We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel to your Saves list
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3880 Westcliff Drive, PO Box 887, Hood River, OR 97031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Discounted Ski Tickets
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beyond beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom villa with panoramic views of the river. When we walked in, we were astounded at the space and beauty of this villa, high ceilings, tasteful furnishings, and high end kitchen and bathrooms. This was one of the most beautiful views I have ever had in a hotel, we hardly wanted to leave balcony. Watching the kite and wind surfers was so cool. Definitely worth the $- amazing value for the view/space. My family of five was so sad to leave this amazing villa. Treat yourself to this beautiful property, you won't regret it!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stessmer, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Lisa C,
Thank you for sharing your family's experience with TA travelers. Our multi-room suites are ideal for friends and families traveling together and often serve as the inspirational meeting space for family reunions, business and group retreats. We look forward to your next visit.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    31
    23
    9
    1
See reviews for
34
129
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, Hawaii
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Had a 3 berm Pinnacle suite. Absolutely amazing. New, everything high end, great gorge views to watch the sunset. Kitchen was excellent. Probably ranks as high as any condo type of accommodation we have stayed in in the world. That goes for the INTERIOR. Externally, I agree with another recent reviewer, to go big or stay home. The building near the road doesn't have any worth while views.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stessmer, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear ssmhawaii,
Thanks for staying with us and posting your rave review. There's way too much outdoor adventure and night life in The Gorge to ever stay home; our smaller, non-view rooms were designed to provide a competitive alternative for those who need a clean, comfortable, well-appointed sleeping room to rest up between activities. These guests often enjoy all the great views from the adirondak chairs on our outdoor viewing areas. While nothing compares with the breathtaking views of our larger suites and River Rooms, most guests are pleasantly surprised by the river and garden views from the North side of both Carriage House buildings. Details, pictures and floor plans for all options can be found on our website. Hope to see you again soon.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Overall the villa was very nice, the trick though is to stay in the more expensive River rooms, other wise you are overlooking the parking lot or the 84 freeway. I think next time for the price I would stay next door at the Historic Columbia Gorge
Hotel. You can walk from the villa's to the hotel and eat there and enjoy their grounds. Our room was very nice, but the blinds (Hunter douglas) that would shut out the morning sun were broken on one side and I reported it, but it needed a professional to fix it. The bathroom was well appointed and the bed comfortable. Note though to those who are of smaller stature like myself (5' tall) it was difficult
to climb into bed, they need to put a small step in the closet for us shorties. Overall though it was a clean and comfortable room with outstanding views of the gorge. Oh the trains do pass by in the afternoon directly below you.

Room Tip: Get the River rooms, by the way the balcony is only big enough to stand on no room for chairs, but g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stessmer, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear DucksRule, Interestingly, the original concept for Columbia Cliff Villas started with the former owners of the neighboring Columbia Gorge Hotel, who sold us the property. Our goal was to develop a variety of new, high-quality lodging options to compliment their historic inventory. Likewise, our exterior was designed to compliment the architecture and attract discerning travelers to help support dining, spa and wedding facilities. As you discovered, most of our rooms and suites offer breathtaking views of the Gorge and gardens; whereas the back side rooms provide a less-expensive alternative for the countless outdoor enthusiasts who visit the Gorge seeking a comfortable and well-appointed sleeping room to rest up for the next day's conquests. Unlike most hotels, Columbia Cliff Villas offers a wide variety of rooms and suites, certain to meet the needs of most discerning travelers. Our website provides pictures, floor plans and details to assure guests select the best option for their visit and our friendly concierge and reservations staff are available 24/7 to help in any way.
We hope to see you again soon.
Go Ducks!
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukie, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is not a hotel but a smaller type of apartment or condo like feeling to it.
The staff was very nice upon arrival and was not going to let us walk to the room alone. She walked us to the unit and showed us around and went over the operation of the Keurig coffee machine. We asked about eating for dinners and breakfasts and did she have recommendations said that there were many, we listened and took her advice. All were good. We went next door to the Columbia Gorge Hotel for dinner and sat on the river side with huge windows. Very nice. We liked the windows in the condo unit that opened unlike most places we've stayed except Italy and France. Fresh air at night is always good. The view from our room #27 had a view of the river, not a full view but acceptable, of the area called the "Hook" the Hood River has developed for the newbies at wind sailing. When we checked in it looked like rain but that never happened so I hung the rain gear in the closet but when we got home we didn't have them. I called right away to find out if they had been found and if they could be mailed back to us for a charge. He said no charge, only actual mailng cost and no more. What more can you ask for?
Maybe the only thing I could ask for is for the Columbia Cliff Villa to be move about a mile closer to Hood River which is a paradise for casual walking, pubs, eating, wine tasting, Mt Hood Railroad, wind surfing and kiting, trails and if need be skiing at the year round ski resort, Timberline Lodge a short drive away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear iCycle2,
Let's agree that we are not like typical hotels. While most of our rooms and suites are indeed privately-owned condos, our dedicated concierge and housekeeping teams, up-scale furnishings, comfy robes and Aveda bath products are top-shelf hotel all the way. Whether TA travelers are seeking basic, comfortable "Euro-style" rooms for recharging between the countless Gorge outdoor adventures - or a luxurious 1-3 bedroom suite that you'll never want to leave - they can find details, pictures and floor plans of every option on our website.
Thanks for visiting and hope to see you again soon.
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We had a great work retreat at this location. The rooms are beautiful, the staff are very helpful, and the local catering (Boda) we used was wonderful. There is so much to do in Hood River, with easy access from the Villas. This is a perfect spot for a business meeting or a romantic getaway. I would absolutely use the Villas again for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Go as close to the river as you can to avoid road noise, but know there is also a noisy train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear NWLady2014,
Thanks for meeting at CCV! In addition to our private and inspirational setting, meeting planners find an exceptional value with our room options and independent or self-catering options. Our events coordinator is ready to help connect you with Hood River's top (and competitive) catering teams, as well as all kinds of team-building activities. Whether you're looking for adventure, like whitewater, mountain biking, learning to windsurf or SUP, a golf outing, waterfall hikes or just a memorable wine tour or pub crawl, we're ready to help you connect the dots.
Sounds like we'll be seeing you again soon for the "romantic escape" agenda. Business or pleasure, we're just one very scenic hour from most of Portland - on the sunny side of the Cascades.
Happy escape!
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The furnishings are new and comfortable and the staff are excellent. It was fun to see the kite boarders from our window. It was very quiet and there is a park down the street that was not on our maps.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed here one night based on very positive Trip Advisor reviews. Enjoyed a night in a King room with a stunning view of the gorge- the balcony was a very small "Juliet" style with no room to sit, but the room had comfy seating a few feet in. Nice to have a small gas fireplace. Bathroom was very luxurious, lots of granite, two shower heads, and a fridge. The hotel is new and in great condition with kind of a Spanish Mediterranean vibe.

