We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to bring visitors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildlife Images - Rehabilitation & Education Center

Wildlife Images - Rehabilitation & Education Center
11845 Lower River Rd, Grants Pass, OR
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 18 attractions in Grants Pass
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Rogue River, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good place to bring visitors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I've been here a few times. It is a good place to bring out of town visitors, young or old. The guided tours are educational and good way to learn about Oregon wildlife. You get pretty close to the animals who, it is obvious, are well cared for with clean pens and fresh water. Also obvious if the affection of the guides and others on staff for the animals.

For the tour, you need to be able to walk on slightly hilly, uneven terrain - may be a problem for less secure walkers. I think they have a cart now. The total walking distance is not that far. The tour takes maybe an hour, hour and half. Be sure to visit the gift shop.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    19
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Making a difference!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Dave Siddons & his staff do wonderful work. You can tell they pour their hearts & souls into caring for these animals. Their tours are informative & give us a chance to learn more about the work they do @ the facility.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Wonderful experience. Great animals, all rescued. Admission price goes toward food. Great volunteers, caring and knowledgable.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We went on a Sunday and were the only two people in the tour. It was AWESOME! It was our own private education. We asked tons of questions, the guide (oh how I wish I could remember her name) was passionate and funny. She showed us photos of when the 'display" animals were brought in and great stories of how goofy the animals, and the people who bring them in are.
The rehabilitating animals are not out so they do not get used to humans and the animals out for education are quite used to being seen. Some of them are quite the little divas (the River Otter and Bald Eagle) and others are petulant (owl). I am not anthromorphizing the animals- I just can't figure out how to explain them without using human characteristics)

My favorite was the Black Bear that was chained outside of a store in Palermo Italy. She was saved and sent to Wildlife Images to live out her days. She was the only bear that hiuddy. On this day all the other bears were hibernating, and she was lolling out in the enclosure trying to get a bunch of grapes.

I would love to go back someday. It was an amazing day.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“fun and loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

they take good care of the animals. it clean. stores around the area donate old meats and other food items for the animals

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildlife Images - Rehabilitation & Education Center also viewed

 

Been to Wildlife Images - Rehabilitation & Education Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildlife Images - Rehabilitation & Education Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wildlife Images - Rehabilitation & Education Center to your Saves list