We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flery Manor B&B

Flery Manor B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grants Pass
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flery Manor B&B
Save
You added Flery Manor B&B to your Saves list
2000 Jumpoff Joe Creek Road, Grants Pass, OR 97526   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Grants Pass B&B and Inns
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

This is a very special place. The location is beautiful and the house is magnificent. The rooms are lovely and well appointed. The hosts have tried to take care of every detail to make your stay a special treat. The breakfast was fabulous!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
12
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

And the three course breakfast was a delicious treat. Far outdid any other B&B breakfast anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

This place is incredible. I stayed a week for a business trip and it was so nice to come back here after work. It is gorgeous and peaceful. The owners finished and decorated the manor and it shows in the attention to detail. Each room is decorated tastefully in a European style with exquisite pieces in each room and special finishes on the walls. The grounds are beautifully done with gazebo and gardens and a jogging path in the works below. The living room is fantastic and has huge two-story windows looking out over the grounds with the mountain in the background. Each course of the breakfast was too pretty to eat, but to yummy not to. We’re talking chef –not cook. The owners really made me feel welcome. They were so very kind and thought of everything. I can’t say enough about this place and the wonderful people who own it. Try it you will love it.

  • Liked — Peaceful setting, Beautifully decorated, Wonderful people
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

A second visit to Flery Manor.

Being off I-5 north of Grants Pass, is not a handicap as it provides some solitude which is ideal for a short break.

The location is spectacular, being in a forest. Marla's breakfasts are always a treat and set you up for the day.

The rooms are well appointed.

Recommendations for where to eat in the evening were most welcome, especially on the first night having just arrived.

  • Liked — .
  • Disliked — .
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

Rates as "top of the top" bed and breakfast experiences we have ever had in Oregon and we have stayed in many great ones (and several not so hot) in the three extended visits over the last 3 years. Why? Basically, we do a lot of research before planning a trip... Tripadvisor of course, travel guides, etc. We read about how nice this B&B was, but the reality actually turned out BETTER than the written words.

For example, when a review on Tripadvisor reads "spacious room", it usually is large, but here they mean HUGE! When they say a "quiet garden spa retreat", it is usually quiet but small with perhaps a pond with coi, but here it is truly quiet with a pond with two beautiful black swans (Romeo & Juliet) and bubbling manmade (although they look natural) brooks, a hammock, gazebo, mulitple benches, and huge deck with shaded and sunny areas for you to choose to sit and relax in, multiple bird houses, hummingbird feeders, etc.

We stayed in the Moonlight Suite - HUGE room on the top floor that has its own private balcony, which we sat on each night and gazed at the stars. The bed was very comfortable and we listened to the beautiful classical and piano music that was piped in over the intercom... very soothing (by the way, you can choose not to listen to it or change the volume with a simple dial next to the bed). THE double jaccuzi was fantastic (in it's own room along with sit down shower), and there was a separate room with a private toilet area. The downstairs common area (yes.. you can use it) had a beautiful library, living room, sitting room). We peeked in the other rooms and they were all beautiful!

When reviews talk about "gracious hosts", they are, but the husband and wife owners, Marla and John were exceptional - their seamless teamwork made us and other guests feel extra special and very comfortable. They just don't recommend restaurants or sites, but understand their particular guest's dietary/sightseeing preferences ini order to best accomodate them. (For example, they recommended Aja's to us (great NW cuisine)). By the way, Marla goes out of her way to cook exquisite French-cuisine-inspired 3 course breakfasts!

The house and surroundings were extremely clean, plus there were beautiful antique and artistic works throughout the home - all very tastefully done.

We were so happy to have planned to stay here for our last 2 days on our trip to the Northwest - we got to unwind and relax from our active hiking/rafting/sightseeing blitz. If you want a place to totally relax and be pampered - this is it!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — We had to leave!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2006

We had planned a stay at the Wolf Creek Inn just up the highway, but it was closed the entire month of October for rennovations. They suggested Flery Manor, and are we ever glad they did! A beautiful, peaceful, elegant setting. The room was delightful with extras like fluffy robes and handmade soaps. Everything was immaculately clean, and John's restaurant recommendations were excellent as well (Try One-FIfteen in downtown Grants Pass for great food and service in an eclectic atmosphere). John was caretaking while his wife was out of town and did a fabulous job. The breakfast was amazing, coffee was outside our room in the morning, and listening to John's stories was fascinating. His graciousness also beyond any expectation. Unfortunately, we could only stay one night, but will be back when we are in the area. We toured the suite, it looks incredible, with the most wonderful views. Thank you again John for honoring our reservation even when faced with an emergency, and for providing us with a delightful stay!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2005

I usually don't take the time, although I should, and write about places we stay. However, I am making a huge exception for one good reason....this place is wonderful.

