We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable View of Columbia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Vagabond Lodge to your Saves list
Vagabond Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4070 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
NJ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unbelievable View of Columbia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2006

It was truely a highlight of our trip!!
Had wall of windows providing an unbelievable view of the Columbia. Stayed in 2nd floor suite on left corner of new building. There were some trees that enhanced the view but no roads, or even people for that matter. That made the room very private even with the shades wide open. There was a balcony with chairs the length of the room. The sunrises were phenomenal (was some where else for sunsets).

The suite was very nice. It had one bedroom with a door and the main room (with the windows) had a bed, a seating area, fireplace, fridge and a coffee maker. Things were nice, excellent for the price of $100, but this is not a luxury hotel. It was very clean except for the big spider under the sink. The staff was very friendly and conscientious.

Had originally planned to have 2 other people staying with us. Would recommend spending the few extra bucks and getting the suite for the view. I'd brave a lot of spiders to stay there again.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The spider
  • Tips/Secrets — No elevator, not right in Hood River
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    129
    28
    6
    8
See reviews for
70
151
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
albany,ore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2006

we stayed in one of the full rooms with the fireplace and kitchen. everything was clean and ready to stay. the grounds were well kept and had little surprises here and there with the plants that were varied.will stay again when in the area

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2006

I really liked my room, it had a grand view of the Columbia River. The staff was friendly and the room was very sanitary (unlike some other places I've stayed). The Vagabond Lodge is very affordable and is within walking distance of two restaurants. While watching the river, I was delighted to catch sight of an eagle flying behind the hotel. I think overall this is my favorite place to stay whenever I'm in the area skiing or windsurfing.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2006

The hotel is situated on the banks of the Columbia River. We had a riverside room with a private balcony. Trees between our room and the river partially blocked the view but it didn't keep us from enjoying the boats and water skiiers. Room was spacious, sink separate from bathroom, very clean. Motel surrounded by gardens. Helpful staff.

If you're up to walking lots of steps, the Horse Feather Pub has really good food at reasonable prices. Also recommend the Egg Harbor Cafe for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2005

I stayed at the Vagabond Lodge for two nights and enjoyed myself very much. The room was clean, there was a nice view of the Columbia River and the property was conveniently located to I-84 for a quick jaunt into town or neighboring Cascade Locks. I highly recommend the Vagabond - and when plans for my trip changed later bringing me back into the area for whitewater rafting, I called and stayed here and drove an hour into Maupin rather than staying closer because I thought so much of my last stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2004

Stayed in a small riverview room for two nights over Labor Day weekend. Small riverview room with one queen bed is an older motel style room, stand up shower without tub, rooms in this building need remodeling. In the morning, central vac sound was loud in our room, as air was being sucked through central vac inlet. Staff was friendly, no major problems, but I won't be back. Would suggest anyone looking at this for a vacation be particular with the management to understand which room you are getting. Building next door with larger rooms and suites for families is much nicer.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2004

Did a long weekend trip through the Columbia River Gorge and through the reviews on this board, booked the Vagabond Lodge in Hood River, Oregon.
At first, we thought, "Oh God", but after getting into our room, we pleasantly surprised. It is a 'ma and pa' kind of place, not a chain. We had asked for a room in the 'newer section' and for $94 got a 2 room suite with a fridge and coffee pot. We were on the 3rd (top floor) and were equal to the tops of the trees. Had a terrific view of the Columbia River.
Would stay there again, as long as it was in the new section.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Lodge

Address: 4070 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge at the Gateway to the Beautiful Hood River Valley, the Vagabond Lodge is the ideal place for you to stay while exploring the area. Set on five acres overlooking the mighty Columbia River, on our grounds you will find a botanical wonderland including 110 foot tall pine trees and native wild flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Vagabond Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Motel Hood River
Vagabond Hotel Hood River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.