However, the room was not very spacious and felt a bit like a model apartment/showroom (even had that same air freshener smell). Check-in had a bit of a timeshare feel and we were frustratingly offered an upgrade for yet another $100/night. This hotel does not have a restaurant, bar, or many usual hotel amenities like an overnight staffed desk. (We did enjoy walking next door to the lovely landscaped grounds at the Columbia Gorge Hotel and their waterfall. The villas are right off the highway so there's not really anything else within easy walking distance.) The amazing views are somewhat countered by the loud rumblings of trains below.

So while Columbia Villas "Hotel" was lovely, I probably wouldn't stay here again for the price (paid $300) when there are other, cheaper and better located options in Hood River.

Room Tip: Get a river view or don't stay here. Otherwise you are better off getting a better located hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear chwsmith,
Thanks for spending a night and for posting the positive comments about your room. We do try to stage our rooms with a few accessories to make our guests feel at home but that "freshner" smell you detected was actually new carpet. Unfortunately, your room had been the victim of a red wine stain just a couple days before.

I wish you had been able to stay long enough to dine or enjoy a drink on the veranda at the adjacent Simon's Cliff House, or discover some of the other restaurants within easy walking distance. Charming downtown Hood River is certainly a must-see, with lots of shopping, restaurants, brew pubs and wineries. Downtown is located only a mile down the road but it's lower elevation is inland from the highway and does not provide the breathtaking cliff-edge views of the Columbia River Gorge and world-famous windsurfing sites we enjoy at CCV.

TripAdvisor travelers should note that our "office-style" lobby is staffed for check-in and concierge services from 9-9 weekdays and 8-10 on weekends but our dedicated staff answers phones 24/7/365 to provide information and deliver services requested by our guests.

Because we have so many types of rooms and suites, we sometimes offer last-minute upgrades into larger luxury suites at substantial savings when vacancies arise. While it costs a little extra for the breathtaking views and larger suites, TA travelers will find our wide range of rooms and rates to be quite competitive in the Hood River market.

Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel

Address: 3880 Westcliff Drive, PO Box 887, Hood River, OR 97031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wide variety of price points, from luxurious 1-3BR suites to charming Euro-style rooms, all furnished with robes, premium bedding and amenities. Most options offer breathtaking views of Columbia River Gorge from this cliff-edge settting 220' directly above world-famous windsuring sites. Stroll a short garden path to top of year-around waterfall to enjoy indoor & outdoor, fine and casual dining at adjacent restaurants or venture just one mile to take in the charm of downtown Hood River's boutique shopping, great restaurants, interesting wineries and brew pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Cliff Hood River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.