We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price; nice view (Columbia river)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Vagabond Lodge to your Saves list
Vagabond Lodge
4070 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good for the price; nice view (Columbia river)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We found out about Vagabond Lodge from Hotel Impossible: although it was a hotel in trouble, the problem was not lack of care, or cleanliness, rather financial management, which guests naturally do not care about! Stayed at this place for a night.

The room was clean, with very old furniture (had some trouble turning on the TV; and the phone made us laugh quite a bit---see the photo). The bathroom amenities were nice and usable. We had a dining table in our room which was nice. We had a river-view room, so the morning view was beautiful. The bed spread was old-fashioned, and I remember Anthony had specifically asked the manager to replace them!

I'd go back and stay another night if I'm around Hood River.

Room Tip: I've heard they have NEW and OLD buildings; try the new one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Vagabond Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thanks for your review! Yes, new bedding has been ordered and is on the way. Some of it is made-on-order, so it takes a little time to make and ship. We'll keep updating our rooms as well. Keep checking in on our progress and let us know how we're doing, so we can make each visit better than the last! Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    127
    28
    6
    8
See reviews for
69
150
29
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Great views of the Columbia River but loud due it's close proximity to the HWY and train tracks. The rooms were basic but clean. Staff seemed friendly enough. Price was cheap and they're pet friendly. I was a woman traveling alone and was a bit nervous because I really didn't see anyone around during my stay. Overall not a bad experience but I probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Vagabond Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thanks for your review, and for letting us know of your concerns. We always have staff onsite and around the property. Typically during the summer, a lot of people are out and about enjoying Hood River so you'll see mainly staff around the hotel. We also have rooms away from the road that are quietly overlooking the river. Please do stop by if you're in town again; we'd like to earn your trust as our guest. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We spent Thursday/Friday night at this motel which we learned about on a TV Show. We stayed in a suite with full kitchen, 2 bathrooms, bed in the living room and a separate bedroom. It also had a gas fireplace and a large jacuzzi tub in one of the bathrooms. A neat feature was a third bathroom sink/mirror, etc. which was great for 4 adults. We did not have a river view, as some rooms do, but our cabin was located in a quiet, peaceful setting. It was impeccably clean, provided extra blankets and pillows, and everything we needed in the kitchen. We especially enjoyed the beautifully landscaped grounds and gardens with views of the gorge (apparently this is a venue for weddings, etc). All staff were friendly and helpful. One downside: the Jacuzzi jets had broken down the day before and required significant repair which was not possible going into a weekend. We get that Jacuzzis can be temperamental and they did give us a 20% discount on room rates. The second downside was having only 3 chairs for seating at the table, but the office quickly remedied this. This wonderful family-run motel is definitely worth a visit (we'll be back!!). Did we mention it was impeccably clean???

Room Tip: Next time we will try for a river-view room with balcony/patio just because of the beautiful view, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Vagabond Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thanks for your review! Glad you had a great time visiting us and Hood River. I'll let housekeeping know about your nice compliments; they take great care of our little place. See you next time and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redding
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We had the large view room on the second floor. It was a nice room with a great view and quiet. The Columbia Gorge hotel is in walking distance to it and a great place to eat breakfast and dinner.You do hear the other people in the rooms next door but not too bad and you will hear the train go by which isn't too loud.

Room Tip: Get a view of the river and upper deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Vagabond Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thanks for your review! Glad you enjoyed the view and the quiet out back; sitting on the balcony is a nice spot to relax. We'll have some more out back along the cliff for guests to enjoy: we now have 2 glamping tents guests can enjoy with a room! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Vagabond is dated and could use some maintenance, but pretty good for the price and convenient location. Young man in the office was very nice, very professional; also checked the room to see if it was ready and then allowed us to check-in two hours early. The room was clean and comfortable. No fan in the bathroom and steam from the shower set off the smoke detector. There was quite a bit of road noise from the Interstate so bring your earplugs if you're a light sleeper. Sheets were clean and mattress was firm. Overall, this was a good stay and the Vagabond was worth the sub-$100 price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Vagabond Lodge, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thanks for your review! Yes, you were in our original building, opened in 1954. We'll fix that detector, thanks for letting us know about it. We do have our other buildings set back on the cliff overlooking the river, set back away from the road, that are a bit quieter. Glad we could check you in early, and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

From the exterior, looks can be deceiving but the Vagabond Lodge is a true gem if you are staying in the Hood River area. If you get the chance, get one of the suites that has a balcony overlooking the Columbia Gorge--you will not be disappointed.

I have stayed at this location on previous locations when traveling through Oregon. I always look forward to my stay at the Vagabond Lodge.

Room Tip: The suites are the best. Also, you can get a great breakfast at the restaurant that is just west of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Vagabond Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thanks for staying with us over the years! From those River View rooms we're starting to hear about more frequent eagle fly-byes. We'll keep improving the grounds so more guests can enjoy our spot as well. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klamath falls
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

I loved my stay. Very kind receptionist. Came in that afternoon, was able to get extra towels for swimming and woke up to a nice breakfast in the back of the hotel. They work with us to make sure we were comfortable and well taken care of. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Vagabond Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thanks for your review! We'll always do our best to take car of our guests. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Lodge

Address: 4070 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge at the Gateway to the Beautiful Hood River Valley, the Vagabond Lodge is the ideal place for you to stay while exploring the area. Set on five acres overlooking the mighty Columbia River, on our grounds you will find a botanical wonderland including 110 foot tall pine trees and native wild flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Vagabond Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Motel Hood River
Vagabond Hotel Hood River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.