We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
1900 NW 6th St, Grants Pass, OR 97526-3402
541-955-6888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 177 Restaurants in Grants Pass
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Rogue River, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never again...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Used to be good, but awful now. Ordered a steak, previous times it was very good... this one was old and tough and literally, part of the meat was rotted. Muffins used to be marvelous and fresh, this time they were old and hard, and just well, ick. This meal cost 2 of us about $40, and I went home and threw it up. That is how bad it was. I did call and tell them as soon as I got home and was so sick to tell them not sell anymore of those steaks to anyone else, they would end up killing someone. They made no offer to refund or make up for it at all. The gals who work there are wonderful, but someone in that kitchen could care a less what they are sending out to the paying customers. Obviously this place needs a huge wake up call. Too bad, because they were quite good!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    43
    20
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Any time we pass through a town with a Black Bear Diner, it will always be our first option for food. Great choices and huge menu.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Convenient to the Travelodge right next door, great breakfast, clean place. Try the California Eggs Benedict

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We wanted something light. The food we had was great and service was amazing. I've eaten at BBD's before in different towns and places, but here they made me feel comfortable, like I was home and just with friends.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not the best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Food mediocre...service fine until we got forgotten...a plus is breakfast all day...atmosphere was good

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.