We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first choice in Hood River!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hood River Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hood River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hood River Hotel
Save
You added Hood River Hotel to your Saves list
102 Oak St., Hood River, OR 97031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Riverviews $89
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our first choice in Hood River!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

We choose to stay at Hood River Hotel every time we come to town. The staff at HRH has always been highly accommodating and we are eagerly looking forward to the next visit. The new booking system on their website makes things really simple, too.

Harold and Gayla Adkins

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathyButterfield, Manager at Hood River Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Thank you. We love our staff, too. Many of them have been with us for years. We think of our staff as family, and when people stay with us, we want them to feel like guests in our home. And thanks for noting the recent upgrades to our web site and booking system. Patricia Byrnes, our IT-Accountant, deserves all the credit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    94
    30
    12
    9
See reviews for
25
119
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washougal, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

If you're looking for a nice little get-away in a great little town, this is the place to stay. Very affordable, clean, incredible breakfasts, friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland or.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

This was our third stay at the Hood River Hotel, and we are returning again next month. The location is ideal, the rooms are comfortable -- not immaculate, but clean. The prices are reasonable, and it's nice that they include a voucher toward breakfast. We took advantage of the jacuzzi tub and sauna last time we were there, which was very nice. The Hood River Hotel is ideal for a 2-3 day stay, or longer if you book a suite with full kitchen. Due to its location, it can be a bit noisy for the light sleeper, but we haven't found noise to be too much of an issue. Recommended for those wishing to be in the perfect location to explore Hood River on foot.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathyButterfield, Manager at Hood River Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Thanks for sharing your experience. You're not alone in appreciating the appeal of proximity -- we're walking distance from five wine tasting rooms, three brewpubs, several great restaurants (in addition to our own, of course) and abundant boutique shopping. Walk a bit more, and you're at the Hood River History Museum, our marina and Columbia River-front trail. Go a mile east, and you're on the car-free 5-mile stretch of the restored Historic Columbia River Highway -- great views, wildlife and safe recreation. We love sharing that with our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

The hotel is truely antique with the elevator that you have to open yourself and the cozy rooms. however, the walls were so thin i could hear my neighbor sneeze. The sheets were so thin that i went to bed fully clothed. oh, and theres no parking

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathyButterfield, Manager at Hood River Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Thank you for your note. As a National Historic Landmark property celebrating its 100th anniversary this year, we're extremely proud that the great majority of our guests appreciate the experience of staying in a lovingly restored boutique hotel. We pride ourselves on providing modern conveniences -- wi-fi, spa, fitness center -- in an atmosphere of historic charm. Our elevator, as you note, is a classic. Guests truly love the ornate brass gate on our lift. We're sorry to hear that your neighbor appears to have had one of those ... "healthy" sneezes? We hope it didn't continue all night. Our staff is acutely sensitive to noise problems that may be disturbing other guests, and always willing to address insensitive behavior. We're sorry to hear that you felt the need to sleep in your clothes. Most guests rely on more than a sheet (and sheets, by their nature, are thin) for bedtime warmth. Our beds also include a blanket and bedspread. To supplement bed linens, each of our rooms is also stocked with an extra blanket. For guests who tend to run on the chilly side, a call to our front desk is all it takes to get an extra "extra" blanket. Please keep that in mind on your next visit. As for parking, no, we don't have an on-site lot or garage, but we do provide guests a $5 pass for on-street parking. That's far more affordable than most urban hotel parking options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Very accommodating staff, authentic feel, evening live music, great breakfast. You can walk anywhere from here and there is plenty to do and see in this historic town; or, if your room faces the river, watch the mighty Columbia roll to the sea. Don't expect luxurious rooms but they are authentically appointed and quite comfortable in the way travelers understood comfort in the 1920's.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

“Very comfortable and clean, convenient to everything. Lucky us to pick a night with music.. Wonderful!”

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathyButterfield, Manager at Hood River Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
So glad to hear you had a good time with us. Your comment -- and those of several other recent posters here -- points up what we think is a real plus to our hotel and its location right on the historic Columbia River Highway (Oak Street). We're right downtown. Walk out our front door, and you're two to three blocks from five wine tasting rooms, three brewpubs, several great restaurants, art galleries, locally owned boutique clothing and jewelry stores, and the depot for the Mt. Hood Railroad excursion train. Downtown bike shops can put you on the road. Downtown windsurfing shops can put you on the water. Heck, if you could get to town by train, you wouldn't need a car for anything. Come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

There is no other way to say it, this place has it all. Staff was so accommodating. We planned to stay one night as a stop over to a loop trip our motorcycle trip. We ended up coming back to hood river just to stay here, ended up staying two additional nights. We loved the wine tasting by day, micro-brew pubs at night, and even a theater joint across the street that plays 1st run movies and serves beer and pizza in the theater. Breakfast was top notch. This is definatly a check the car keys at the door kind of town. And with all the activity available, it's suprisingly a relaxing, quiet town.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathyButterfield, Manager at Hood River Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
We're glad you've discovered how easy and close we are for a break from the familiar. We're the hub for a great variety of loop tours -- by motorcycle, bicycle or classic car -- in three directions. Head south along the Fruit Loop toward Mt. Hood, cross the Columbia and follow the White Salmon valley north toward Mt. Adams, over the ridge through beautiful Glenwood and back down the Klickitat Canyon, or head east through Mosier, up and over the Rowena Crest for spectacular views of the Columbia Gorge. What's not to love? We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hood River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hood River Hotel

Address: 102 Oak St., Hood River, OR 97031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National Historic Landmark boutique hotel in downtown Hood River, the Hood River Hotel is a fully restored hotel featuring 9 suites and 32 guest rooms. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast, free WI-Fi, fitness center with sauna. All rooms have air conditioning. Pet friendly(dogs only) rooms available. Walking distance to wine tasting, brew pubs, shopping and recreation. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hood River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.