We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So wonderful and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Weasku Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Weasku Inn to your Saves list
Weasku Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   5560 Rogue River Hwy, Grants Pass, OR 97527   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SAVE up to 40%
Ranked #1 of 15 Grants Pass B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Villa Park, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“So wonderful and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had reserved the Weasku Inn for just one night a couple of days ago en route to another destination. It was a mistake not to spend more time here! We had two rooms for our family, both with wonderful views. The rooms had a charming, rustic style and were sparkling clean. After spending some time relaxing and soaking up the view, we went on a walk by the river. My kids were entranced by the deer we saw drinking at the river and we got some great photos. After dinner we came by the main lodge for cookies and spent some time talking to Carol with the Weasku, who was so nice and had so much great information about the area and local wildlife. My kids were also amazed at the size of the fish she caught in the river - they are still talking about it! Breakfast the next morning was a treat with so much more than we expected for the included continental breakfast. At breakfast Nancy with the Weasku was so helpful and greeted everyone with a smile. It would have been great to spend some more time and bring dinner back to eat on the deck, take the kids fishing, or just explore more around the Inn. All in all it was a wonderful, relaxing stay and we wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    35
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
47
155
14
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Townsend WA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Spent a night in a cabin here en route to California - and loved it. We weren't expecting our room to be really great - so were quite amazed when we opened the door and saw this charming, fresh, rustic woodsy style room. We brought our dinner and ate on the private deck overlooking the Rogue River - so relaxing after a long day's drive. I loved the bed with its tall headboard made of woven willow branches - and the high quality mattress and linens. Bathroom was great too - double sinks, large counter space, and separate tub and shower. A basic buffet breakfast was included with one hot entree - biscuits and gravy (but no egg) - all served in the historic lodge. This place has lots of rustic charm and we would seek it out again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have been to the Weasku Inn three years in a row and have always had a most restful and peaceful experience. The cabins overlooking the river are very comfortable and have a balcony that provides a great place for morning coffee or an afternoon respite. The breakfast on the deck of the lodge is equally peaceful. The staff are great. We plan to keep coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Weasku Inn last weekend (July 2013). We normally stay at the Riverside Inn, but it was fully booked.

Pros:
The people - all very nice
The location and ambience - the 90 year old lodge is cutely decorated and the location adjacent to the river was great.
Walking/hiking - a trail right down to the river, plus a long road next to a irrigation cancel going for miles towards Grants Pass.
Room furnishings - great fluffy mattresses and pillows, and the rooms nicely decorated.

Cons:
Noise - we stayed in the main lodge (room 2) which is right off the highway and highway 99 still carries a lot of truck and motorcycle traffic at all hours. When they built/remodeled the lodge rooms, they didn't add much, if any, insulation between rooms, thus you could plainly hear all the conversations and goings on in all the rooms around you. Not what you'd expect for a premium priced lodge. Add in the squeaky wood floors, and the lodge's neon sign shining in through the window, and it was more like a Motel 6 experience. When I complained about the noise to the desk clerk the first morning and asked if they had anything else (they didn't) the response was "Well Walt Disney stayed in that room". A interesting trivia fact, but it didn't help my situation.

Conclusion: If you can stay in one of the cabins, do it. If the lodge rooms are only available, pass on it.

