We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should Have Liked It More, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2625 Cascade Ave, Hood River, OR 97031   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Hood River
Napa, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Should Have Liked It More, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed only one night on a Saturday in July. The room was large and very clean, but smelled horribly of cigarettes despite being a non-smoking room. The front desk was very responsive and came with an "ionizer" to clean out the room. However, it didn't work and we were told there was no other room available. Our room was near the staircase and the housekeepers' closet so we did experience a lot of noise that kept us awake. The room was quite nice and I think it just may have been our bad luck in this instance. Still, this would not be our first, second, or third choices for a place to stay in Hood River.

The location is too far away from the main part of town to walk, but the drive is short and parking was easy to find near restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms near the staircase and housekeeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
I want to thank you for your review.
I aqlso want to apologize that we were unable to move you to a different room due to the fact that we were very full that night.
I do wish you would give us another try when you are back in this area.

Best regards,
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    32
    24
    11
    10
See reviews for
32
35
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Az
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed one night on a Saturday and luckily were not bothered by the construction. Staff was courteous and cookies offered at the front desk. Our room was large with two very comfortable queen beds and a not-so-comfortabel fold out. There was plenty of room for bags and moving around. The excercise room has limited machines but given the low volume of exercisers, more than adequate. They also have a rather large indoor pool and a jacuzzi. Morning breakfast was as you would expect: sufficient but nothing to talk about.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad that the construction did not distrupt your stay and your were able to enjoy your visit.

Kind regards,
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

surprisingly great stay: wonderful front desk staff connie & especially, tina, was very professional & helpful & accommodating. the hotel is finishing renovations but we arrived on friday eve so no workers on saturday morning. cookies, tea, coffee complimentary in the lobby, gym, indoor pool & ample hot breakfast, lots of splendid renovation in the way of new carpets, beds, covers, basically a complete makeover. we had a room with 2 queen beds and a small sitting area. everything was neat and comfortable. ask about progress of construction if you will visit in the near future. good location but a little bit out of the town of hood river, ie not within walking distance.

Room Tip: ask about construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
I want to thank you for your kind review. And we are happy you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again in the furture.

Best regards,
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

That we experienced such disappointment with this hotel is bad enough.
That its manager, has yet to respond to both emails and phone messages re. our concerns is inexcusable.
Rm. 104 reeked of cigarette smoke upon entering (presumably non-smoking) an unusable radio/MP3 hook-up and Labor Day construction.
Labor Day! Beginning early in the morning.
But not being able to enjoy the Jacuzzi tub was the final straw.
While enjoying a soak, the ceiling "rained" cold water down on us from the room above; a result of long term plumbing issues it appeared.
This one amenity was THE reason for our reservation and that we weren't able to partake and that our bill was not amended to reflect it, is both unprofessional and reprehensible.
Whereas the initial check-in employee was slow and unhelpful, the check-out staff was at least pleasant and sympathetic, despite orders from her supervisor not to make charge adjustments that weekend.
Breakfast was above average; limited vegetarian selections, but that's usually the case.
(No bagels and cream cheese seemed odd.)
And the abundance of Styrofoam was peculiar given how it's now 2012 and Oregon is particularly eco-sensitive.
If you want to pay higher prices for a sub-par product, by all means- book here.
Otherwise, pass on this deceptive and dissatisfying facility.

Room Tip: Ask a lot of questions and don't be in a hurry to check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
I would like to apologize for the rude way you were treated during and after your stay.
We are now under new management and are taking the steps to correct any past issues.
We have also taken care of the spa room issues.

Warm regards,
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

It would have been nice to know that there was going to be construction going on during our stay. We thought we'd be ok secondary to it being labor day weekend. Of course Monday AM 0900 the table saws and hammers start pounding away. Not to pleasant. Rooms are clean, roomy and have comfortable beds. The pool and jacuzzi were nice. The breakfast fare for free from 0630-0930 are a big step above most contenintal breakfast fare. It was packed house with all parking spots taken and had to park on side street. Overall OK place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Let me apologize to you for not having it posted that the hotel was under construction during your vist.
I'm happy to report we are not under any type of construction at this time.
I am glad to hear that your stay was a good one other than the construction.

Warm regards,
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Realizing that it was a holiday weekend and knowing that everything would be booked far out I made reservations for our stay in March. Destination wedding with multiple people staying at this location was the purpose of our visit. Hotel was under construction which no mention was made in advance. However, the smell wasn't from construction. The room carpets were so stained you couldn't be sure of their original color. The "no smoking" was obviously not adhered too or not monitored because the entire place had a smell of smoke. We had very little water pressure, minimal hot water, and the faucet in the bathroom leaked. The breakfast was acceptable however there wasn't enough seating for people to sit. We waited 20 minutes to sit and finally gave up. Won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Don't choose the "spa" room, not a good value for what there is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Please let me apologize for the trouble you had during your stay.
I am sorry that you were not informed about the construction going on before your arrival.
I am glad to say that we are not under any construction at this time and we are under new management.

Regards,
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I was very surprised when we pulled up to this hotel to find that it was undergoing major renovations. Fortunately, the renovations were on the outside when we stayed. Unfortunately, the sealant they used on the new windows left a bad chemical smell in the room we stayed in. I wish the hotel had been honest and up front about this when I made the reservation. We had no choice but to stay since everything else was booked. Overall, the room was spacious and accommodated our needs for a one night stay. I would recommend that you check to see what construction may be taking place. We stayed there in late August 2012. Staff was friendly but not very knowledgable about the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Please except my apology for your not being informed of the remodel before arrival.
Remodels are never easy and it seems there is really never a good time to do them.
That being said you should have been notified of the work going on.
We will be notifying our future guests on any major projects we may have in the future.

Warm regards,
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 2625 Cascade Ave, Hood River, OR 97031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Hood River
Comfort Suites Hood River
Hood River Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.