We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable for the price!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Gresham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn - Gresham to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn - Gresham
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1572 NE Burnside Road, Gresham, OR 97030 (Formerly Coachman Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Gresham
oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable for the price!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

If you choose a $59 a night hotel and are a minimalist you will like this hotel. We prefer to spend our money on other things trip related vs. sleeping and showering. No fridge, no clock but we didn't care. Close to everything for driving and a fantastic restaurant called Nicholas in town. Clean room and bed was average. Starbucks across street and Mt. Hood down the road. Ave booked another weekend in August. Can't beat location.

Room Tip: If you choose a $59 a night hotel you will be pleased. We wanted it for a clean, quiet room to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    30
    13
    18
See reviews for
35
18
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

The towels are visibly dirty in the bathroom -the pool is closed due to maintenance at 630 even though nobody is working on it- there was mold in the tub- service was alright - there were religious affiliations in the room - overall I wouldn't stay here again unless I absolutely needed to

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I travel to Gresham, Oregon every month and stay at Howard Johnson Hotel all the time. The family owned staff is very friendly and my room is always very clean and they always welcome me with a big smile.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Torn carpet, cigarette burns in the sheets and blankets. Lots of road noise. The "pet friendly" room was not human friendly. It smelled like a wet dog! The only advantage is that it is a convenient location to see the Columbia River Gorge.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeport, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Booked two nights in advanced per reviews. BAD,BAD,BAD This place is DIRTY carpets need to be replaced. Beds are well used . appx 1100 road miles on our trip when we arrived in Gresham. No refunds when book on line, would have left fast IF we had another place to go . Breakfast was bad. The desk man made the waffle for you because the iron was broken. Dry and could not eat it. We ate at Elmers next door the only saving grace for two days. We Booked a 2 week trip at 7 motels gess 1 out of 7 not to bad.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzanita, Oregon
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011 via mobile

The staff was friendly, and the breakfast was decent. The location was okay, the rooms were decent, a bit old and the mattress was hard. The heater was a bit hard to get a good temperature in the room. For the overall price it was decent for the price, but I wouldn't want to stay again unless I absolutely had too.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

I tell you I read some of the reviews and was hesitant to book this motel. However, very convenient for the Light Rail. We took it from the airport to the Gresham station. Also, used it to go downtown to check out the Blazers game. Being on a budget, this property fit the bill. Clean rooms, staff was friendly (young lady at the front desk), and breakfast was just enough to kickstart the day. We would go back cause for the price, you can't beat it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Gresham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Gresham

Address: 1572 NE Burnside Road, Gresham, OR 97030 (Formerly Coachman Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Gresham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Gresham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Gresham 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Inn in Gresham provides easy access to the area's diverse recreation and cultural events, including the Mt. Hood Jazz Festival, excursions to the Columbia River Gorge, and Portland, OR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Gresham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Gresham
Gresham Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn - Gresham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.