We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rogue River Front” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Riverside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Riverside to your Saves list
The Lodge at Riverside
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   955 SE 7th Street, Grants Pass, OR 97526   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Grants Pass
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mill Valley, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Rogue River Front”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We just returned from a one night stay at this lovely motel/hotel.
The front desk staff could not have been nicer and the wine and cheese, as well as the full breakfast were much appreciated.
The room we had looked over the pool and hot tub-but we had a nice outdoor deck with a break of plants in front of us. Lovely. The sheets and towels were of a very high quality.The whole property was well cared for.WE wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the picturesque location and warmth of the staff, however home beckoned.WE often drive 5 to Portland, and will make sure we stop here again. The rooms will be equally lovely and cozy in winter with the fire burning in the main lodge reception room!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    111
    27
    4
    5
See reviews for
127
159
28
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We had a lovely 2 night stay. The room was a regular king on the second floor, we decided to forgo the river view room to save money and were happy with that choice. Although we didn't use the pool and spa it was there and others seemed to be enjoying it. The staff was very nice and helpful, especially Nicole and Tamara! If we get back this way we will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

The room was just suitable. They formerly had a restaurant, but now you have to walk through a tunnel to get there. Not a very charming place at all. Cars had to be parked outside a gate and there were indigent people all over the place. Could hardly wait to leave the place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

I've stayed here three times - all one night stays while I was on a road trip. The first two times I got rooms that faced the parking lot which were reasonably priced and great for what I needed. The front desk has always been friendly and very accomodating - including offering a special discounted rate and honoring a coupon that I had forgotten at home on one previous stay.

The rooms are very large (almost ridiculously large and a lot of the space seems almost wasted) and the decor is updated for the most part (some of the artwork and fixtures are a pretty good tell this place has been around for a while but, for a one night stay on a roadtrip, it's not that consequential).

But the last trip I got stuck with a room in their "cottage" which is set apart from the other rooms and adjacent to a meeting room where the hotel hosts its complimentary breakfast. The room was significantly more expensive than the other rooms I had been given in my previous stay (about $30 more a night) and had a very weak if not completely unreliable internet connection. I had gotten there that evening hoping to get some work done but the connection made that impossible. They also had sprinklers running that night that every 10 minutes would hit the building and create this noise like there was some massive downpour outside. And then the following morning I was woken up by all the bustle in the neighboring kitchen where they were getting ready to serve breakfast. It's also obvious this was a room less attended to than others - there were cobwebs and dead trapped bugs in the corner of the closet that I noticed when I pulled out the iron.

I'm sure this sounds like I'm being picky to some but this room was $130/night (would have been more without the 25% off coupon I had from my last stay) and there are plenty of other options in that area I could have used that were the same price or less that would not have had these issues. I do think they try hard here but they missed the mark on this last time...and I'm pretty sure I'll look elsewhere when I'm in the area in the future.

Room Tip: Don't pick the cottage if you care about reliable internet service or noise in the mornings. Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLodgeatRiverside, General Manager at The Lodge at Riverside, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
On behalf of The Lodge at Riverside staff, we are delighted that you have enjoyed several stays with us but I would like to say that we are truly sorry that your recent stay was a disappointment. It is our goal to offer an exceptional lodging experience; however, sometimes we regretfully fall short.

Since your stay, we have learned that we indeed have a proplem with the Wifi reception in this room. We are taking necessary steps to fix that issue. We understand the importance of being able to be connected to work while travelling and fixing this is a priority to us.

We have had no previous complaints on the sprinklers, however, I will speak with our gardener and have him take a look at the system and see why it would be hitting the building. Additionally, I have spoken to our housekeeping department. Our housekeepers do a good job of keeping the rooms clean and take pride in their work. They are as disappointed as I that this area was overlooked.

Due to the cottage's location, there are times that you can hear voices and "bustle" from the breakfast room. We are very honest about this at the time of making reservations and do our best to make the guest aware of this before choosing this room. In fact, many guests say they don't notice the noise at all.

I hope that you will give us another chance, because as you know, this is not a typical experience at The Lodge at Riverside and we would love the opportunity to remind you of that.

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

This hotel has it all...the staff were exceptional particularly Randi, Amanda and Nicki. They went the extra mile to provide information, deliver extra towels to the room and ensure our trip was memorable. The rooms are impeccably clean with generous space, the staff are friendly and accommodating, and the value can't be beat.

I would highly recommend this hotel if you are in the Grants Pass area. It's a great homebase for hiking, rafting, and visiting the wineries. We definitely will be coming back!

Thanks so much to the staff at The Lodge at Riverside!!!!

Room Tip: We selected a premium queen on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We chose to stay at the Lodge at Riverside after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor and we're so glad we did! Everything at this property was outstanding! We opted for a standard 2 queen room as we were only staying one night which was very affordable at $117 a night (leisure rate) including breakfast. The room was extremely comfortable, clean, large and beautifully decorated. In this hotel category, this lodge is first class and the attention to detail throughout was very impressive! When you find a lovely place, with this much care and attention to detail, you know that the owner/managers take their business to heart and genuinely care about their guests experience. We enjoyed a lovely complimentary glass of wine in the rustic lobby area when we arrived and thoroughly enjoyed the delicious and genuinely home-made breakfast the next morning. Michelle, Nikki and Brian at the front desk were professional, attentive and friendly. Pam and Jessica, who managed the breakfast service, did an excellent job making sure that we were well taken care of. I would highly recommend this hotel in Grants Pass!

Room Tip: Would recommend # 213 standard, 2 queens and large enough for a family of four. No view but that did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Loved the location. Breakfast was okay. Gave us a very generous late check out so we could enjoy a jet boat trip and still clean up before we left. A bit pricy.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Riverside

Address: 955 SE 7th Street, Grants Pass, OR 97526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Grants Pass
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grants Pass
#1 Business Hotel in Grants Pass
#2 Family Hotel in Grants Pass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Riverside is located along the scenic Rogue River just 2 miles from Interstate 5, convenient to Hellgate Jetboat Excursions, downtown shopping, Historic G Street and Applegate Valley wineries.We offer 33 oversized guestrooms and suites, most with private patios or balconies facing the Rogue River. All rooms feature pillow top beds with feather duvets, robes, iron and ironing boards, hairdryers, coffee makers, air conditioning and refrigerators. Complimentary parking, wireless Internet, cable TV with HBO and local phone calls.All accommodations include an evening wine reception, fresh baked cookies and full hot breakfast.The Lodge also offers meeting and event facilities for up to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Lodge at Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Riverside Hotel Grants Pass
Hotel At Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.