We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Overnight Lodging” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shilo Inn Grants Pass

Save Saved
You added Shilo Inn Grants Pass to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shilo Inn Grants Pass
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1880 N.W. Sixth St, Grants Pass, OR 97526   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 hotels in Grants Pass
larkspur
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Decent Overnight Lodging”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel won't win any awards for décor or layout, but our room was comfortable and quiet, and everything worked well (we didn't need heat or A/C, so can't comment on those.)

The continental breakfast was convenient, and the front desk clerks were efficient and welcoming. The only real drawback to the hotel was the odd layout, with four stairs both up to the entrance, and then five more down to the hall - so that large wheeled suitcases that could normally be rolled had, instead, to be carried.

The desk recommended the Black Bear restaurant next door. It was fine for a simple late-night meal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Grants Pass, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thanks so much for your comments. Next time you stay with us, let the front desk know you would not like to traverse the stairs and we can make sure that you get a level ground floor room with no stairs to conquer.

Mark Gatlin
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    37
    30
    13
    7
See reviews for
30
37
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Shilo Inn Grants Pass. We drove from Seattle to Los Angeles and stayed on the way down and the way back. The staff was nice and the room is clean. It's a little small with the toilet and bathtub in the same room. No cooler but the iron, hairdryer, TV and A/C was all I good working order. The breakfast is fair with the usual things bagels, muffins, hard boiled eggs, and coffee. The location off the freeway is nice and HUMAN BEAN coffee place across is great. I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Central Orange County, CA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Check in and check out were simple and pleasant. The staff couldn't have been any nicer. The location was easy to find (right off I-5) and only a short drive from the historic downtown area.

The hallways and rooms looked a bit old (perhaps a nicer way to say it would be "nostalgic"), but were adequately comfortable. When traveling with our two children, we appreciate twin queen beds as our room had. The wi-fi signal in room 215 was fine, so we were able to access Google maps and work on our trip plans.

The breakfast room was under renovation, so future guests will find an improvement. I didn't eat breakfast, but my family said it was decent.

Overall it was a good value for the price paid.

Room Tip: Rooms near the office get better wi-fi reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

SUCH nice people, perfect location and good price but.......the room was small, stale, outdated and felt really rather worn out. The staff are as nice and accommodating as can be but I really didn't like the property at all. The breakfast was rather basic and the breakfast room was teeny and the air conditioning was turned on beyond full blast meaning that no one wanted to sit near the fan....just couldn't!! And they had a sign saying 'Don't touch'. Quite uncomfortable. I'm sorry not to be able to say nice things because the staff WERE so nice but I just can't recommend the propery

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Grants Pass, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Your comments are most welcome and you DID say nice things about our staff! We have changed the AC in the breakfast room so that the blasting air will hopefully not be a problem anymore. And our rooms have received new linens and deep cleaning. I hope you will visit us again to allow us to prove that we deserve to be on your list as first choice for lodging in Grants Pass!
Mark Gatlin
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I was really surprised by how much I liked this hotel. Check in was quick. Rates are reasonable. Location is good.The room was quite, clean, comfortable. Breakfast was varied and healthy. Staff was friendly. Hallways near the sauna have a moldy odor but that is my only criticism.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the campground are better than those facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Grants Pass, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Your nose was correct as we had a subterranean leak that was discovered after much searching.
I am pleased to announce that our carpets have been restored and the smell is gone!
Mark Gatlin
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unionville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were on a 12 day trip we were suppose to stay with friends and they weren't available at the last minute after driving 10 hrs and all the hotels booked in Grants Pass, Or we were able to get a room at Shilo Inn . The rooms were nice and beds comfortable we were only there 8 hrs and then back on the road

Room Tip: They have a great continental breakfast selection and coffee was Starbucks. Staff was very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Grants Pass, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Vikki D,

I’m so glad we were able to take care of you.
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience.

Happy Travels!

Mark S. Gatlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Good place to stay, especially for the price (there is a veterans rate). Great air conditioning, nice staff, clean room, good breakfast. Free wifi and parking. The TV cut out occasionally, but only for a short period of time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shilo Inn Grants Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Grants Pass

Address: 1880 N.W. Sixth St, Grants Pass, OR 97526
Location: United States > Oregon > Grants Pass
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Grants Pass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shilo Inn Grants Pass 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Shilo Inn Grants Pass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Grants Pass Hotel Grants Pass
Grants Pass Shilo Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shilo Inn Grants Pass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.