We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican food - super service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of On the Border

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
On the Border
7370 NE Cornell Rd, Hillsboro, OR 97124-5426
503-681-9542
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 236 Restaurants in Hillsboro
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food - super service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Waitress and bartender had each other's back and when one got tied up the bartender brought drinks out from bar to outside seating so we would not wait or be inconvenieced. Steak Fajitas were pletiful and sizzling

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Long wait - food was cold”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We have been coming to this restaurant since it opened. The first year the food was top notch. We were regulars! The chips were incredibly light and the salsa was fresh and tasty. The entrees were cleverly plated and prepared with generous portions. How things have changed since that first year!
Since their opening, we've noticed many changes in the food and service. Recently, we decided to give them another try and brought our son and daughter-in-law to eat on a Tuesday night. We arrived at 6:10 - was seated at 6:30 - sat for at least 10 minutes before ANYONE came to the table to even offer a glass of water. Twenty minutes later we finally ordered, then waited another 45 min for our food.
We did get a basket of chips (not the light, tasty ones - the greasy, stuck together ones). There was NO deviation on ordering from the menu, according to our waiter - even substituting a cup of soup for a bowl of soup???
My husband ended up ordering two higher priced items because of the "no substituion" rule. When our dinners finally arrived, two of them were cold and had the food stuck to the plate. It looked as if they both had been sitting under the warmer for a long time.
They did offer to replace our meals with fresh ones, but after waiting for over an hour, we didn't have time to wait any longer. Another hour maybe??? Our waiter was very indifferent and very absent.
Unfortunately, that will be our last trip to On The Border. We've noticed the inconsistencies and lack of attention, not only in the preparation of the meal, but in the service as well.
I notice the recent good reviews of this restaurant - probably not having that first year experience, they have nothing to compare it to!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I really enjoy the melted taco. And the house margaritas are great!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Worth The Wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I've always been curious about On The Border. It took a while to get to one, but it made a nice addition to our Portland area trip. Yes it is a chain, but it ended up being a good experience for the first time. The place definitely has the Mexican look inside and out. Our server was very patient with us. Being there for the first time, we had to study the menu for a while. We both ended up trying a new item for them. I found the green chili enchiladas very good. A nice change of pace. Not too spicy for me, but could be spicy to some. They serve some of the biggest chips you will ever see with your chips and salsa. They were good, but a few did come out too oily. Overall I found it to be a good dining experience. If I ever come across another one in my travels (since there are none in the Seattle area), I won't hesitate to stop again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
“The Walmart of Mexician Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Poor service, Very cold food, Expensive drinks. Look I could go on with the details of how dissatisfied my family and I was with our visit to this restaurant but I won't. I don't have anything positive to say so i'll just put forward a bit of advise. Go somewhere else to eat.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Border also viewed

 

Been to On the Border? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On the Border, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.