We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roomy, potted plants and flowers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Vagabond Lodge to your Saves list
Vagabond Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4070 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Roomy, potted plants and flowers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was the best property I stayed in on a recent vacation. Nicely furnished, potted plants and nice landscaping. Very roomy too. I would stay here days if visiting the Columbia River Gorge. Stay in the more expensive rooms near the river for good views.

Room Tip: Rooms near the front get freeway noise starting about 4 AM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Vagabond Lodge, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks much for your review, glad you enjoyed our property so much! Our new furniture is currently being stained, so we'll have that done next time you stay. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    145
    29
    7
    8
See reviews for
80
166
31
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Vagabond Lodge has different tiers of rooms. We stayed in a fairly basic room with a queen bed, microwave, refrigerator, and microwave. The room was clean and the front desk employees were very friendly. It's just of the highway with beautiful grounds to walk around. Breakfast is not offered.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Vagabond Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for your review! We'll keep upgrading things so each stay keeps getting better. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed in room #63. Nice size room with king comfy bed, micro and fridge but what makes this room is the balcony with awesome view of the Columbia River and the gorge. Sat on the balcony and watched the wind surfers and kite boarders and of course a great sun set. Room has a table and chairs set with wine glasses and a beautiful real plant. Large bathroom seemed recently upgraded. Very, very clean. Service over the top. Came back to room after sightseeing to find note from maid that she had swapped out our micro because she could smell popcorn and wanted us to come back to nice smelling room. We had made popcorn nite before. Also left extra coffee because we mentioned we were coffee drinkers. No breakfast but coffee, tea and coco in office. Very close to town but out away from noise. Easy hi way 84 access. Very helpful about restaurants for breakfast and dinner. Hope to go back. When in Hood River highly recommend Vagabond Lodge.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony room in back with view of Columbia River Absolutely worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Vagabond Lodge, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your review! Yep, Pam (and all our staff) will always look for those little things that make a visit comfy. With all the great places to eat around town, we have to recommend these great restaurants for guests instead of have our own. Glad to hear you had a wonderful time and we hope to see you next visit! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My wife and I got room #60 for a couple nights. It is a balcony suite with a gas fireplace. It has two large beds, one in a private bedroom, and one in an open area by the living room. I also had a small dining table with a couple chairs in the living room. The balcony was very spacious with many chairs, and the view overlooked the beautiful river.

There was a swing and tree fort for kids to play on, and they have a nice large BBQ for guests to use freely (but bring your own briquettes). The whole area was very nice looking with lots of Steller's Jays flying around.

It is located only about 3 to 5 minutes drive from the downtown area. I would really like to go back sometime.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Vagabond Lodge, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanks much for your review! Glad you enjoyed your room and stay; that room will also be getting some new furniture (currently being hand built). We do have BBQ briquettes, lighter fluid, and tools available to buy/use here in our office at near the same as the store charges. We're going to build/get a couple new BBQ spots soon as well (for more picnics or family gatherings)! Thank you again, and we hope to see you next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Small, affordable place just off the highway, about 5 minutes drive from downtown Hood River. It's on a hill overlooking the river, and the river view rooms have great views. That being said, we stayed in a non-view room since we booked last minute, and were lucky just to get a room in Hood River for the night we were there. It was $87 with tax, which I would consider too expensive in some places for what we got, but okay in Hood River, especially for this particular weekend.

Check-in just after 3pm was quick and friendly. Our room had a queen bed, which wasn't terribly comfortable (we both woke up with slight pain), but wasn't horrible. There was a small TV that we never turned out, so cannot comment on channels. Small fridge, old microwave, old phone also in the room. Also a small table. An extra light somewhere in the room would have been nice.

The bathroom was a decent size, and the shower was of good size. Air conditioning is window unit, which can cover up the sometimes loud highway noise associated with the non-view rooms at the front of the property (rooms with views, further back, shouldn't have highway noise issues).

The hotel said they had free wifi but I never picked up a signal in our room...not even a weak one.

For a night or so, it's a great steal if you don't mind being just out of downtown. Longer stays...I think I would need a bit more comfort. But, I'm spoiled by my business travel ;)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Vagabond Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thanks for your review, glad you had a nice time with us. Next time we'll try to have a View room in back for you to enjoy the view. We're also going to be updating furniture in front and get some new lighting as well. Apologies about the weak wifi signal, if there's ever a connection problem please let us know and we will do what we can to fix that. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed one night in a large room facing the river with a balcony. We could see over the river across to Washington state. Spectacular view! Excellent value for the size of the room and the great view.
The room was nicely furnished and very clean. Comfy, large bed.
There was very nice coffee and tea at the reception, which was refreshing at check-in. Also, coffee and tea in the rooms.
The bathroom had an excellent shower - a massive shower head with good pressure and lovely hot water.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Vagabond Lodge, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks for your review! We're just about done rebuilding the fence along the cliff as well, so we'll be able to reopen our back courtyard for everyone to enjoy again. It'll be another great spot to enjoy that view! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I really like the spacious river view suites - even though we only use the bed in the living area. Our only request would be to have a king size bed put in that area...keep the queen in the bedroom. Hood River is such a beautiful area - we would consider staying at Vagabond Lodge much more frequently if we knew this change had been made.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VagabondLodge, Owner at Vagabond Lodge, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thanks for your review! I'll see what we can do regarding switching those to king beds. New furniture for those rooms is being made right now, so I'll look into matching that spot with a king. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Lodge

Address: 4070 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge at the Gateway to the Beautiful Hood River Valley, the Vagabond Lodge is the ideal place for you to stay while exploring the area. Set on five acres overlooking the mighty Columbia River, on our grounds you will find a botanical wonderland including 110 foot tall pine trees and native wild flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Vagabond Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Motel Hood River
Vagabond Hotel Hood River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.