We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience, Good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pony Soldier-Gresham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pony Soldier-Gresham to your Saves list
Pony Soldier-Gresham
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1060 Northeast Cleveland Avenue, Gresham, OR 97030 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Gresham
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent experience, Good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have stayed at this BW quite a few times in last 10+ years and experience has always been excellent. It is good value compared to other hotels in the area. Complimentary breakfast is good. I will continue to stay here as long as my I am treated well and they provide good customer service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    19
    7
    7
    10
See reviews for
22
12
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
albany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I recently had to stay at this Best Western for 3 nights paid for by my employers. When I returned and checked my bank account I found they had charged my account $250.00 and said they smelled smoke in my room and found ashes. I do smoke but I went outside each time and I believe this gave them the opportunity to make these accusations. Never did they say one thing to me while I was there even though they cleaned the room each morning. I followed there rules and did not smoke in my room. I was asleep by 8pm and up at 3:30am so I was not even in the room for any great length of time just enough to shower and sleep. They were very sneaky in obtaining my information in order to charge me. If I had been guilty of smoking and incurring a $250.00 charge would I have given them them the information they needed to charge me. No of course not, but I was not guilty of anything so freely gave them the information they required for me to stay at their Inn. This is a scam to collect money to put bedspreads on the beds and afford decent pillows which they had neither. If you stay here be very, very wary of the owner and his devious methods.

Room Tip: just find a better place to stay. do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldendale, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Found hotel staff friendly and curteous. Rapidly responded to all request and needs. Breakfast was filling and had plenty of choices. Found room clean, neat and well laid out, just wish they had a TV channel listing that was accurate. Slept well and found the bed very comfortable. Great access off of Hwy 84.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the north side away from the street, however, if you're trying to sleep dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Hotel is reasonable but service is below expectations. Owner is not business or service savvy, hotel area is very loud, and rooms are dirty. If service was at least average then this hotel would have received an average. Avoid! Avoid! Avoid!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandview, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Close to Main Street in Gresham Very convenient. Clean. Nice towels. Beds were not the best and with only a light blanket. Was cold. Seems like most places now have comforters or more layers. Take your own pillow. They have bumpy ones

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Spent three nights here recently. The welcome was very pleasant and helpful. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. The room was very quiet. This is a fresh modern hotel which deserves all the good reviews. Breakfast was easily got at Heidi's just across the parking lot, excellent value for money. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pony Soldier-Gresham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pony Soldier-Gresham

Address: 1060 Northeast Cleveland Avenue, Gresham, OR 97030 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Oregon > Gresham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Gresham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pony Soldier-Gresham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Pony Soldier-Gresham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn-Gresham Hotel Gresham
Best Western Portland
Best Western Gresham
Gresham Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pony Soldier-Gresham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.