We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views views views.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel

Save Saved
You added Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3880 Westcliff Drive, PO Box 887, Hood River, OR 97031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE Wine Tasting
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Hood River
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Views views views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Villa Suite last year. Although we are frequent travelers and users of trip advisor and yelp, I have failed to write reviews but have enjoyed using posted reviews. When I read a very negative review of this property, it prompted me to add mine. In my extensive travels, I have never found a world class hotel etc for $200/night. This property is NOT a hotel. It is BETTER. The views from our room of the Columbia were stunning. The furnishings were lovely with a balcony/patio with comfortable furnishings looking over the river. The descriptions and pictures of the rooms are very accurate. You will get what you pay for. The walk to the hotel next door is a pleasant addition and the food is wonderful. The train tracks run way below the cliff where it cannot be seen, but you can hear the wonderful muffled sound of the train--not enough to wake at night! You can see the trains on the other side of the river. You must remember how large this river is in this location. So enjoyable to watch the activity on the river, particularly the windsurfing. If you want very nice and differ in this area, this is the best place to stay!!!! I want more offerings like this..

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a river view. You will be glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear bobbied823,
Great to hear that last year's visit left you with so many positive lasting memories. As you discovered, Columbia Cliff Villas offers a wide variety of rooms and suites with convenient amenities. With a little research, savvy TA travelers will find great value on accommodations to suit their needs at several price points. Unlike some online travel sites, accurate pictures and information about each of our many offerings can be found on our website, along with special offers. Thanks again for making memories here - and for sticking up for us! Hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    27
    20
    9
    1
See reviews for
30
113
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

April 28, 2013 was a magical day and the staff at the Columbia Cliff Villas hotel went out of their way to make it that way. My fiance and I enjoyed the "elopement package" which included a 2 night stay, champagne appetizers in the am for our 20 guests at the ceremony and fabulous customer service. We could arrange the large river view penthouse suite living room any way we wanted and they removed furniture that we didn't want. They exchanged TVs for our slideshow because I didn't care for the new larger one (which most people would love) and came to make sure all the sound equipment worked. It was the perfect site in the gorge for our small wedding.
They helped our special day to be stress free.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Judith,
Congratulations and many thanks for sharing your comments. Our team loves to help create unforgettable weddings and events. Columbia Cliff Villa and Penthouse suites are ideal for intimate weddings and romantic getaways. We hope to see you and your husband return for many happy anniversaries.
Best wishes!
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern US
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were very disappointed. We paid over $200 a night (off season) for a nice small room with a kitchenette (called a EuroKing Suite), gas log fireplace and a partial view of the river, but no balcony.

This was more than we paid for world-class, full service hotels in Seattle and Tacoma. This place was obviously built for condos. Renting out some units as a hotel must have been an afterthought - no public spaces, no food, no elevator, no work-out equipment, no phones in rooms. Since it was rainy the two nights we visited, we really missed not having a public space with large windows and comfy chairs to sit and watch the river. (We could only stand up and look out our window for a limited period of time!)

The bed was OK, nothing special. The bathroom was very pretty. The tub was very slippery however, with no mat. Take care when showering!

If the Columbia Cliff Villas cost around $125 a night, we would have felt that it was a good deal.

