We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nora's Table

Nora's Table
110 5th St, Hood River, OR 97031-2058
+1 541-387-4000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Nora's Table is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 112 Restaurants in Hood River
Price range: $8 - $27
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Oak St.
Description: We are open 7 nights a week for dinner at 5:00, and 7 mornings a week for breakfast: 8 to noon, Monday-Saturday, and 8 to 1 on Sunday. Voted "best restaurant food in the Gorge" and "Best Brunch" by readers of the Gorge Guide.
Rydal, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner last night at Nora's, our first evening in Hood River. Stu, the chef's husband, explained the chef's philosophy of creating big internationally influenced flavors using as much of the local bounty as possible. The food did not disappoint. The duck legs in hoisin sauce with cucumber pickle were absolutely delicious. Rich duck meat practically falling off the bone balanced well by the pickle. The leek soup was rich and complex. The trout tostadas were also full of complex, balanced flavors of smoked trout, finely sliced red cabbage, and corn tostada. The Goan curry is divine. Assertive Indian spices, coconut milk, cilantro in a smooth sauce that enhanced, but didn't overwhelm the great seafood. The scallops in the curry were skillfully cooked and delectable. The halibut cheeks were good, but from our perspective, could have been cooked a bit less. The pea shoots that accompanied it were really good. Thanks, Stu and Kathy, for a lovely evening..

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefKMW, Owner at Nora's Table, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
We're so pleased that you enjoyed dinner. We're just heading in to our favorite time of year, when all our local farmers are supplying most of the meat and produce we use in the kitchen. It's exciting to let what's fresh and local dictate what's on the menu. This next week, we'll be getting fresh strawberries from Quercus Farm -- really early for our part of the country! Hope to see you again the next time you come to Hood River.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    52
    16
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
idaho
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“great flavors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

we had a great dinner, filled with lots of different flavors. the appetizer was smoked trout tostasda, is really smoked trout with avocado, and red cabbage..delicious, on a home made corn tortilla, just enough heat.
we also had the lamb chops..got mixed reviews..had to be sent back..fairly raw, but tasty.
the roasted cauliflower, with white bean puree fried currants and organic duck egg..was a mouthful of great tastes..i thought the duck egg was rubbery, but i do think that is what they are like..
the grilled naan bread was very flavorful . we also had a bread pudding like, strawberry shortcake of their version. tasty, needed more sugar. although, they forgot an appetizer and the naan, (until later) the whole dinner was really enjoyable and would go there again..nice dinner.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Try it for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We have enjoyed several fine dinners at Nora's. Now that they are open for breakfast, we checked it out. The menu lists about a dozen main courses with some options and sides. Prices are from $6 to 11 -- special food at normal prices. And they invite you to bring your special coffee drink from a nearby expresso shop. Very civilized.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefKMW, Owner at Nora's Table, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
We're pumped you like breakfast! And beginning this week, we're now serving breakfast 7 days a week. We open at 8 am each morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Seafood in the Gorge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nora's specializes in Sea Food but has very good Salads and meats. Smallish restaurant the fills early. After dinner swing around the corner for Mike's Ice Cream.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefKMW, Owner at Nora's Table, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thanks, Bob! We choose fish from only sustainable sources, especially from the Pacific. Right now, we have fresh halibut cheeks! And isn't an ice cream at Mike's the best way to end a day?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunriver
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Highly recommend this restaurant. Creative and tasty meals.....fish, beef, pasta. often fun appetizers. you can have a great hamburger here....or a fish entree....or steak. value is very good...a great hamburger is little more than any other sit down restaurant. very nice wines available. nice decor, quiet. you will be happy you tried this spot.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefKMW, Owner at Nora's Table, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We are really proud of our burger too! We grind our own burger, make our own buns, our own ketchup, mustard and mayo. And our own pickles, too. Totally fresh! We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nora's Table also viewed

 

Been to Nora's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nora's Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.