We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oldie but Goodie” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Vagabond Lodge to your Saves list
Vagabond Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4070 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An Oldie but Goodie”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

The view from our balcony was great - the room large, clean and quiet and the staff helpful and friendly. A coffee maker would have been nice.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    129
    28
    6
    8
See reviews for
70
151
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, OR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

I admit, I based my decision to stay at the Vegabond partially on price. But also on location and the availability of a river view room, which was actually nice. The property is actually beautiful, but we were there to sleep, not for a pic-nic.

It was supposed to be a non-smoking room but the overwhelming smell of the room was definitely not smoke free. The bathroom was the worst! Once the steam from the shower hit the walls, out came the smoke smell. The furnishings were very dated, and included a nice iron shaped burnt spot on the carpet. Yes, someone had dropped an iron on the carpet and branded it.

Also, I had read an advisory about fancy toiletries and that there wouldn't be any at the Vegabond. That was an understatement. There was no shampoo. None. Not even the cheap kind.

Overall- the smell of the supposed non smoking room really "fogged" our stay. With no other redeeming qualities, I will pay the extra $10 next time and stay somewhere else.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2008

Stayed for two nights at this two-storey timber clad motel just off junction 62 on I84, opposite Hood River.

It doesn't look particularrly inviting but the views from the rear balcony are excellent and quiet, apart from the occasional train trundling by on both sides of the river.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious if a little old fashioned but it was clean and comfortable. It had a fridge but no coffee making facilities. The microwave cooker didn't work but we didn't make an issue out of it.

The front door was difficult to lock and required maintenance.

We didn't like the recommended diner up the road. We sent two meals back because they were not properly cooked. How do you undercook roast chicken and spoil smoled beef?

Overall though we enjoyed the stay and the area is both scenic and interesting.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Microwave didn't work and door difficult to lock
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windham ny
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

We showed up looking for a room with a view. A room was available but it was early and the room was not ready. We were told we could look at the room and if we liked it we could bring our bags in. Pam was cleaning the room when we got there. She could not have been nicer or more helpful. We sat on the balcony while she finished cleaning. The view from the balcony was breathtaking. The river, mountains, huge trees. At night you can see the lights from the trains passing by and hear the whistles.You can also see the lights from the tug boats and barges. The colorful windsurfers were on the river during the day and there is an eagles nest in one of the trees along the river. It was wonderful! The room was OK, nothing special although it was clean. The carpet is old and very stained but we didn't go there to look at the carpet. The staff that we ran into were friendly and helpful, the hotel was quiet, the price was right and I would stay there again.

  • Liked — the view
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

I stayed here 2 nights. Fairly attractive and clean, comfortable beds, and odor-free. I paid extra to stay in the back, have a larger room, and a full bath, but it was still very reasonable.

Minimal adjacent room noise (some from water pipes in the morning, but infrequent), and one night the place was relatively booked up. Nice view of gorge from balcony of room. Excellent freeway access. Some slight nuances in a few of the furnishings (minor stains on one chair, too much pressure in water faucent, a rubber seal for the tub drain to accomodate worn-out fixture drain), but no drips or complete failures. Nothing I would consider serious or dirty. Carpet and walls were unmarked. Bed was firm and comfortable.

Very good quality for the price. I would stay here again.

  • Liked — quality for price
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

I have stayed in 4 or 5 different rooms at the Vagabond, from the budget rooms facing the town side, to the view rooms facing the gorge. My wife and I like room #34 best; it is a corner, second-floor fireplace suite with a double and a queen bed I think. The view is fantastic and it's nice to have a fireplace to sit by. The room itself is large, and the exposed wooden beams in the ceiling are a nice touch.

This is not a fancy hotel (e.g., shower, but no tub, and you probably have to fetch your own firewood from the woodpile), but it has a comfortable, rustic appeal and a great setting. Although there of course is a highway not too far away, it is out of earshot in the gorge view rooms. The lodge is bordered on one side by a fancy historic hotel which many could not afford, and on another side by the edge of the gorge itself. The grounds are characterized by mossy rocks, boulders, and oak trees. See attached picture.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — fireplace could use a cleaning
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

Our room was beautiful. We had a nice view of Columbia Gorge. It was a large, cozy room. We stayed for 3 nights. We also got snowboarding tickets for $32 through the hotel. It is off the freeway 84. It was easy to find and a fun place to stay!

  • Liked — Getting lift tickets for Meadows Resort!
  • Disliked — It would be nice if there was a hot tub!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Lodge

Address: 4070 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge at the Gateway to the Beautiful Hood River Valley, the Vagabond Lodge is the ideal place for you to stay while exploring the area. Set on five acres overlooking the mighty Columbia River, on our grounds you will find a botanical wonderland including 110 foot tall pine trees and native wild flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Vagabond Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Motel Hood River
Vagabond Hotel Hood River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.