We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“they will rip you off and they dont care!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2625 Cascade Ave, Hood River, OR 97031   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
San Diego
1 review
“they will rip you off and they dont care!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

We are here as a big family for a wedding. Choice Suites gave our families different prices for the exact same room. When we found this out and called them, they totally didnt care and would not lower the much higher priced rooms down to a more reasonable rate. The customer service people were rude and smart-mouthed. The general manager flat out said "no". I thought they claim is they are customer friendly? they are NOT. If i could change hotels I would. I will not recommend them and will never stay at a Choice hotel again. DONT GO HERE!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. On behalf of myself and the staff we would like to apologize for the treatment you recieved while here.
We are now under new managment and hope you would give us a second chance.

Best regards,
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    41
    27
    13
    10
See reviews for
37
47
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

This was a walk in booking. We would have preferred the BW in town, where we went for the second night, but it was full.
I have no complaints about the hotel at all. It is a little out of the town centre which meant a drive to get in. We had an elevated room with views to the mountains, the room was light and airy, spacious, comfortable and clean. The staff were pleasant and acccomodating, giving us good restaurant advice. The breakfast was good and replenished even though it was close to finishing time. I just found it over priced for what it is although it was a Saturday night and I am sure Hood River is a magnet for Portland citizens. Probably the price for not pre booking.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your kind review on your stay.

Warm regards,
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

Comfort Suites and the Best Western Hood River Inn probably compete for the modestly upscale chain hotel market. Hood River Inn probably wins by a small margin because of location and better developed facilities and amenities, but the Comfort Suites is an acceptable alternative.

PLUSES:
1) Rooms are very spacious, clean and attractively furnished: Small microwave, refrigerator and sink. In room wi-fi access (signal varied a lot from weak to reasonably strong).
2) I thought the king-sized bed was very comfortable. My partner, however, felt like he was constantly falling off the edge because the mattress sagged on his side. I slept well; he didn't. We both thought the pillows were very small, more like accent pillows.
3) Clean, small, but adequately equipped workout room.
4) Modestly large indoor pool (laps are possible) and hot tub.
5) Friendly and welcoming staff at the front desk.

MINUSES:
1) Location is on the western fringe of Hood River. Half of the rooms look out over the rear parking lot and trees. The front-facing rooms might have a peek of Mt. Adams rising over the Washington side of the Gorge; otherwise, the view consists of commercial Cascade Avenue.
2) A little expensive--but, this is Hood River, and the Best Western Hood River Inn will generally be more expensive.
3) Breakfast, which is included in the rate, is functional at best. School cafeteria-style setup with amenities (or lack thereof) to match: selection of pastries, bread for toasting, creamed beef, bacon, processed eggs, cold cereal, yogurt, and a unique waffle machine. Decent coffee, juices, and some fresh fruit round out the choices. The breakfast room is not a place to linger and relax, and, according to the hotel information sheet, food is not to be taken back to the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your review and your kind words.

Your comment about the seating in the breakfast room brought to our attention that the policy for the breakfast area needed to be addressed.
We have changed the policy on the breakfast and we now welcome our guests to take their breakfast to the room if there is limited seating in the breakfast room.

Again thank you for your comments.

Best regards,
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Wa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

This is a very normal hotel with resort prices. It's clean and pleasant, and ridiculously overpriced. We stayed on a Friday night, and it was nowhere near filled to capacity. When we got home they had e-mailed me a customer survey to complete. I ignored it so they sent another one!!
So here's a customer satisfaction rating for them: Never again. There are many decent hotels in this town and I won't be fleeced again. And don't waste my time with surveys.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Please except my apologies for the way you were treated on your stay.
We are now under new management and have taken great strides to make some positive changes.

I would hope you would give us another chance to provide you with great service.

Warm regards,
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

This hotel was very clean, comfortable and nice. The rooms were very spacious with a seperate work area and living space. There was no noise from the street or next door rooms. The bathroom was clean and large. The front desk had little treats for the customers; ie: cookies, gum, snacks. The breakfast was a truly hot meal with all types of food. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
I want to thank you for your remarks about your stay with us.

Best regards,
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

I really liked this hotel. The positives were: brand new hotel, very nice pool/hot tub/sauna/gym, nice breakfast with waffle maker, and very friendly front desk staff. The only negative is that the hotel is not near the very nice downtown area of Hood River. Overall, I really thought the hotel was nice.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words.

Best regards,
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

This hotel was a little more expensive than some of the others in Hood River, but the reviews were mostly good, and so we booked it. It was convenient, clean, and an overall good choice. Our only complaint was that although we paid an additional charge for our third person, we were not initially provided bedding for the sofa bed. Luckily we had read a review about this happening to someone else, and we checked the sofa bed as soon as we got into the room rather than discovering there were no sheets come bedtime.

  • Liked — Very clean and spacious rooms.
  • Disliked — A little overpriced for a room with a view of Taco Bell's drive through.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your response and the kind words.
We do try very hard to make sure to sure the sofa sleepers are made in advance.
I'm sorry to hear that this was an oversight on your stay. Please accept my apologies.

Best regards,
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 2625 Cascade Ave, Hood River, OR 97031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Hood River
Comfort Suites Hood River
Hood River Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.