We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rafting on Rogue River” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morrison's Rogue River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grants Pass
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morrison's Rogue River Lodge
Save
You added Morrison's Rogue River Lodge to your Saves list
8500 Galice Rd, Grants Pass, OR   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Rafting on Rogue River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We made a research about rafting near Medford, where we were staying. Rogue River near Grants Pass, OR is a famous place for it. Morrison's Lodge was the least expensive option: $85 per adult for one day with a lunch. We had never gone river rafting before and had a great guide who was cheerful, knowledgable and not dorky. They did take care of us really well. We arrived at 8:30AM, they drove us up the river and we went in kayaks and raft 9 miles to the lodge, had a lunch and then travel 9 more miles down the river where they picked us up and drove to the lodge. They also encouraged us to stay longer (which we did) and enjoy the pool and the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    16
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
16
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

This place is absolutely beautiful. The scenery is fabulous any direction you look. The manager, Lowell, and his staff treated me and my dog like we were royalty. The fact that dogs are allowed is a huge plus, but the fact that they are so nice to them is even better!
I will definitely come back, as this was one of the best, most relaxing places I've ever stayed!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

Morrison's was the Best!!! The management went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. They worked with us when we decided to change our rafting plans - no problem - they just wanted us to be happy customers. Our rafting guide, Dill, was very accommodating, friendly and there for us. This is an excellent family trip/place to stay!! Highly recommend the lodge and their river raft trips! Oh - the food was unbelievable too!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

I travel and lodge frequently ranging from simple accommodations to 5 star resorts. Morrison's Lodge in Galice, Oregon is by far the very best. The cabins are clean, rustic, private and well equipped. The scenery, whether from the lodge, your cabin, or sitting in one of their andirondak chairs on the big lawn offers up spectacular views of the rogue river. The hospitality is sincere and they accommodate your wishes. The food is gourmet and delicious. I can't say a bad thing about this place. If I was forced to I would say they feed you too much, or rather the food is so good you can't stop overeating. They pair up with Rogue River Raft trips to provide any type of kayaking or river trip that you would like. VERY, VERY accommodating. For what you get in the package (3 meals a day, wonderful guide down the river, great lodging, gourment food...) its a good deal. I even got a 20% discount on the room.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

The website doesn't do it justice! Rustic rooms, clean but simple. However, the best part about this place is being right on a grassy lawn on the river bank in a lawn chair sipping a glass of wine! The view is spectacular! It was heaven! Then we went to dinner (which is included in the price and totally worth the $$) and had a fabulous 4 course dinner outside on the deck! Excellent food and amazing setting! Service was terrific-very nice people there-we really enjoyed this part of our trip and would love to go back again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

Just returned from a 3 day trip and it was spectacular, so much so we are already planning to go back next year. for those who don't know the routine, your first night is at morrisons lodge and then you spend the subsequent nights either camping or staying at lodges down river. the quality of lodging varies, my favorites were morrisons and muriels. if you are expecting the ritz you will be disappointed, but if you are expecting quality lodging, with good food and great service you won't be disappointed. the guides were excellent, the staff was accommodating, the food was more than adequate (one morning we had fresh crepes with omelets, and tri-tip and smoked salmon for dinner one evening). I can't recommend this place enough. my only nit was our lodging the second evening, which wasn't as comfortable as morrisons or muriels. and just be aware - there is no cell phone reception or internet along the river, so you must be willing to part with your crackberry for the entire trip (by lunch the first day you wont even care)......just go expecting a great outdoor adventure and you won't be let down.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

My extended family (17 of us) and I returned from a three-day rafting trip on the Rogue River with Rogue River Raft Trips. This was our first trip as an extended family and the Rogue River Raft Trip crew made it an adventure we will remember and treasure.

Rogue River Raft Trips offers different rafting options. There is a three-day lodge trip, a four-day camping trip and a three-day camp/lodge trip combination. We did the three day camp/lodge trip.

