We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel Del Rogue

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grants Pass
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel Del Rogue
Save
You added Motel Del Rogue to your Saves list
2600 Rogue River Highway, Grants Pass, OR 97526   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Grants Pass
GreenLeadersGold level
Fresno CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you are looking for a nice modern hotel, go somewhere else. However, I was looking for something a little different for this portion of our family vacation. We found the perfect spot. I call this place "funky", but in a completely adorable way. To start, Kevin greeted us with a smile outside the motel as we pulled in at 10:00 at night. He welcomed us right into our room where we had a good nights sleep. The next day we were able to explore the grounds. The motel backs up to the Rogue River with easy walking access down to the river. The entire back of the property along the river has lounge chairs, picnic tables and BBQs for the guests' use. There is a large grassy area with a volleyball net for the kids to play. The rooms are adorable in my opinion. Definitely a retro look with the furnishings, but clean and comfortable. We stayed in room 5 which has a separate bedroom with a queen bed, and a queen bed and trundle bed in the main room. The kitchen had everything you could need--refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, table, etc. This room also had a covered porch overlooking the Rogue. My entire family LOVED this place. The best part was the hospitality of the owners Kevin and Constance. They went out of their way to make us comfortable. My husband is already talking about going back next year!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a porch overlooking the Rogue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moteldelrogue, Owner at Motel Del Rogue, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Janice,

You just made our day! When guests like you are happy it reminds us of why we do what we do. It goes both ways - we enjoy our guests and want them to feel at home here.

Thank you so much for helping us get the word out about our lovely spot on the Rogue River.

We are happy that your family was able to take advantage of the grounds, the river and enjoyed your stay at the Motel Del Rogue.

We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

Constance, Kevin & Sylvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    26
    2
    7
    4
See reviews for
63
52
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This place is outstanding. Beautiful, unique, memorable, friendly, almost out of this world. It's folksy but hip, Americana but old world, inexpensive but retro chic. Each unit is a complete suite with kitchen, and individually decorated and cared for. It's everything a family owned business could hope to be. Quaint doesn't do it justice. It's one in a million.

If you're driving between San Francisco and Portland, it's the perfect place to stay. It's like a vacation every night you're here and it's just past half way, but in spirit—it's the best of both. Literate, even. How's that for a hotel review?

But yes, it's all that. Best hotel in the price range in town, by far. But as classic motels go, it's like a dream.

Room Tip: They have a small set of unique rooms and they are familiar with them all. They won't steer you...
See more room tips
Green Features: They are examples of thoughtful, responsible, environmentally run local and family run hotel owners.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moteldelrogue, Owner at Motel Del Rogue, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Journalish,

We are delighted that you were delighted! Thank you.

We bought the Motel Del Rogue in 2000 - it had been remodeled in the late 1960's. The carpet was red and black shag, the curtains orange vinyl and the furniture 1970's hotel laminate. We tried to retrieve some of the history and yet modernize the comfort (new mattresses, laminate floors, organic fair-trade coffee etc.). We really tried to restore the integrity of the place.

Guests like you keep us energized and encouraged. You are why we are here!

Sincerely,

Constance, Kevin and Sylvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Owners were really friendly and welcoming. The rooms were homey bright and clean. You can see the rouge river out the window and its only a few steps away. Cabins were built in 1930s and the place still has an old world time forgotten feel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moteldelrogue, Owner at Motel Del Rogue, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We always appreciate feedback and your comments help us to keep getting better.
Thank you!

Constance, Kevin and Sylvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We loved our stay at the Motel Del Rogue. Having been previous small-hotel owners, we appreciated the quirky yet comfortable qualities, and the charm of the owners and their daughter. If you are looking for a 4 star exclusive hotel with spa bathrooms, this is not the place for you. But if you want a getaway where you can look out over the river from your room, your balcony, or riverside, this is IT! We liked our room--quirky furnishing, but that's fine with us. The room was very very clean. The bed was very very comfortable, and the linens were crisp and clean. The bathroom was small, but having experience in small hotels, this did not surprise or displease us--very period! The room had everything we needed, really, including a fridge. We loved the balcony and watching the river go by. A perfect place to have a drink and snacks or light takeout. We found it to be very quiet and relaxing, and slept very well. We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Definitely get a upper floor room with balcony. They have photos of the rooms on their website, so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I was really excited to stay at the Motel Del Rogue because of its location on the Rogue River and its good website. However, we were very disappointed with this motel. The only thing not disappointing about this stay was the owners who were exceptional... they were kind, warm, and enthusiastic. Our room was a different story. It was not inviting at all. Almost every square foot of floor space and wall space was covered with second-hand furnishings. It felt crowded, and none of the furniture was comfortable. The floor was covered in a wood laminate that was soft in many places, making one feel as though the floor might give way. The bathroom wasn't clean, with hairs on the toilet and sink. The towels and linens didn't smell fresh. And, worst of all was the noise. We stayed in a room on the first floor, and we could hear every footstep in the room above us. The floor was squeaky and the walls were thin. I complained to the owners about the noise and received 15% of the price, which I appreciated, but I would never stay here again given all the issues.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moteldelrogue, Owner at Motel Del Rogue, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Previous Guest,

We are very sad that you were disappointed in your stay at the Motel Del Rogue. Had you come to us right away we would have been happy to move you to another room or even to another property. We would have done anything possible to rectify your problem. We only have two rooms that are downstairs from another room.

