx. 1.4 miles to the lake. We kept going up to Tom, Dick and Harry mountain, another 1.8 miles from the lake which proved to be a wonderful extension of our hike. Although the fog and cloud never let us see Mt. Hood, we did get a good look at Mirror Lake and from time to time on the way up the sun came out. There was still snow in the forest, so I was thankful for those who came before me and showed the path with their footprints in the snow patches. When I visit again, I will pick another less populated trail now that I am more familiar with the terrain and weather patterns.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mirror Lake Trail also viewed

 

Been to Mirror Lake Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirror Lake Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.