Room Tip: Choose the cabins only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Quaint, welcoming hotel with beautiful surroundings! The staff was wonderful. They went out of their way to make sure we had everything and anything we needed. We stayed in the lodge but when we return we will stay in a cabin instead. The lodge rooms are very comfortable but they are near the highway so you can hear street noise and you can also hear your neighbors. We loved having the river so close and took multiple walks around the area. Hellgate is also nearby which is a lot of fun! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Weasku Inn has an interesting history, a wonderful location, and some very cheery and sweet employees. Unfortunately, the fun stops there. Dingy cabin, poorly lit and not particularly clean. Spider webs over the doors, a ring in the toilet, and towels that were worn, rough, way to small, and discolored. The terrycloth robes were rough and stringy and looked as though 1000 people had worn them! There was a very small T.V in the cabinet with very poor reception, and although they advertise WIFI in every cabin, it was spotty and slow. The biggest disappointment for us was the bed. No crisp white sheets and luxurious pillow top. But rather old and worn and discolored poly/cotton bed sheets with tiny pillows stuffed with I’m not sure what! On our second day, we returned to our room at 4:30 and the room had not been made up! Breakfast was exactly the same every day and consisted of Costco type heat and serve items. The Lodge offers wine and snacks at the end of the day, however, unlike any other Lodge/B&B we have ever stayed in, one must pay for a glass of wine. Weasku Inn could be a very cool place to stay, but they need to get their act together. If they want to charge sophisticated prices, then they need to put some effort into giving their guests a higher quality experience. The staff is made up of cheery, lovely people who just don’t have a clue about little touches like tablecloths, bedding, towels, that make for a special visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeaskuManager, Manager at Weasku Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our stay here at the Weasku Inn. It is your feedback that helps us continue to improve. I am very glad to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed the history of the property.

I regret to hear that the rest of your stay did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on providing clean, comfortable accommodations for our guests and we are disappointed to hear that you did not find your accommodations to meet these standards.

We continuously purchase and replace all of our linens to provide the best quality that we can. While our sheets are not white but more of a beige color we do continuously replace them. Every one of our accommodations has two poly filled pillows and two down filled pillows as well as several decorative pillows. We very recently replaced all of our robes. Despite these efforts to provide the best supplies for our guests we are very sorry that you found them to be lacking.

We purchase our breakfast items only from a reputable quality food source (not COSTCO) and all baked items are baked fresh each morning. We will take your comments into consideration and review our breakfast menu to see how we can improve.

We strive to provide an atmosphere where our guests can “unplug” and sit out on the porch to watch the river and wildlife however, we do provide cable TV and wireless internet service in all of our rooms and I am sorry to hear that your reception was poor. Our staff is very prompt at addressing these types of issues, had we known of the issue it would have been resolved quickly.

We apologize that due to high occupancy housekeeping was late and your room was not serviced in a timely manner. We did discuss this with you and set up a specific time to service your room for the rest of your stay that you stated was satisfactory.

We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again so that you may have an experience that exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

In town for reunion & 4 sets of us stayed at the Inn. Very accommodating putting us next to each other. Cabins were great-roomy & quaint. Updated bathrooms & good beds. The porch with the rockers by river was very peaceful. Breakfasts were great on the porch. Food was good – but a bit more options on the protein side desired. Nancy took great care of us - checking to what we needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeaskuManager, Manager at Weasku Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are always happy to hear that our guests have enjoyed their time with us. We appreciate your suggestion of more protein items at breakfast and will make a point of addressing that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Weasku Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weasku Inn

Address: 5560 Rogue River Hwy, Grants Pass, OR 97527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Grants Pass
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Grants Pass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Weasku Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Oregon legend was built in 1924 along the banks of the scenic Rogue River. It was a vacation retreat to many Hollywood personalities such as Clark Gable, Carol Lombard and Walt Disney. In 1993, Country House Inns purchased the Weasku Inn and began restoring it. In September of 1998, the restoration was complete, the five rooms in the Lodge having been updated, while the original character and splendor was maintained. In addition, eleven cabins were built on the property and an original A Frame cabin remodeled. Since its completion, "Travel and Leisure Magazine" named this historic landmark "one of the top 25 Lodges in the United States". Recently, in "1,000 Places to See Before You Die: A Traveler's Life List ", Patricia Shultz declared the Weasku Inn one of those "must see" places. We invite you to step back in time, restore yourself and create new beginnings at the wonderful Weasku Inn. Our accommodations include:5 Lodge Rooms, 11 River Front Cabins, 1 A-Frame Cabin, and a Three Bedroom River House All rooms are non-smokingSorry, no pets allowed Check-in 3pm / Check-out Noon 72 hour cancellation policy Children 12 and under stay free when occupying same room with an adult Complimentary wireless Internet throughout the property Meeting & Event Space for up to 40 people All accommodations include a full hot breakfast, a complimentary afternoon appetizer reception and evening milk & cookies ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Weasku Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weasku Hotel Grants Pass

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weasku Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.