We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crab Legs on a Monday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Plank Buffet

Cedar Plank Buffet
27199 S.W. Salmon River Highway, Grand Ronde, OR 97347
(800) 760-7977
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Seafood, International, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Our buffet stands in its own class thanks to the melt-in-your-mouth cedar plank salmon, prime rib and other Northwest and seasonal dishes we serve. Adults may also raise a glass or two from our secured beer and wine station.
Milwaukie, Oregon
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Crab Legs on a Monday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We only occasionally visit the casino and buffet so, as with many, the menu might be different depending on the day of the week. We went early evening on a Monday, and one of the items were large crab legs. Shell crackers are next to the legs and small buckets are delivered to your table for the shells, and any thing else you you want to put in there. The bucket turned out to be a real guilt reliever, as you don't have to have the left over food on your plate if you slide the remains into the bucket. Cedar plank cooked salmon, and a selection of cod, tilapia, and shrimp were other sea food items. Over all the good choice and quality was good. Ice cream scooped by them from a choice of flavors and a nice selection of other desserts. Drink and plate pick up service was good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    29
    6
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Standard buffet fare, nothing fancy. As per ususal with buffets, avoid anything ethnic like the chinese or mexican. The prime rib was great, had it both for dinner and for lunch the next morning. Love the creamy horseradish sauce. The sushi was good, but well picked over at dinner time when I was there, and it's not offered at lunch. The desserts were average, however, the hand scooped ice cream was fantastic. We had that twice. Also, the seafood offered during dinner was great. We will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best buffet ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Comparable to the Bellagio at Vegas (which is one of the best but cost's $38). Everything was excellent! Especially loved the salmon and the mini eclairs - awesome! Can't wait to go again next time we are in the area!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Breakfast Buffet Of Champions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Where do I begin? That's what I was saying to myself when I seen how much this buffet had to offer. So many choices, it was hard to decide. Everything from made to order omelets to deep fried shrimp, 4 styles of French toast, carved ham, fresh fruit, I could go on and on and on. The dining area is very large and wide open which was nice. It is located away from the casino area so you can enjoy your meal with out all the noise. Price for breakfast was under $10.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value! Bring a big appetite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We were expecting the run-of-the-mill pizza,salad and ice cream buffet. Wrong! I would compare this favorably to Vegas buffets. The selection was overwhelming and everything we tried was delicious. They have a shrimp bar where you can design your own scampi style dish (I think it's only on the dinner buffet though). Their seafood bar is amazing as well. No complaints at all and going back today! It's well over an hour's drive so that says it all.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar Plank Buffet also viewed

 
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast

Been to Cedar Plank Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Plank Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.