We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum

Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum
1600 Air Museum Rd., 1600 Air Museum Road, Hood River, OR 97031
541-308-1600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 23 Attractions in Hood River
Type: Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The WAAAM Air & Auto Museum has one of the largest collections of still-flying antique aeroplanes and still-driving antique automobiles in the country. The items on display at this museum are not only full of history, they're full of LIFE! Enjoy over two acres of indoor exhibit space.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

On our trip to Oregon we went to THREE different air museums - Tillamook, McMinnville, and Hood River. Hood River was definitely the best of the three. It was not "military heavy" like the other two museums and they seemed to have a lot more exhibits. They also had a lot of classic cars and most of the airplanes are in working order. Bathrooms were clean and they offered comfortable seating in the lobby for women who are waiting on their husbands.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Manager at Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for the review. There are so many different cool things about aviation that it is hard to focus on any one thing. With each new addition to the collection we try our best to increase the variety of what you can see at WAAAM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    16
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Great Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent 3 days in Hood River, and one afternoon here at the WAAAM. Neither of us would consider ourselves a car or airplane expert, but we both had a great time ambling through this very well displayed museum.

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, and I saw this one plane, a Waco brand plane, that was just the most beautiful plane I've ever seen.

By seeing the progression of the engineering from one year to the next, I could follow what was changed from one plane to the next.

Be sure to watch the 10 minute video about the re-enactment of the 1912(?) flight off of a downtown Portland building. In the documentary, the pilot recounts how close he was to NOT lifting off after a short take-off and how close he was to NOT walking away from this one.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Manager at Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for reviewing. We're glad you enjoyed your visit. Our 8 WACOS range from 1928 to 1935. Here in a few weeks we'll have another one joining the mix too. Great photos of our 1935 WACO YPF!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chehalis, Washington
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Aeroplanes & Automobiles, Oh My!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

If you have a husband AND IF you don't want to spend hours (and I mean, hours) here, then don't get anywhere close to this museum! There are soooo many autos and airplanes that are as old as 100 years that it will take you a long time to get through it all.

But hey, if you love your husband and this is what he likes, then go for it...you won't be disappointed! :-)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Manager at Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks for the review. Our most common complaint from men and women alike is that they ran out of time to see everything when they visited so this is great advice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

What a great place great guides, awesome history, great planes, motorcycles and cars. The family will love the place all sorts of historical exhibits.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Manager at Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for reviewing. We do our best to put our airplanes and cars and motorcycles in some historical context with the surrounding displays. We're fortunate to have some very knowledgeable volunteers to help guide the way too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Antique Airplanes & Early Automobiles Nicely Displayed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you enjoy old airplanes and aviation history, as well as antique automobiles - this place is worth a visit. Two newly built hangars full of great displays. My favorites were an original electric car and an early Boeing that had crashed and been discovered and restored. The exhibits were nicely done and informative. Plus there were a lot of additional "period" items on display which made it interesting if one tired of autos and planes. I have heard the annual "fly-in" after Labor Day is amazing. Check out the website - there is lots to see. Especially impressed with the personal donations of many, many people of artifacts, money, and time - a real labor of love - and it showed!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie H, Manager at Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for reviewing. On November 9, 2013 our Second Saturday event will be centered around our 1914 Detroit Electric. The Fly-In is our biggest event of the year - it is also our Birthday celebration too. Pilots from all over the country come with their planes to show off and talk about aviation. We had almost 300 planes attend last year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum also viewed

 

Been to Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Antique Aeroplane & Automobile Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.