We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not as big as Rainier,but beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Hood

Mount Hood
Mount Hood area Highway 26 & Highway 35., Hood River, OR
Improve this listing
Visit Mount Hood like an insider
Top Rated
$215*
and up
Mt Hood Snowshoe Adventure from Portland
Ranked #2 of 53 things to do in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The tallest mountain in Oregon.
WHITE MTS NEW HAMPSHIRE
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“not as big as Rainier,but beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

we only went up to Timberline Lodge(I think this is where they filmed"The Shining").You take route 35 from Hood river and all of a sudden,there she is.Gift shop was plentiful.We were there off-season,so there was a lot that was not yet open for the ski season.Well worth a visit any time of year.Ask about Barlow pass named for Samuel Barlow.David/cheryl Sargent

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    28
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Eat at Timberline Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Had the pleasure of driving up to the top of Mt, Hood and enjoyed the weekday lunch buffet. All food was freshly prepared with local ingredients. The lodge is worth wandering around and viewing all the architecture and art. The mountain peak was in full view as we enjoyed a drink in the upstairs bar.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inkpen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Mixed Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We tried the first day but the weather was so wet and cold my wife had an asthma attack and we had to come down.We tried again another day and went to Lost Lake.The view of the mountain was impressive.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mts of western NC
Top Contributor
489 reviews 489 reviews
168 attraction reviews
Reviews in 200 cities Reviews in 200 cities
339 helpful votes 339 helpful votes
“Easy to get to and the views are unparalleled on a clear day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

The key word in the title is CLEAR. If the weather is anything but clear save this journey for another day. We were quite fortunate to observe this tremendous mountain on a perfect day in mid September. As you approach the lodge area you keep waiting for vantage points along the road to see this wonderful snow covered peak. The entire region is just beautiful with so much to offer. We have done reviews for a few of the attractions (the Timberline Lodge, Multnomah Falls, Bonneville Dam, etc...) here in the region and this is among the best. Do not miss the seeing the lodge and if you get the opportunity to have lunch here we recommend it highly, as long as there are no tour buses outside. It would make it too crowded inside and spoil the experience. Highly recommend!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Ohio
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
“Beautiful Area if you can see it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We traveled the Mount Hood Scenic Loop last week. We started out in the Columbia River Gorge Area and continued the drive around the loop with our next stop being Mount Hood itself. This was our first trip to the area and we had no idea that the fog/cloud cover hangs over the mountain top most if not all of the day. Our first clue was when we stopped at the visitor's center at Multnomah Falls in the gorge area and one of the employees informed us that it was going to be a good day and we might even be able to see the top of the mountain that day. My husband and I just kind of looked at each other at this point because we were under the impression that we would just drive to Mount Hood and there it would be...after all it is high and big and how could it not be visible. Well.....as it turns out most of our scenic drive to the mountain was shrouded in fog which was pretty thick in places. It was around noon at this point so we figured that the sun would have had time to burn off the majority of it, but this wasn't the case. We also were under the assumption that Parkdale was near the mountain and was a place of interest to stop. Not that it's not a nice small town, but there really was no view of the mountain from there and nothing really in town to stop and see. We continued on and still no sight of the mountain itself. We had read that Timberline Lodge provided the best views of the mountain so we turned up that way...still no mountain. We got to the Lodge area and there was a piece of mountain showing but you still couldn't see any of the top, it was totally obscured by the fog. We took some photos but were disappointed in the view to this point.

We decided to continue around the loop and turn off on Lolo Pass Road. This is a very narrow roadway that is not maintained during the winter and therefore closes. It was still open at this point in the season so we figured we would give it a go. As we got a few miles into the Lolo Pass, the skys opened up and there it was.....the top of Mount Hood...plain as day! There really was a mountain there...and it was a beautiful sight! We continued a little further along the roadway and the fog was so thick that you couldn't even see the twists and turns in the road so we ended up turning around and returning to the southern part of the scenic loop.

We didn't do any hikes or walks here nor did we ski so I can't speak to those things at Mount Hood. It did look like a great ski area. I'm sure if we had been able to see more or do more here, it would have been a five star location.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Hood also viewed

 

Been to Mount Hood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Hood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.