Room Tip: The large suites appeared to have wonderful views, balconies, large window walls. They looked like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Yankeeinexile,
This is a tough review for us. After so many testimonials from satisfied guests, we take your comments very seriously and would like to clarify some misconceptions for the many TA readers who are likely to be influenced by your posting. Even though Hood River is on the dry side of the Cascades and receives only about half the annual rainfall of Portland or Seattle, we’re sorry the weather during your stay did not allow you to discover some of the nearby amenities that certainly would have made your visit more enjoyable. The views from our three outdoor sitting areas that overlook the Gorge are breathtaking. While it’s true that many of our lodging options are indeed luxury condos, every lock-out room and suite was carefully designed to provide complete privacy and comfort for nightly or extended stays, and our friendly staff strives to provide the services our luxury hotel guests expect. As anyone can see from our website, most rooms have fireplaces, several suites feature gourmet kitchens or kitchenettes, many are served by elevator and offer private balconies and larger spaces with great views. We gladly provide land-line phones with free long-distance upon request. Our guests normally enjoy the adjacent gardens and 208’ waterfall that connect us to the historic hotel building, where they find fine and casual (indoor and outdoor) dining and spa services. Our guests also have free access to a fully-equipped fitness center, within walking distance. We hope you will return again soon for better weather to experience more of what Columbia Cliff Villas has to offer.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Had a great night's rest here. I stayed just one evening with my husband. We had one of the non-view single bedrooms. The room/bathroom was impeccably clean and a nice selection of coffee/tea for the Keurig machine. You can walk to the property next door and check out the pretty gardens and waterfall. The gentleman who greeted us and showed us our room was very nice. Only knock down I have is the price for what you get. For $150 a night, I feel it was about $50 more than what it should have been. For a small room with a freeway view, I'd at least like to be able to take advantage of a pool, hot tub, breakfast etc for that price. Otherwise, it's a nice property and I slept like a baby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Kdbug03,
Thank you for your positive comments about our sleep quality, cleanliness and staff. As you can see from our website, Columbia Cliff Villas offers a wide variety of rooms and suites at various price points, striving to accommodate the needs of a broad range of travelers. We are located adjacent to a spectacular waterfall, gardens, and the historic hotel structure where our guests often enjoy indoor and outdoor breakfast, lunch and dinner, as well as spa services. I hope you can spend more time on your next visit and maybe enjoy one of our breathtaking view rooms or suites, right on the edge of the 220' cliff. If you are traveling with friends, consider sharing a 2-3 bedroom suite, which offers an exceptional value when the cost is shared.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in the spring a month before our first baby was due.Our second story room had a peek a boo view of the river. Clean, spacious, fully stocked kitchen (we made dinner) and loved the in room cozy fireplace. The attention to detail is obvious with their high end linens and fluffy towels. The bed was so comfortable. This place is romantic and relaxing. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Closer to the river is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Gogoeverywhere,
Thanks for the great review. We are delighted to hear that you found some R&R and an enjoyed our accommodations before converting to parenthood. Please remember us when you are ready to travel again and need a good night’s sleep in a beautiful place. Best wishes to you and your growing family.
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

When I arrived the staff were excellent and extremely helpful and walked me to my room. The room was perfect and I loved the adjustable bed that gave me great nights sleep. If you travel to the Gorge this is a great place to stay. I travel a lot and this was a very great place to relax and enjoy life.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Koltin2,
Thank you for sharing your Gorge experience at Columbia Cliff Villas. Our staff was happy to play a role and looks forward to seeing you again soon. TA subscribers can find links to all kinds of helpful Gorge information on our website, as well as details about our wide variety of rooms and suites.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Wife and I stayed there last week. The rooms were very nicely furnished. Views of the Columbia River were spectacular. We were only there for one night on a wine tasting package. The rooms are a bit pricy and for about the same price you can stay next door at the Colombiua Gorge Hotel which has a spa and a restaurant. The Villas do not. My only conmplaint is about the package we bought, rather than the Villas themselves. We were given a map of local wineries and told we could have tastings at two of them. I would have to guess that at both wineries we tried, we were given 5 tastings of about 1/2 an ounce for each taste. If we had paid the normal $10 tasting fee, wine would have been about $4 an ounce. Pricy. Wife had a blast though. That's all I cared about. I could always have a Single Barrel Bourbon later. And did. Would I go again? No. Was it worth it? Yes.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattoolong, Owner at Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Mr. Vallandingham,
We are delighted that you and your wife enjoyed your accommodations and had your first (small) taste of Gorge wine country. As you can now attest, Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel offers a wide variety of new rooms and suites that capture the ambiance of our historic neighbor. As mentioned on our website, guests frequently enjoy the short walk through the spectacular garden paths that connect us. If you did not have a chance to experience the path over the top of waterfall to access spa services and the indoor and outdoor dining at Simon’s Cliff House, I’m certain you and your wife will love it. We often run promotions on our website that cover the cost of wine tastings at several top award-winning wineries, as well as brewery tours at Full Sail. Our concierge can help you find the best local restaurants and would be happy to help steer you to the ones with the fine selections of Single Barrel. If your schedule allows, check our website and try us mid-week for the best summer rates.
Happy travels,
Steve Tessmer, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel

Address: 3880 Westcliff Drive, PO Box 887, Hood River, OR 97031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hood River
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wide variety of price points, from luxurious 1-3BR suites to charming Euro-style rooms, all furnished with robes, premium bedding and amenities. Most options offer breathtaking views of Columbia River Gorge from this cliff-edge settting 220' directly above world-famous windsuring sites. Stroll a short garden path to top of year-around waterfall to enjoy indoor & outdoor, fine and casual dining at adjacent restaurants or venture just one mile to take in the charm of downtown Hood River's boutique shopping, great restaurants, interesting wineries and brew pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Cliff Hood River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.