After some instruction Saturday evening, our family arrived at Morrison's Lodge for a 9:00 departure in the river in front of the lodge. The first day was a twenty mile ride down the river with a stop for lunch. The guides and other crew made lunch and it was really good, especially considering they were making it in the middle of the wilderness. Along with the river rafts, there were also inflatable kayaks available for those who wanted to kayak down the river. We had five kayaks for the total 20 people who were on the trip and it was a pretty good number. Another nice touch was the guides' flexibility. If you were too hot, and the river was calm, there was always the option of swimming along with the raft.

We stopped at Horseshoe Bend the first night. We (or, more specifically the guides) set up camp. Sleeping bags, pillows, sleeping pads, tents, were all provided. Once things were organized, the crew set to making dinner. We killed time by sitting in chairs by the river drinking wine and enjoying the scenery.

Dinner was amazing. Steak, fish, amazing mashed potatoes, salad and garlic bread, served with one of the world's most amazing views. After dinner, one of the staff played the guitar and sang. The older kids stayed up. The rest of us lumbered up the hill to our sleeping bags under the stars.

The next morning we were again stuffed to the gills before departure: eggs, bacon, pancakes, etc. We lumbered our bodies onto the rafts for another day of fun. One of the highlights was a rapid called Scrub Cycle. Skillful maneuvering lands the raft/kayak facing toward the rapid. Weight is put in the front of the kayak/raft and then the waves run over the craft, until it "pops out" of the scrub cycle. We did it several times, and probably could have done it even more.

After lunch, another great meal, we drifted into the Rogue River's Canyon. It was almost surreal in its beauty - it was quiet and beautiful beyond words. At the end of the day we landed at Half Moon Bar. Yes! The bliss of hot showers and clean sheets after a night of "roughing it" in the woods. Half Moon Bar is incredible. We were shown to our rooms and then we relaxed before dinner, watching the deer on the lawn. The kids played golf at the golf hole. After cocktails with a view, we had our dinner in the hotel dining room. The dinner was served family style - but what it lacked in variety it made up for in flavor. We had the best barbecued ribs I've ever had, potatoes, salad and bread. For dessert there was an apple cobbler. After dinner we all sat around and chatted with the guides and each other. One of the guides played the fiddle after dinner and another one played the guitar. Happy and content, we all turned in.

In the morning, the force feeding of fine food continued. A family style breakfast of scrambled eggs, ham, biscuits and gravy, yogurt, juice and pancakes was spread out to entice us to add additional poundage to take with us from the vacation. Once we were fed and our bags were stowed on the boat we headed for our last day on the river. We rode the rapids, kayaked etc, and then made it to the final landing spot around two in the afternoon. A van came to take us back to Morrison's, a 2 hour drive through forest service roads. Some of our family elected to have Morrison's bring their car to the landing spot so they could drive directly to the coast when we landed. The cost was $90 per vehicle - pretty reasonable considering the distance.

I can't say enough about the professionalism and courtesy of the Rogue River Rafting Trip staff. My daughter is a vegan and they made sure that she had meals as tasty , if not tastier than the one the rest of us had. I hate camping, and I felt exceedingly comfortable and safe throughout the trip.

The guides were friendly and knowledgeable and made sure that we had the kind of rafting adventure we were looking for. When I originally read the prices for the trips I was kind of turned off, but knowing how much organization and planning goes into this once-in-a-lifetime adventure, I think that it is worth it. The four members of my family were riding home from the trip and said it was the best family vacation we have ever been on.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morrison's Rogue River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison's Rogue River Lodge

Address: 8500 Galice Rd, Grants Pass, OR
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Grants Pass
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Grants Pass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morrison's Rogue River Lodge is Southern Oregon's premier rafting & fishing resort located on the scenic Rogue River. The beautiful setting also makes it a great location for retreats and weddings. Originally built as a fishing lodge in 1946, Morrison's Lodge offers some of the finest Steelhead fishing in the Pacific Northwest. Combine fine dining and spectacular scenery to make Morrison's your destination resort of choice in the Rogue River Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Morrison`s Rogue River Hotel Grants Pass

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morrison's Rogue River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.