We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable day trip from Portland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Hood

Mount Hood
Mount Hood area Highway 26 & Highway 35., Hood River, OR
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #2 of 24 Attractions in Hood River
Type: Mountains, Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Volcanos
Activities: Biking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The tallest mountain in Oregon.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Memorable day trip from Portland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Staying in Portland, we rented a car and took a day trip to do the Mt. Hood Scenic Loop. I definitely recommend it. Mt. Hood is so majestic and the trip along the Columbia River Gorge is really beautiful. Close to the Village of Government Camp we stopped at a trail head for Mirror Lake and took a nice hike to the lake -- around 3 miles altogether. To be completely legal and make a contribution to the upkeep of the great facilities, we bought the $5 Park Day Pass at the visitor center in town. The hike wasn't too hard -- lots of kids and people with dogs on the path -- but the path climbs the whole way up. The path was very scenic and once at the Lake itself, on a clear day you see Mt. Hood and its reflection from the far side.

Going along the Columbia River Valley, I recommend driving on the Washington side if you have time (route 14), especially the stretch between Hood River and Cascade Locks. It is a little slower but the roads are still very good and the views are amazing, with Mt. Hood in the background.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    25
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“mt hood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

we rode the train up to Mt Hood and back then we drove up to Mt Hood in the car we could get closer to the mountain in the car the weather was perfect and the view was awsome

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Snowy in June!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Snow in June is great if you're looking to snowboard, but not if you're hoping to hike! ;) Totally our fault for not calling ahead, though. Still majestic and breath-taking up close, and fun pelting each other with snowballs in 60 degree weather! Drive up to Timberline Lodge was spectacular too!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
404 helpful votes 404 helpful votes
“A Natural Majestic Sentinel In the Cascades.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Mt. Hood is truly a majestic sight. It often appears suddenly as you travel toward it and it looms huge and snow capped. In the spring the forests around it are greening up and flowers abound around every corner. Beautiful photos are guaranteed...the best are obtained in the morning and the evening when the shadows recede. The Fruit Loop out of Hood River to the south is a must. The size of the mountain is awe inspiring. Remember it is still a volcano, although at the moment it is quiescent.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A fantastic volcano, a charming lodge and a unique cultural center and museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

On a clear day, we headed for Mt. Hood to see the wildflowers and the snow sparkle in the sunlight. It was breathtaking. We ate lunch at the elegant old lodge on the mezzanine overlooking the lobby with its beautiful rock fireplace. We stopped at the Mt. Hood Cultural Center and Museum just down the road to learn about Steiner Log Cabins on Mt. Hood, the 10th Mountain Division in WWII and other unique history.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Hood also viewed

 

Been to Mount Hood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Hood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.