We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greasy, loud and crowded.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Laughing Clam

The Laughing Clam
121 SW G St, Grants Pass, OR 97526-2413
541-479-1110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 179 Restaurants in Grants Pass
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Grants Pass, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Greasy, loud and crowded.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just plain greasy. Rude staff. Long wait for drinks (but no, you can't order two!). I think they think they are the stuff in GP because it's crowded, but that's because it's so dang small (not their fault, just fact). If the band would tone it down (a lot read: half volume), they would get a better deep fryer, and lose the attitude, it would be more fun. Fish and chips is good, but beware - all that grease will cause a mail call later at the worst time. Beautiful old bar, worth seeing. My rec: go for lunch or early dinner before the crowd gets there and the staff get overwhelmed.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    31
    15
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grants Pass, Oregon
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Drinks with ladies from work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Went to the Laughing Clam for happy hour. Had a couple drinks and snacks. Their beer selection is modest and sometimes have some very good ones available. Sort of hit and miss. Great snacks on their menu. Our table orders the single fish taco, very large portion and some cheeseburger sliders. Their food is pretty good. Look forward to different beer selections on the next trip in.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Hill, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great food, good band, and fun times! Very busy but were helped right away. Service was good very friendly staff

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Laughing Clam in Grants Pass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had the fish and chips and the shrimp and clam basket. Both were really great! Coffee is fabulous! Service outstanding! I loved this place!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington state
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great place for a beer, a meal and live music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stumbled upon this place and had a great seafood meal. The beer was cold, the service friendly and the live music terrific the night we were there. It's more a bar than a restaurant which surprised us given the recommendation. We got a spicy sauce that was outstanding with our seafood. It seemed to be a community gathering place and people came up to chat with us before the music started. Left because it got a little loud for these 50 somethings.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Laughing Clam also viewed

 

Been to The Laughing Clam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Laughing Clam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.