We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unpleasant” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2625 Cascade Ave, Hood River, OR 97031   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Hood River
portland oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“unpleasant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Realizing that it was a holiday weekend and knowing that everything would be booked far out I made reservations for our stay in March. Destination wedding with multiple people staying at this location was the purpose of our visit. Hotel was under construction which no mention was made in advance. However, the smell wasn't from construction. The room carpets were so stained you couldn't be sure of their original color. The "no smoking" was obviously not adhered too or not monitored because the entire place had a smell of smoke. We had very little water pressure, minimal hot water, and the faucet in the bathroom leaked. The breakfast was acceptable however there wasn't enough seating for people to sit. We waited 20 minutes to sit and finally gave up. Won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Don't choose the "spa" room, not a good value for what there is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Please let me apologize for the trouble you had during your stay.
I am sorry that you were not informed about the construction going on before your arrival.
I am glad to say that we are not under any construction at this time and we are under new management.

Regards,
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    31
    24
    11
    10
See reviews for
31
35
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I was very surprised when we pulled up to this hotel to find that it was undergoing major renovations. Fortunately, the renovations were on the outside when we stayed. Unfortunately, the sealant they used on the new windows left a bad chemical smell in the room we stayed in. I wish the hotel had been honest and up front about this when I made the reservation. We had no choice but to stay since everything else was booked. Overall, the room was spacious and accommodated our needs for a one night stay. I would recommend that you check to see what construction may be taking place. We stayed there in late August 2012. Staff was friendly but not very knowledgable about the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Please except my apology for your not being informed of the remodel before arrival.
Remodels are never easy and it seems there is really never a good time to do them.
That being said you should have been notified of the work going on.
We will be notifying our future guests on any major projects we may have in the future.

Warm regards,
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibbon, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Very nice motel, quiet. The rooms were spacious with nice bathroom. Breakfast was full buffet with meat, eggs, waffles, et.al. We stay at many Choice hotels. This was one of the better ones. I judge the cleanliness of a place by how clean the ice maker area is. This one gets an A. They had recently cleaned the hall carpets.

Room Tip: Second floor at far east end by stairs was very quiet and right by the parking lot--two steps from o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I have shared your comments with the staff and they also join me in saying thank you.

Warm regards,
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodburn, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Clean hotel, clean rooms, LCD tvs in every room , nice beds, breakfast in the morning is ok

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks about your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Best regards,
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mills River, North Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed one night in a nice room. Hotel is well maintained and the room was well equipped with frig and microwave. Bathroom was clean and smelled fresh. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
The staff and I would like to thank you for your kind words.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the furture.

Best regards,
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Clean room. Friendly staff. Bed super comfortable as usual with this chain. Breakfast had scrambled eggs and bacon. Went to nearby WAAAM museum to look at old cars and planes. It is worth the trip and extra day. Mt Hood nearby and easy hour drive.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and your kind comments.
We are happy to hear you were able to take in some of the sights that Hood River
has to offer.

Warm regards,
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Booked the Comfort Suites because everything else was booked...found out when we got to town that there was a Ukulele convention in town. Sweet!

Room was suitable for the 3 of us. We were in town for wine club pickups and tastings, so were only in the room when it was time to sleep. Location isn't terrible, but don't expect to walk downtown when it's chilly. The hot breakfast is very nice, I have to say. Worth getting up for. :)

Would we book again? Well, there are nicer places in better locations, so I'd have to say this would only be a backup, if the Ukulele players decide to invade again,, lol!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
river97031, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are happy to hear
you were able to enjoy the variety of wineries the area has to offer.

Best regards,
Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 2625 Cascade Ave, Hood River, OR 97031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Hood River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Hood River
Comfort Suites Hood River
Hood River Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.