We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location; Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hood River Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hood River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hood River Hotel
Save
You added Hood River Hotel to your Saves list
102 Oak St., Hood River, OR 97031   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location; Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

You really can't beat the location in Hood River for this hotel. I have stayed here in the past and again just recently, and this is always a good choice. It's nice to see an authentic historic hotel continue to thrive. The staff is friendly and there are good restaurants nearby. This is a great choice.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    99
    30
    12
    9
See reviews for
25
123
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Spent a night here during a trip to Hood River. Hotel is great-staff were helpful. Rooms were clean and quiet. Bathrooms are small, but that's what you get in a historic hotel. Breakfast voucher got us two homemade smoothies - overall the place is a deal. This will be our go-to place for Hood River.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton City, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stumbled upon this place while looking for a breakfast place. Situated in the lobby of the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised at how good the breakfast was. Small menu which provided something for everyone. It proves keeping it simple works well. We will definately go back.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Curtis was great but Dawn failed to problem solve. Keep a close eye on what reservations they book for you so you don't get stuck with extra charges like we did... on our wedding.

My fiance and I had our wedding party stay in early June and we were told we'd get a room free on our wedding night (great selling point!). Turns out that's not true and they charged us full price. Also- we reserved a one-night stay for our DJ but the hotel staff incorrectly booked it for two nights and made us pay for the 2nd night even though nobody was there.

We spoke to Mgr- Dawn at checkout but she failed to resolve the issue. So much for good customer service even when you bring them tons of business. In the end we got stuck paying for two more nights than we should have. Very disappointed, wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Keep an eye on the reservations they book you for so you don't get stuck with extra charges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Hood River Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Hello Portland, Thank you for taking the time to complete the review. We know life can get very busy planning a wedding so let’s step back and review the events.

On May 8th and June 3th, we emailed individual confirmation letters and a room block spreadsheet detailing the room type, guest name, arrival and departure dates. Plenty of time to update, revise and correct any reservation. At check-in an opportunity arose to revise these reservations. At check-out payment was made only on the nights and rooms you and your fiance reserved and guaranteed.

We try to be a transparent and clear with our reservation bookings. We wish you and your wife the best in the future. Please contact me if you would like to discuss the matter further.

Cheers,
Patricia
Manager
Hood River Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had always wanted to try staying here since we do day trips to Hood River often and thought this classic corner hotel looked so attractive. When we bought tickets for a concert at Maryhill Winery, we thought it would be a great chance to stay and take advantage of their Any Suite For $100 On Sunday deal. We needed a little extra help from the staff as we had hiked early in the day and wanted to check in early to drop off our luggage, change and get going so we could have dinner before the concert. The staff was helpful and accommodating. We loved our room! The large window faced the side street, and was the original wooden, double-hung window which, though it was the size of a picture window, actually opened quite easily and properly. Anyone who has ever owned an old house should be able to appreciate how rare that is! It's a indication of the quality of the restoration that has been done here. The rooms of our suite were quite separate. The kitchen is completely enclosed, the large bath across the hall from the kitchen, then the room with the bed are all separated from one another as is typical for this age of building. The floors do creak, the whole hotel is somewhat funky, but if you enjoy staying in unique places, you will like this place! If you want standard, corporate hotel/motel fare, this place is not likely for you, traveler.☺

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed in the Hood river hotel for the third time now and we were always happy with our stay. It is in the middle of the very nice town of Hood River. Walking distance to everywhere you want to go in the evening. The rooms are very comfortable, the staff is very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast is good and it is nice to sit outside in the morning, but also nice inside when it is cooler or too hot outside. I hope we will come back soon!

Room Tip: The courtyard room its small but very cozy and quiet. The riverside rooms are a little bigger than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on a Saturday night on a beautiful June weekend. Checking in was very pleasant and the hotel staff was very nice. They encouraged us experience the old tyme elevator upstairs to our room, quirky fun! The moulding and trim in the hotel are beautiful, it's not Victorian fancy, but still nice to admire. The room was comfortable but it does have a lack of outlets, but then again, it's a historic hotel and not a modern hotel.

The location is right in the mix of things, bars, restaurants, coffee, and cyclists going out on rides.

Although I considered our stay pleasant, I can't say it was restful. The bar or bars next door got pretty rowdy and noisy. The manager told us that they actually called the cops because it was getting out of hand. It didn't quiet down until after 2:00am.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hood River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hood River Hotel

Address: 102 Oak St., Hood River, OR 97031
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National Historic Landmark boutique hotel in downtown Hood River, the Hood River Hotel is a fully restored hotel featuring 9 suites and 32 guest rooms. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast, free WI-Fi, fitness center with sauna. All rooms have air conditioning. Pet friendly(dogs only) rooms available. Walking distance to wine tasting, brew pubs, shopping and recreation. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hood River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.