We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodations, Food, and Hospitality Were Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Oaks Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hood River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seven Oaks Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Seven Oaks Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1373 Barker Road, Hood River, OR 97031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hood River B&B and Inns
Lafayette, California
1 review
“Accomodations, Food, and Hospitality Were Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

We arrived late in the afternoon, Greg got us settled in and gave us two restaurant recommendations. The one we chose was convenient and the food was excellent. We stayed two nights and the food was plentiful, varied and tasted wonderful. If we go back to Hood River, we will definitely try and stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
62
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

We LOVED Greg and Linda. What wonderful hosts!!!! They're so lucky to live there! The breakfast was amazing and the rooms utterly charming. They have a gorgeous old barn with 15 hens that lay your eggs for you. We stayed in the cottage, what a peaceful night and beautiful morning view we woke up to. What makes them so unique is their location. They're just a few minutes from downtown Hood River, so you do need to have a car, but you feel like you're staying on a farm. Made us book another stay in October. Need to come back and try Greg's sweet potato waffles I read about in the guestbook! But also don't turn away the breakfast burritoes! YUM!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

Before booking at Seven Oaks, we consulted Trip Advisor. The descriptions of previous guests were accurate and encouraging. Linda and Greg made every effort to make us comfortable. They're knowledgeable about the area and were able to suggest destinations and restaurants to meet our needs. Hood River is a great area with much to do for all activity levels. The room (we stayed in a private cottage with a well-equipped spotless kitchenette and utensils) was extremely clean and reflected Linda's careful; attention to detail. The breakfasts were generous and delicious.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

Our experience at Seven Oaks B&B was just wonderful we truly enjoyed the three nights we spent there. Both Linda and Greg were great before we arrived making sure we had directions to their home from the airport and being readily available to answer any questions we might have before arriving to Hood River.

The B&B is beautifully decorated with fresh flowers and very nice details. We stayed in the top floor (English Golden Oak Room) which was incredibly private. As other reviews have stated, the top floor has three bedroom that are available of you have multiple guests. If you are staying and only need one room then you have the whole top floor to yourself. The bathroom was large and comfortable, and filled with soft towels. The linens in our bedroom were also of very high quality and we truly enjoyed the chocolate chip cookies we found in our room after a long day exploring Hood River and attending a pre-wedding reception.

The breakfasts we had were delightful! Greg and Linda are great cooks and well as beautiful people. They made sure our every need was met and even sent us along with a delicious apple scone one morning to make sure we had an afternoon snack with us as we explored Hood River.

I would highly recommend Seven Oaks not only because it is a beautiful B&B, but because both Linda and Greg care deeply about their guests. Thank you for a wonderful stay, we look forward to visiting you again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

My husband and I spent our 3rd anniversary here, and everything was fantastic. The B&B is in a beautiful old Crafstman style house set on nicely landscaped grounds. Even though it was the end of the growing season when we went, their gardens were still very pretty. The house is very nicely decorated, and the rooms and bathrooms are spacious. We had the room on the top floor, I think the English Oak room? A neat thing about the rooms is that even though there are several on each floor, they will only book 1 group per floor. So if you have a family vacation or wedding party, you can get all 3 rooms (which share 1 very large bathroom). But if you are just a couple, you still get the entire floor (and bathroom) to yourselves. This makes it so quiet and private!
Greg and Linda are the nicest people, so welcoming and kind. Linda is an excellent cook! The breakfast burritos she made us were delicious. They strive to get all local ingredients either from their garden or from the farms around the Hood River Valley. They are well traveled and educated, and love to chat about the Hood River area, trips they or you have taken, and anything else you're interested in.
Some bonus features of the B&B are the mini-library and reading room (they have quite a lot of books), and the hot tub. The hot tub isn't officially advertised because it is not ADA accessible, so technically it is just their personal hot tub, but they will invite you to use it of course. It's located on a back deck overlooking their gardens, and slipping into the hot tub to view the night sky is a nice experience.
The only (very minor) downside is the location - it's kind of out of the way in an area that isn't the prettiest in Hood River. However, this is made up for by the very large lot the B&B is on, which is completely surrounded by mature evergreens. Plus, it's close to downtown but still kind of set further out, and nothing in Hood River is really "ugly."

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Can't get any better than this. Read the other reviews. Greg and Linda do it right

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

We love this place. Greg and Linda are incredibly warm and kind. We've been to a few B&B's and never found one that we like as much as this one. Nor have we met innkeepers who are as friendly and inviting as these. My partner and I (both in our late 20's) want them to adopt us. The house is beautifully decorated and Greg is an excellent cook. He even made a wonderful heart-shaped brownie for my partner for her birthday.

My partner and I are queer and we have faced awkwardness and even rude comments a number of times in the past when we've booked rooms at hotels and B&B's. But Linda and Greg never offered less than great hospitality and incredible kindness.

Also, the place is so cozy and peaceful, we never want to leave. We've been to Seven Oaks a couple of times and will continue to go back. After all, this is the B&B that we compare all others to.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seven Oaks Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Oaks Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1373 Barker Road, Hood River, OR 97031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Oaks Bed and Breakfast is a classic Craftsman farmhouse located in the spectacular Columbia River Gorge. Seven Oaks offers two elegant and relaxing bedrooms (additional rooms are also available) plus a separate cottage with a kitchenette, all with gorgeous views of Mount Hood. We serve satisfying, healthy breakfasts featuring eggs from our own chickens and local and organic ingredients. Less than 5 minutes from downtown Hood River and in the heart of outdoor recreational Nirvana. A wholesome retreat...in every sense. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Oaks Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.