We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really liked the newly remodeled rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spirit Mountain Casino Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Ronde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spirit Mountain Casino Lodge
Save
You added Spirit Mountain Casino Lodge to your Saves list
27100 SW Salmon River Hwy, P.O. Box 39, Grand Ronde, OR 97347   |  
Hotel amenities
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Really liked the newly remodeled rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed at Spirit Mountain a few times over the years and felt it was just okay for a quick, inexpensive getaway from Portland to enjoy a little break from the norm. This past visit we upgraded ourselves to one of the newly remodeled rooms and were not at all disappointed.

They did a really nice job "classying" up the tired native decor with a modern color-scheme, new carpet, bed linens, flat screen TV and much improved lighting. It truly felt a little more Vegas than I ever dreamed possible... but journey down to the casino floor and that all ends.

The price for an upgraded room is nominal and well-worth the extra few dollars. Unless of course, you are one who actually enjoys old polyester native american printed bedspreads and a worn, muted earth tone color scheme.

The housekeeping is good in the rooms. The noise level can vary depending on your neighbors, but in general we have not had any bad experiences regarding noise.

The complimentary breakfast is for lack of a better word, minimalist. It is uninspired and not particularly appealing to the eye either. My biggest complaint is the lack of room service. It is a shame that they have no food service to the room. Not everyone is inclined to tie the feed bag on at the buffet and other than that and the little deli on the casino floor, there is no breakfast option until 11:00 when the Summit opens for business. It's not as if there are nearby restaurants. When you are visiting Spirit Mountain it is a bit like being on a cruise ship so more options would most likely be a good idea for them to explore.


Check -in and check-out were not complicated or difficult. We were subjected to a memorized, monotone spiel regarding hotel rules which included the "no drugs in the room" bit by the hotel clerk. As many have noted, it is off-putting and very odd to speak to hotel guests in this way and I am at a loss as to why or how this benefits the Spirit Mountain Lodge. Put it in the small print on the registration form where it realistically belongs... why potentially offend paying guests?

In total, Spirit Mountain Lodge can provide a respite from the everyday doldrums and is only an hour from Portland. If you choose an upgraded room, you may find that it feels a little less like a local casino in the coast range and a little more Vegasy.

Room Tip: upgrade to a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    50
    18
    7
    7
See reviews for
20
75
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed for two nights and booked the deluxe room. It was clean, quiet and ample space for two. I loved the decor and colors in the deluxe rooms. the bathroom was bigger than the typical hotel class rooms such as the Marriott/Hilton. Parking was free and if you sign up for the free casino club card you get $20 off per night! we enjoyed the hotel.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We recently stayed at the Spirit Mountain Lodge and the accomodations were lovely. Rooms were very large for a standard and so was the bathroom area with a lighted mirror for added convenience. There was even a mini refrigerator. The only negatives were: there was no indoor or outdoor pool and the morning breakfast wasn't as substantial as some other places we have stayed, but it was enough to fill you up. One other thing, we definitely did not do well in the casino area. From the folks we talked to with our group, they didn't all that well either.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Plenty of room to spare. COmfortable beds. Staff very friendly. Expanded slot area that was missed but will remember next time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

we always come back even thought the drive from Vancouver isn't that fun. Get a rewards card you can use the points for cash anywhere in the casino, we have had many free nights of stay from out points!! Buffet is good to, I also recommend the chicken wraps from the food stand by the Club Desk. My husband and I have both hit jackpots!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

We stayed for one nigt, after attending a concert at Spirit Mountain. It was nice to be able to enjoy the concert and not have to drive ome afterwards. Here are my observations about the room:

Liked: Lighted, magnifying make-up mirror mounted on wall swivel
Large granite countertop area in bathroom, plenty of room for your things
“Bar area” granite counter with ice bucket, glasses, coffee maker
Full-length mirror
Pretty quiet, didn’t hear anyone in rooms on either side, but occasionally heard squeaky door nearby
Lots of lamps (4), electrical outlets, 3 chairs (2 side chairs, one cushioned chair with ottoman)
Free continental breakfast: Cold cereal, small yogurts, mini bagels and other small pastries, bananas, juice, coffee
Check-in was quick and easy, but we hit it just right. When we walked by 15 minutes later there was a long line.

Disliked:
Wireless was slow (but easy to access)
Old-style tube TV in armoire
Only two bath towels, two hand towels, and two washcloths
Only two pillows on the king-sized bed
Old-style bedspread, and Vellux blanket (hate those; they always creep down and you can’t pull them back up)
Worst: Bottom sheet did not even reach the end of the mattress, much less cover the side and stay tucked in.

Some oddities: The only hotel I’ve ever stayed at where they specifically mentioned (verbally) to each guest checking in, “No drugs, including medical marijuana”. This was along with a longer list of other forbidden substances and activities that the desk clerk not only told us about, but also made us sign and initial in 6 places, various things we agreed not to do in the hotel.

Also the only hotel I can remember in probably 15 years that did NOT have me give a credit card number to hold the room. And when I asked for an email confirmation (to make sure they would honor the $69 rate they quoted over the phone) she said “We don’t do email.”

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

This place is a great stop between portland and the coast. Buffet here is also a pretty good choice. On the way back from coast we stopped to eat, play some slots and relax. The rooms and bathrooms are super big. My teenage brother and my toddler son spent hours in play world with 20 dollars. We had dinner together and then everyone split. Bingo is actually pretty fun. The kids, and grandparents were entertained and enjoyed their time. Beds were comfy, continental breakfast just like anywhere else. Bad thing is no pool, no gym just a basic lodge. No complaints about the room what so ever.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spirit Mountain Casino Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spirit Mountain Casino Lodge

Address: 27100 SW Salmon River Hwy, P.O. Box 39, Grand Ronde, OR 97347
Location: United States > Oregon > Grand Ronde
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Grand Ronde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a unique destination on Oregon’s Salmon River Highway, where the beautiful surroundings of the Pacific Northwest combine with traditional tribal and naturalistic themes to create a one-of-a-kind serenity. Here stand the cozy lobby and beckoning rooms that make up Spirit Mountain Lodge. Every aspect of our resort is there to ensure that you’ll enjoy your stay to the fullest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spirit Mountain Hotel Grand Ronde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spirit Mountain Casino Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.