We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in downtown Hood River” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hood River Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hood River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hood River Hotel
102 Oak St., Hood River, OR 97031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Riverviews $109
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Hood River
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great value in downtown Hood River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

An historic property means built-in charm. For the $100/night we paid, it could not be beat. I've stayed at the Vagabond Lodge for about the same price and it's not in downtown Hood River and it's not as well-appointed. We didn't experience the street or train noise reported by some other reviewers, but then we are not light sleepers. Also the (several excellent) cocktails we had at Brian's Pourhouse probably helped. Our room was on the second floor and perfectly charming. Four poster bed, view of the Columbia, a funky little bathroom two steps up from the room with a nice skylight. The bed and floors were squeaky, but one should expect that in a building that is over 100 years old. We didn't have time to check out the breakfast, but it seemed popular. The lobby is lovely and I would have liked to pass an afternoon there reading. The location is excellent, but be prepared to pay for street parking. Historic hotels are not for everyone, but if you like charm and value in an excellent location, this is your spot.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    78
    26
    10
    9
See reviews for
21
102
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
duvall
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for three days, and found that it was a real delight. The rooms were fairly small, nut that was expected for a place that is 102 years old! The room was comfortable, and again for a old Hotel quite quiet. The elevator is classic, with a gate to open, with an outer door, nice touch. Andrea was very helpful, and the staff was there for all our needs. Over all the Hotel is very nice, the resturant is a different story, which I will write review in the resturant section.

Room Tip: The upper floors have a view of the Columbia river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Celebrating a special birthday, we chose this hotel for its downtown location convenient to everything, its pet-friendly ways, and its historic character. At check-in, the staff was gracious and helpful and welcoming. Our room was a river view, and we enjoyed it very much. As with many reviews, I'll say yes, there are trains. We were not bothered by them, and slept well.

Room Tip: Depending on what time you arrive, meters are free after a certain time in the evening, and until 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Enjoyed our stay, very reasonable rates, clean and comfortable. The character of this place is wonderful, creaky floors, the old elevator and antiques in the rooms. Wish they had coffee in room, but the coffee in lobby was worth the walk.Nice staff!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel is charming in every way! It has down sides because of the age - yes the floors creak and the single pane windows let in the noise of the street and trains. BUT the rooms are nicely done, the ambiance is amazing, and the location is perfect. The other perk is the really good restaurant downstairs. Match this with great staff, who even managed to get me a glass of cold milk every night before bed, and it is really a great place to stay. The only reason it doesn't have 5 stars is the problem with noise, which would be fixed with newer windows.

Room Tip: We had an outside suite, which is right on the street and noisy. We asked for the inside courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stayton
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have stayed here several times before, but not for several years. We love this place with it's early 1900's charm.We had a city view room, but could also see the river and mountains. The bed was good, and we were very happy with the accomodating staff. Don't stay on the freeway when you can stay downtown in this charming hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, or
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

This was our anniversary get away and we booked one the rooms advertised as being on the quiter side. At midnight we heard the person next door to us snoring and the floorboards creaking continuously as people were going in and out of their rooms. The radiator was also making a clanking noise. To top it off, the fire alarm went off at 1:30am. We went downstairs and were informed that one of the hotel employee's caused the alarm to go off by starting a fire in the lobby fireplace using "green wood" which generated a lot of smoke . Upon checkout the next morning, I was asked by the front desk how our stay was. I mentioned the fire alarm waking us up in the middle of the night. The front desk clerk said "sorry" and proceeded to process our check out. In my opinion, this is poor customer service . I appreciate that the fire alarm was working properly. However, the fact that this situation was caused by a hotel employee should have resulting in some kind of additional compensation . Even a small amount off our bill or a restaurant credit would have made us feel better . Needless to say with all noise of people heading back to their rooms at 1:30am we never really got back to sleep. Unfortunately I didn't notice until the next morning that our hotel room came with a set of earplugs . Not a good sign if a hotel needs to provide this in order to get a decent night's sleep . On a positive note, the rooms were nice and the breakfast was excellent but I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Hood River Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Good morning Portland, Oregon. Thanks for taking time to send in a review about your stay. I'm glad you feel our Breakfast was excellent and your guestroom was nice. We share all comments (good and bad) with the employees and they appreciate hearing first hand from our guests. You were spot on in stating that starting a wood burning fire in the fireplace at 1:30 am for a hotel guest was a lapse in good judgment-that should not have occurred. Our management team has spoken to each staff member individually regarding the use of the lobby fireplace after 10:30 pm. I hope you will contact our management team so that we can arrange for you to revisit the Hood River Hotel in the future. Thanks again for taking time to send in your review, Cheers Patricia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hood River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hood River Hotel

Address: 102 Oak St., Hood River, OR 97031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National Historic Landmark boutique hotel in downtown Hood River, with antique furnishings and full modern conveniences. We feature on-site dining, free Wi-Fi, meeting space for groups, spa and fitness center. Walking distance to wine tasting, brew pubs, shopping and recreation. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hood River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hood River Hotel to your Saves list