We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heading North out of California” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   105 NE Agness Ave, Grants Pass, OR 97526   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Grants Pass
Morehead, Kentucky, United States
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Heading North out of California”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We arrived in Grants Pass after a day on the road driving through Hwy 101 in
California on the Redwood Highway. We had no reservations but arrived
early in the evening so we were able to get a king non smoking room
with no problem. The room was very nice and comparable to other
HEI we have stayed at. The bed was very comfortable and the free
continental breakfast the next morning was one of the best on our trip.
I probably won't be in that area again since it was a 5800 mile road
trip but if I did return I would stay at this same hotel again.
After traveling 2 lane roads for two days this hotel fit our needs
since it was next to I-5 which was our destination for the next
leg of our road trip heading northeast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    45
    19
    10
    7
See reviews for
37
35
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This was our second stayat the Holiday Inn Express in Grants Pass,Oregon in less than one week. First, I booked the second stay through the Holiday Inn toll free phone # for one night,king bed with a small dog.When we arrived to check in there wasn't a room with a king bed,which wasn't a big deal. Second, the hotel wasn't aware that we had a dog. That was the first priority when I made the reservation and the main reason to stay at the Holiday Inn, Grants Pass,OR. Walking down the corridor to our room all you could smell was marijuana and it was getting stronger as we got closer to our room.Once we entered the room it didn't get much better.In fact it was getting stronger.It was coming from the room through the ajoining room door. We took a towel,rolled it up and placed it at the base of the ajoining room door but it
didn't make a difference. I called the front desk to complain about the smell of marijuana smoke and was told that we could move to another room on the opposite end of the floor. After all of the trouble with the reservation, the smell and moving to another room I was just about had it with the Holiday Inn. There was sign at the front entrance that said " No Smoking Within 10 feet from building". Nothing was done to correct the situation other than moving us around. I would hessitate at making another reservation through Holiday Inn and staying at the Holiday Inn Grants Pass, Oregon again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear rt805,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I want to assure you our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had 2 adjoining rooms due to having 3 kids with us. The mattresses were bad, very thin and not comfortable at all. I didn't like that we had to go down 2 or 3 sets of stairs to the pool and hot tub area that is shared with the Best Western. There also isn't a bathroom down by the pool and hot tub so you have to go back up to the lobby, which was out of toilet paper. When I asked the girl at the front desk if there was a bathroom by the pool she didn't even know. The pool area was beautiful and nice that it is outside, we spent a lot of time there. We stayed 2 nights and when the maids cleaned our room they did not vacuum and did not do our kids room, which we did not notice right off as we saw ours was sort of done so we assumed theirs was until we popped our heads in later. Breakfast was typical free breakfast fare, although, a pet peeve with kids is when there isn't hot chocolate- and this did not have hot chocolate.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor so perhaps that made our room a little more quiet than the ones lower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunusstein, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Pleasantly surprised with quality of this property. Freshly maintained rooms of a reasonable size. Breakfast buffet was better than past experiences with Holiday Inn Express. Grants Pass is a reasonable stopover on the I5 corridor and this is a good place to do it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The outdoor pool is shared with the best western but it was nice to have it outdoors. The rooms were clean, breaky was the standard Holiday inn. Be forewarned, there are TONNES of mosquitos so use repellent if you are spending time outdoors!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, UK
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We liked this hotel, situated very conveniently and a warm welcome. Rooms fine, spotless and facilities what you would expect. And a great pancake-making machine for breakfast! But the noise from above (who ARE these people who seem to pace up and down their rooms for an hour or more??) was a bit much, and the walls were thin too. Suggest you ask for a room on the top floor. There is an Applebee's within 5 mins walk, which we used for a budget-conscious but tasty dinner.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We drove in to Grants Pass and called HI central reservations from the car and within 30 minutes we were checked in for one night. We really appreciated the 'no fuss' but very efficient approach of the staff. We found the HIE to be a quiet, clean and comfortable place to stay, with a large room (king bed), plenty of space, a generous breakfast, free parking, wi-fi and what we really needed - a guest laundry! To sum up, we were very happy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass

Address: 105 NE Agness Ave, Grants Pass, OR 97526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Grants Pass
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Grants Pass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass is conveniently located at the junction of Interstate 5 and the Redwood Hwy (Hwy 199). Our lodging offers you easy access to Rogue River thrills, antique shopping, wildlife watching and wine tasting. Seasonally, catch the exciting action of Grants Pass Downs horse racing, enjoy summer theater and art, try whitewater rafting, fishing or a jet boat excursion on the wild and scenic Rogue River. Shop in the open air at the Southern Oregon Public Market and in the Historic Towne Centre or enjoy a round of golf at one of the local courses. The Holiday Inn Express hotel accommodations feature: Simply Smart guest bath and bedding, Smart Roast in-room coffee, free local and 800 calls and free wireless HSIA. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning. Featuring a selection of cheese omelets, bacon, biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, sausage, fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries & muffins, and even hard boiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Grants Pass, OR and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass Hotel Grants Pass
Holiday Inn Grants Pass
Grants Pass Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Grants Pass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.