The room where you stayed had a plumbing issue recently and the floor warped. We will need to wait until the fall to repair it.

Many guests do not like scented laundry soap so we do not use it. We are very conscientious about washing all towels and bedding after every guest. We sanitize with steam and try hard to clean with detail. We apologize that your room was not cleaned to your or our standards.

Most of our guests appreciate the vintage furnishings and really enjoy the retro feel. We do find that some guests are used to a more cohesive decor that is found in a chain property. We do try to pre-warn our guests that we are not a "cookie cutter" lodging option.

We appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,

Constance, Kevin and Sylvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Motel Del Rogue dates back to the 40's when Hwy 99 was the main road north and south through Grants Pass. It's ambience and times past charm on the banks of the Rogue River are enhanced by owners Kevin and Constance who are friendly and accommodating. A nearby restaurant, The River's Edge, complement the night's stay. Ask for a river view room and relax after a day's drive. Good value and a restful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is honestly the first time TripAdvisor has steered us wrong. Out of 105 reviews, I'm in shock that only 8 are average or below. We are not high-end snobby travelers (well, maybe if it's a special getaway paid for by someone else! ;-) but usually when we travel with our kids, we are camping or staying in inexpensive hotels; really if we're just passing through, all we really care about is a safe, clean, inexpensive place to stay the night.

As other reviewers have said, the owners of this place are kind, caring, and personable, so I see why people hesitate to give a less-than-stellar review. But environment counts too.

This motel, though in a beautiful location right beside the Rogue River, is run down and shabby. I'm truly ok with old, quaint, and cute, and even kitschy (it IS reminiscent of one's grandmother's house...but you don't expect to pay $135 to stay in Grandma's house, with no breakfast!). Pet-friendly is fine too...but remove the old shabby carpet!!! I did NOT want to take off my shoes because the carpet was so old and dingy. I wouldn't even let the kids put their suitcases on the ground because it just seemed so shabby and used. Ugh. My husband says if the carpet were torn out, it would improve things a lot and it wouldn't seem so, well...old and run down. I guess he's right; I would probably have given this place a 3/average rating if the carpet weren't so nasty.

But I was totally in shock the whole time we were there--shock that so many people could think this was a decent place to stay--that I felt I had to give an honest review.

When an establishment receives mostly high marks, I always read the couple of negative reviews with a grain of salt, but I am now wishing I'd read them more carefully. I was so sad pulling out of town that we hadn't stayed at one of the other places in Grants Pass...at the very least, we would have gotten free continental breakfast. :-(

Think twice and ask to see the rooms before staying here. (To be fair, I only saw our one room (Room 5, which had a kitchen & 2 rooms, one with a Q bed in it, the other with a Q and a twin with a trundle), but judging from the piles of stuff piled everywhere around the property, neatness is not highly valued here.)There are plenty of other places to stay in Grants Pass.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moteldelrogue, Owner at Motel Del Rogue, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Family,

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
We always want and appreciate feedback. Thank you.
3 of our 14 rooms have yet to get new laminate floors installed, unfortunately #5 is one of them. It is very hard to work on rooms during the summer, and we do absolutely everything that we can during the winter. The carpet is older but is commercially cleaned on a regular basis - in fact it was just cleaned four days ago.
We have full kitchens in 10 of our 14 rooms - microwaves, coffee pots, and refrigerators in all of them. There are housewares in every room. We supply locally-roasted, organic, fair trade coffee, tea, cocoa and 1/2 & 1/2. Most of our guests like to make their own breakfast. If we are asked about breakfast, we will often go and buy fruit, juice, yogurt, eggs etc.
We do everything that we can to make our guests comfortable - people are the reason that we own and run this motel. Had you said something to us, we would have been happy to move you to a room that we have updated or put you up at a property that was a better fit.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Constance, Kevin & Sylvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel Del Rogue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Del Rogue

Address: 2600 Rogue River Highway, Grants Pass, OR 97526
Location: United States > Oregon > Grants Pass
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Grants Pass
#5 Family Hotel in Grants Pass
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grants Pass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Rogue
Del Rogue Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel Del Rogue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.