We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, accompanying pianist/crooner v. good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sebastian's Restaurant

Sebastian's Restaurant
16011 Boat Basin Rd, Harbor, OR 97415
(541) 469-6006
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 8 Restaurants in Harbor
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Tiburon, CA
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Good food, accompanying pianist/crooner v. good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Probably the best in town! Good food, service. On the waterfront. Part of my entre was omitted but quickly restored when I noted it.
Nice piano music/crooning by Gill Kirk

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    50
    47
    29
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Susanville, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

They need a good manager. Food was pretty good, but overpriced. Cosmo was ok. Don't expect to be wow'd but if you're staying at the Best Western it is certainly convenient

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The food was good, but I was surprised that most of the fish on the menu was deep fried. I ordered the fish and chips, and it was very good. But in my view, this is casual dining, not fine food.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, OR
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Average fare with a "view"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

As you can read elsewhere, the chowder is good, and the ribeye steak is truly wonderful, but you will pay. The staff is great (especially Garrett), but it's too bad a "seafood grille" right on the harbor has so many frozen items.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, OR
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Our 'special' was nothing to recommend for dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

While I've had some great food worthy of reporting on the Southern Oregon coast (and I have), Sebastian's cannot be anywhere near that list. I ordered the Friday night special, a New York steak, baked potato, with vegetables and salad for around $27. The salad was fine. The steak, ordered rare, was closer to well done. Our perky server promptly had it replaced with another still overcooked selection of what appeared to be a medium grade sirloin. The mixed vegetables were fresh which is good but with undercooked carrots and shriveled mushroons. Even the potato lacked the energy to be fluffy. Maybe it was solar flares, a substitute cook, or just clean out the fridge time. Our companions, aged 18, enjoyed their standard picks and went happily back for pancakes the next morning. When the helpful hotel staff asked about my experience, I was honest. She then confided that there were a few really good places to eat in Brookings separate from Sebastians. However, by then we were rolling on. I hope you find them.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sebastian's Restaurant also viewed

Brookings, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Sebastian's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sebastian's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.