We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed Stop in Grants Pass” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Weasku Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Weasku Inn to your Saves list
Weasku Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   5560 Rogue River Hwy, Grants Pass, OR 97527   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SAVE up to 40%
Ranked #1 of 15 Grants Pass B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Relaxed Stop in Grants Pass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Classic Resort Inn Nice stay in small lodge. We were to stay in a great room in the lodge but it appeared to by noisy on the road side of the lodge. They upgraded us to one of the cabins. It was also very well appointed with a fireplace and deck facing the river. They provided us with a snack after check in and brought it to us since we were in the cabins before we headed into town for a late dinner. We enjoyed the breakfast out on the front porch of the lodge. A very comfortable stay in beautiful surroundiings.

Room Tip: stay away from the road side rooms, too noisy The cabins are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    35
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
47
155
14
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were so lucky to have chosen the Weasku Inn for our first stay in the Grants Pass/Medford area. Usually my husband doesn't want anything to do with a "Bed & Breakfast" but this is not your mother's B & B! It reminded us of staying in a smaller version of a Nat'l Park Lodge like Crater Lake or Glacier or Old Faithful's. Upon check in (we recommend you check in as early as possible to enjoy the grounds) Brent gave us a wealth of information and history of the Weasku. I read every word of the Inns story from the book available in the lobby and especially enjoyed the photo from the 1940's with Gabby Hayes and the Cavegirls! What a hoot if one of the girls was your mom or grandma! Clark Gable's contract did not allow him to pose but Gabby could and you could tell he was having a great time. We had a thoroughly enjoyable time at the Weasku, rate it a 5 star and hope to return very soon.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a hidden lucky horseshoe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We arrived at the Weasku Inn on 08/23/2012 around 8:00 pm. The lodge is a rustic two story log cabin. We were welcomed by Brent which gave us a little history on the property. Brent told us he was able to upgrade us to the river front cabins which were built in the 90's. The cabin had vaulted ceilings with an exposed wood beam accent, a gas fireplace with a river rock surround, plus a private balcony which overlooked the river and woods. The grounds were spacious with seating areas, a pond, as well as water features. We felt very welcome almost like family. Thank you Weasku Inn for much needed relaxation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We are locals but stayed at the Weasku for our 2nd wedding anniversary and for our first trip away from our 9 month old son. I knew it was going to be rough for me, being away from my son for the first time, but the staff and the room itself made it easier for me. Tara checked us in and checked us out the next morning, and she made it fun to hang out in the lobby. Plus, she was extremely helpful by getting us dinner reservations, making us feel welcome, and finding me a toothbrush (not fun to forget that). The amenities are fantastic: appetizers and cookies in the evening, a great breakfast in the morning, and fantastic supplies in the room (shampoo, conditioner, lotion, water, etc). Thanks to the entire staff that made our stay great!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Modern comfort + historic ambiance + rustic appeal.

Yes, it's the trifecta: that elusive intersection between well-appointed in the style of a contemporary 4-star hotel (fancy bathroom, quality bedding, recent furnishings), full of character like a small-scale inn, and woodsy enough to feel in keeping with the natural setting.

Our room (actually half of a cabin; each cabin seems to hold two rooms) was almost a suite: a king-size bed, a table and chairs, plus a sofa facing a large fireplace. The bathroom was ENORMOUS and very nicely finished (double sinks, huge counter, stone tiles). So cosy and delightful!

Best of all: the large private deck facing the river, with lovely wooden rocking chairs.

Breakfast was a good (but not gourmet) breakfast that went a bit beyond the standard continental options: in addition to scones, biscuits and gravy there were boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit, cereal and other options I'm probably forgetting. Since we were there in late July, we harvested one part of breakfast ourselves: a huge bowl of blackberries from the bushes that are abundant on this property.

The only downside to this Inn is the location: while you have a view of the river, you also enjoy the background sound of the highway. It's not intrusive (city slicker that I am, I initially thought it was the sound of the river) but it's a constant white noise. And the hotel is on a pretty unsightly strip at the edge of Grants Pass, though once you get to the property the ugly strip feels far removed.

If you're going to be in Grants Pass, I can't imagine a more delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband wanted to stay at one of the primitive raft-in lodges on the Rogue but was pleasantly suprised at my selection of the Weasku instead. It was in-town convenient but very quiet and lodge-y on the property. We stayed with our two kids, ages 10 and 13, in room #5 above the kitchen and never heard any noise from below like another reviewer mentioned (they even asked if they were bothering us because they'd had a complaint). Everything was very well-kept and clean, and the food was very nice. Staff was helpful and friendly.
One note: bed was very comfortable but the sleeper sofa could've used some extra padding as the springs bothered the kids.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This hotel has been around for sometime and boasts Clark Gable and Carol Lombard as frequent visitors in their day. The main lodge is rustic and charming. We stayed with two other couples in their largest building and were lucky to have the large room with a king bed. The other two bedrooms were very small and shared a bath. Our bath had a sliding pocket door that had come off the track and my husband needed help from our friends to move the door to get out of the room. The staff promptly fixed the door that day, but it came off the track as soon as we used it again. Our house had a full kitchen and living room which we did not use as we were only there for one night.
The grounds are lovely and although our rooms were supposed to be on the river, we had to walk down to it as there was no immediate view from them. This hotel is composed of small cottages dotted throughout the property and there is no service for bags and guests must park in a lot that is a good distance from them. We arrived in the evening and had to lug bags a distance which was a walk and should have been directed to pull the car up to the cabin to make things easier.
Breakfast is self serve and included a choice of cereal, yogurt, waffles, baked goods etc. Not first rate but good. We returned back to the hotel in the evening and there were fresh baked cookies for us which was a nice touch.
Overall, this is a nice property, somewhat dated but very clean and the staff could not have been nicer. Be sure to take time to walk the grounds as they are lovely.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Weasku Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weasku Inn

Address: 5560 Rogue River Hwy, Grants Pass, OR 97527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Grants Pass
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Grants Pass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Weasku Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Oregon legend was built in 1924 along the banks of the scenic Rogue River. It was a vacation retreat to many Hollywood personalities such as Clark Gable, Carol Lombard and Walt Disney. In 1993, Country House Inns purchased the Weasku Inn and began restoring it. In September of 1998, the restoration was complete, the five rooms in the Lodge having been updated, while the original character and splendor was maintained. In addition, eleven cabins were built on the property and an original A Frame cabin remodeled. Since its completion, "Travel and Leisure Magazine" named this historic landmark "one of the top 25 Lodges in the United States". Recently, in "1,000 Places to See Before You Die: A Traveler's Life List ", Patricia Shultz declared the Weasku Inn one of those "must see" places. We invite you to step back in time, restore yourself and create new beginnings at the wonderful Weasku Inn. Our accommodations include:5 Lodge Rooms, 11 River Front Cabins, 1 A-Frame Cabin, and a Three Bedroom River House All rooms are non-smokingSorry, no pets allowed Check-in 3pm / Check-out Noon 72 hour cancellation policy Children 12 and under stay free when occupying same room with an adult Complimentary wireless Internet throughout the property Meeting & Event Space for up to 40 people All accommodations include a full hot breakfast, a complimentary afternoon appetizer reception and evening milk & cookies ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Weasku Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weasku Hotel Grants Pass

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weasku Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.