We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Oaks Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hood River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seven Oaks Bed and Breakfast
1373 Barker Road, Hood River, OR 97031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hood River B&B and Inns
1 review
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We came for a quick nights stay over our anniversary. Our host was warm and welcoming as was our room. And the reviews don't lie. She was an amazing cook. Breakfast was delish! We look forward to our next trip to Hood River and our stay in her lovely home.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
58
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This place was great. You drive past a mini chicken coop up to this beautiful home. We were greeted by lots of smiles by the owner and her son. We were shown to our room, given a map of the area and a few dining suggestions. After we returned from dinner we attempted to enjoy the hot tub. We took the cover off and were overwhelmed by fumes which had us coughing and sneezing so we opted to call it a night. The next morning at breakfast we were seated at the large dining room table with the most amazing view of Mt Hood. Breakfast was an excellent breakfast burrito served with fresh guacamole and salsa. Juice was provided as well as coffee. Linda was sweet as could be and we had some nice conversations before we left.

This place was very clean and seemed so isolated from the rest of the world. What a peaceful stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

What a wonderful place to get away from it all. A short drive from downtown Hood River but you feel miles away when you sit on the porch and admire the view of Mt. Hood. Plenty of pretty plants and trees and flowers to meander through. Linda, the owner, is an amazing cook and our breakfasts were the culinary highlight of the trip. She’s also a delight to talk to…she’s active, loves to travel, and is easy going. We really enjoyed sitting at the breakfast table and chatting with her and the other guests. The house itself is lovely too with comfy beds and unique furnishings - all charm and no kitsch. Hot tub is a plus! Plenty of places to relax with a good book.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Seven Oaks and it was wonderful. I agree with one reviewer ... if you want to be in the middle of the hustle/bustle of Hood River, this is not the place. But if you want to see Mt Hood while having breakfast or relax on the porch with wine/cheese and the view, this is the place. It is an industrial area, but Seven Oaks is an oasis with lovely grounds. You pull into the yard and are enclosed by beauty and quiet. Linda was wonderful and very personable .... you really end up feeling like you are visiting a friend. The house is tastefully decorated and is very comfortable for relaxing.. Breakfasts were great. We have stayed in many b&b's and this one is really good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed at Linda's home for a long weekend so we could attend a friend's wedding. Linda's home is the best B&B experience we've had-hands down! When we B&B, we look for a relaxed, easy-going owner, great food, beautiful home (without lots of knick-knacks, stuffed animals, creepy dolls, etc.) Seven Oaks exceeded our expectations in every way. The food was amazing! We're both vegetarians and each morning we were greeted with deliciously prepared food and coffee. Linda was the best part of the stay: so welcoming and fun and generous. She tells wonderful stories and was so eager to share what she loved about the area. We ended up spending the morning with Linda and the other guests talking and laughing over breakfast. Her home is absolutely gorgeous! The room we stayed in was so peaceful, the bed so comfortable, the bathroom spacious and spa-like. The home is surrounded by a big yard, perfect for strolls, with a beautiful garden, a hot tub, sitting areas with flowers, a porch, chickens, and Pickles the cat! We can't wait to visit Seven Oaks again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west central Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

If you want to stay right in the heart of Hood River and walk to the shops, galleries, and restaurants, then Seven Oaks is not for you. But if you want to sit on the porch in the morning quiet with a cup of tea and watch the sun play artist with Mt. Hood, you can't go wrong with this B & B.

Seven Oaks is located a couple of easy driving miles from downtown Hood River in what appears to be a very light industrial area. But don't let the drive to it fool you. It's quiet, secluded, and has a great atmosphere. A large bank of douglas fir trees screens everything but the mountain. And with several seating areas, you can always find a warm place or a shady place, depending on what you're looking for. We stayed here in mid-August, and Hood River was in the middle of a heat wave (mid- to upper-80's is hot in Oregon, I guess) but the mornings and evenings were very pleasant to be outside. Inside there is a generous living room (equippped with a baby grand piano, if you are so talented or incllined) and a sunny reading area in a den that opens to a porch and hot tub.

The house itself is somewhat quirky, especially if you are staying on the second floor. The rooflines make for some interesting celing heights and head bumps if you're not careful. I actually had to kneel on the floor to use the bathroom mirror for shaving in the morning. But all things considered, it was a wonderful place to stay.

The innkeeper's warm hospitality was matched only by her great breakfasts. The eggs were donated by the hens on the property, and an ample garden offered several varieties of fresh vegetables for the breakfast burritos or quiche. The interesting conversations over breakfast the two mornings we ate there actually made us late starting our planned itinerary.

So, as I said, if you want the hustle and bustle of downtown Hood River, find someplace else to stay, but we really enjoyed the welcoming atmosphere of Seven Oaks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The food and the accommodations were stellar. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the linens were the finest quality. Every detail was elegant, right down to the soaps. The breakfast was healthy, filling and Linda made every effort to meet everyone's taste and diet requirements. The family style atmosphere and garden were perfect. My husband loved the proximity to the golf course. The nearby wineries and the town are inviting. The whole community was awesome and this is a great place to get away for a while!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seven Oaks Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Oaks Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1373 Barker Road, Hood River, OR 97031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Oaks Bed and Breakfast is a classic Craftsman farmhouse located in the spectacular Columbia River Gorge. Seven Oaks offers two elegant and relaxing bedrooms (additional rooms are also available) plus a separate cottage with a kitchenette, all with gorgeous views of Mount Hood. We serve satisfying, healthy breakfasts featuring eggs from our own chickens and local and organic ingredients. Less than 5 minutes from downtown Hood River and in the heart of outdoor recreational Nirvana. A wholesome retreat...in every sense. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Oaks Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Seven Oaks Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list