We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's the fresh fish?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sebastian's Restaurant

Sebastian's Restaurant
16011 Boat Basin Rd, Harbor, OR 97415
(541) 469-6006
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 8 Restaurants in Harbor
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
168 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Where's the fresh fish?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Since we were staying at the Best Western across the road, Sebastian's was a natural choice and well recommended by the hotel staff. The sign outside boasted "Yes! we have halibut!" It's by the sea and next to a fishing port so I was looking forward to some fresh fish.

We booked for dinner but still had to wait a half hour for a table. It turned out that the halibut had been shipped from Alaska, and none of the fish was fresh, not a minnow of it, and I think the vegetables were out of catering packs. The meal wasn't bad but I could have had the same thing in the middle of the continent.

What a let down from a high expectation!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    63
    50
    33
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“No Fresh Fish”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This restaurant is next door to a harbor with a fishing fleet, so I expected to be able to get fresh fish there. Not so. I had to ask the waitress twice before she admitted that the cod was frozen. Rockfish is abundant here, and this restaurant serves frozen cod. The waitress claimed that the halibut was fresh, so I ordered it. She has a different definition of fresh than I do. In my opinion, if you can smell it coming when it leaves the kitchen, it is not fresh. The french fries were frozen out of a plastic bag, just like Denny's. In fact I've had better meals at Denny's. And I'm not knocking Denny's, it is what it is. Sebastian's is pretending to be a higher quality restaurant, but is no better than Denny's. And the food is extremely expensive for what you get.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Great difference in quality for pricing after all we have encountered in California! Great variety of beers and wines, of which we tasted several. Both the noodles with seafood as well as the fish&chips combos were great and we took the effort (after already having had quite a portion) to taste the dessert as well. Awesome!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Went for lunch on a Tuesday. Decided to splurge & have the Crab Louis; very good with lots of crab meat! Our waitress was personable & very pleasant!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location poor execution”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Sadly this restaurant relies on the captive audience in this part of town.
A lot of RV owners and like us guests of the BW beachfront hotel next door.
Not very high quality versus quantity.
Sadly the all too often dilemma.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sebastian's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sebastian's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sebastian's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.