I researched and booked places to stay almost 2 months in advance. You never know really, if the hype on the web pages is good or not. Everyone has an opinion. I took the website and the hype at its word with this b&b and I must say, it isn't even close to the real thing. The real Flery is fantastic as is its owners. My biggest mistake was to book just one night here.

First finding it is a bit tricky, but not hard. You know when you are going to somewhere special when you go up a privite driveway and this beautiful landscape, garden and structure appears. It took our breath away. The inside is even better.

My wife and I booked the Vintage Suite as the 3rd day of a 9 day vacation in Oregon. We never expected the wonderful accomedations we had asked for. This b&b has 5 rooms, 2 of which are connected for familys, 1 is the honeymoon suite (moonlight), 1 we never found... and ours. The unique thing about ours is that it is downstairs in a 3 level structure. The main floor houses the library, a sitting room, the dinning room, and a huge kitchen.
The rest of the rooms are on the top floor.

Therefore, our room was extremely quiet. It has a fireplace facing the bed, and a sliding door that leads to your own private patio that overlooks the garden and the mountains. We had squirrels, and birds stop by as we sat there in the early afternoon, reading some books my wife and I had started a year ago and never really got into. Busy and Stress just seemed to be somewhere far away this day. Our hosts told us that it is not unusual to see deer, elk, racoons, and other wildlife strolling around the grounds.

The room was beautiful and super clean. The only thing we were a bit uncomfortable with, was the bathroom room arrangement. You have a huge private bathroom attached to the bedroom, that is elevated by 2-3 stairs,with a two person "spa" next to a huge window that overlooks the garden. And a great seperate shower. His and hers mirrors and basins...and then the part we found a bit hard to live with.....the toliet is not private. It overlooks the spa, basins, the shower and has no door. In other words, when you are in the bathroom there is nothing that seperates you from anything in there. Now that might not be to bad, but the entrance to the bathroom has no door either, it is wide open (although up 2-3 small stairs from the bed) It is a bit like being in the Army, wide open and not
for a shy person. My wife said she would like one place in the suite that was private and she would prefer it to be the toliet. I agree.

The bed was outstanding, robes in the closet (although they didn't fit my 6'1'' frame) and there is no internet, and no TV's. (I was informed that there is a small TV in the moonlight suite, but no others)

Other than that, this place is not only worth the money, worth the time and worth energy to seek out, it is one of the top places I have ever stayed at, 5 stair hotels included. And did I mention breakfeast? This is no ordinary breakfeast either. Nothing at the Flery is ordinary. I highly recommend it and we will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, owner at Flery Manor B&B, responded to this review, January 5, 2006
We would like to “Thank You” for your sincere comments on your stay in our Vintage Suite back in October. In our 10 years as an Inn we have had nothing but wonderful comments about this uniquely designed suite with its speciousness and openness. But we now understand that not everyone is comfortable with the Vintages Suites unique bathroom design. In our effort to make each and every guests experience memorable, and our sincere desire to be the best we can, we have made a few changes to that bathroom. All other bathrooms in the Inn have doors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flery Manor B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flery Manor B&B

Address: 2000 Jumpoff Joe Creek Road, Grants Pass, OR 97526
Location: United States > Oregon > Grants Pass
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Grants Pass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Get away from the hurried world… retreat to the comfort and hospitality of FLERY MANOR” Elegant, Romantic, Secluded.” On 7 mountain view acres near the famous Rogue River. Fabulous Suites with king bed, fireplace, jacuzzi, and private balcony. Library, parlor w/piano, huge balcony/extraordinary views. Enjoy ponds, waterfall, streams, walking trails, Gazebo, and our Art Studio. A wildlife and birdwatchers paradise. Renowned 3 course healthy gourmet breakfast. Combine activity, adventure and relaxation for the vacation you’ve been dreaming of! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flery Manor B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.