We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A qualified "Okay" with 1 big exception” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Collins Lake Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Collins Lake Resort to your Saves list
Collins Lake Resort
88149 E. Creek Ridge Road, Government Camp, OR 97028   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A qualified "Okay" with 1 big exception”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

I’ll start with the positive notes - the clubhouse with the pool, sauna, and hot tub area are very nice. The hot tub is actually very cool. One, it's huge -- about the size of a small swimming pool. Two, it's located down a short path that crosses a little creek and sits in the middle of some mature fir trees in a beautiful setting. There are, however, about 160 unit so it’s get very crowded at times. We definitely enjoyed the sauna though and the clubhouse was well built, had a nice "lodge" feel to it, and very comfortable. They also have free wi-fi available in the clubhouse.

The front desk people were friendly and helpful and the person I spoke to when making my reservation was excellent. I accidentally left something behind and they found it and promptly mailed it to me.

The proximity to Portland is convenient which I'm sure is a big draw for weekender's. As a skier, it’s great having 3 ski areas within 3 – 15 minutes of this location as well.

Some comments regarding the specific unit we stayed in #H141 – and note that every unit is has different owners and furnishings. First of all, the unit was shown on their website as a 3 bedroom -- which it is not. It is a 2 bedroom + a loft. The unit was nicely decorated and the kitchen was well furnished.

The queen mattresses in this unit are terrible and the pillows are poor as well. The bed sheets were of rather poor quality as well.

The towels were generally in average to poor condition and some had bleach stains on them. And since the clubhouse with the pool and hot tubs did not supply towels, there were nowhere near enough towels either. Fortunately there is a washer and dryer which we utilized.

The door locks in 2 of the 3 bathrooms are broken and do not work.

The resort provided one 1.5 ounce container of shampoo for each shower and no conditioner (the shampoo was not a shampoo-conditioner combo either). With 6 people, we quickly ran out.

They also provide very cheap paper towels and tissue paper. Napkins were not provided either. This is just not what I would expect from a “resort”.

The TV's in the bedrooms are of poor quality – the one HD TV was in the master and has about an 18” screen and the picture quality is poor. The TV in the living room is better but the remote did not work even after swapping out the batteries.

The ping-pong table in the garage is totally broken and should just be thrown away.

And now for the one really big, disgusting exception... in the queen bedroom I went to grab an extra blanket out of the closet. When I picked it up and started to unfold it, the blanket was damp and had blood stains on it. Talk about disgusting -- and definitely a first for me. I called the front desk, was told housekeeping would come by and remove it.

Other than this one rather big sanitary issue, however, the unit was quite clean. If it wasn't for that disgusting detail, I'd have given the unit 4+ points for cleanliness.

The unit did have a nice washer and dryer in the heated garage, and as I said above, the unit very nicely decorated.

Would I stay at Collins Lake Resort again or recommend it to a friend? Only on a qualified basis: 1) I wouldn’t think about paying their rack rate and 2) Only if I was 100% certain about the bed quality. Not getting much sleep much is not fun.

Also note that Government Camp is a bit of a funky place, to say the least. It definitely does not have a traditional resort feel to it. This is more of a small mountain community that happens to be located near some ski areas. Dining options are quite limited -- if you like hamburgers all the time, you'll be in luck. There is no shopping in this town to speak of either.

Just know that Collins Lake Resort is not a resort like a Black Butte Ranch, Eagle Crest, or Sunriver. However, summertime up there could be great because there is an almost unlimited amount of outdoor activities available. If you make sure your expectations are in line with the offering, and know some specifics about the unit you are thinking about renting, Collins Lake can be a fun place to stay to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Fischer, Front Office Manager at Collins Lake Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2011
These comments are very much appreciated and will be passed along to the owner of the chalet. Comments regarding mattresses, pillows, and linens are of high importance and we appreciate guests making our staff aware of suggestions that can be recommended to the owner of the home.
Regarding the floor plans of the Chalets, all units that offer a den with sleeping arrangements are listed as 3 bedrooms; each unit’s description specifies whether the den is open, partially enclosed, private with a privacy curtain, or private with a door. The floor plan is typically specified at the time of reservation. Guests are always welcomed and encouraged to request specific floor plans, amenities, and views when speaking with one of our vacation specialists. Due to the special vacation packages that are currently being offered, it is possible that a unit with a private den was unavailable during your stay.
In regards to the blanket; it had been bagged up with the purpose of being removed from the unit and was not intended for guests’ use. Regrettably, it was set aside and missed on the final walk thru of the unit.
It’s great to hear that the amenities at the resort are being enjoyed; the great snow season brought one of our busiest spring breaks and it was great to see so many people out and about enjoying what Collins Lake Resort and the Mt. Hood Area has to offer.
Thank you again for the feedback; guest comments play a large role in assisting us to provide a wonderful and memorable experience for our visitors.
Sincerely,
Shannon Fischer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    18
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
58
14
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Damascus, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a three night stay at Collins Lake Resort and we are ready to go back. After a day of fabulous snowboarding at Timberline and Ski Bowl we would return to our Chalet where we would BBQ on the deck with the snow falling. It was beautiful. We would spend the rest of the evening relaxing in the leisure pool surrounded by snow covered fir trees. It is a great place to relax and enjoy life
Winter, Spring, Summer or Fall, Collins Lake Resort is a wonderful place to stay. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Fischer, Front Office Manager at Collins Lake Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
Thank you for sharing; we always like hearing which activities and amenities were enjoyed during our guest’s stay. We look forward to seeing you again at Collins Lake Resort!

Sincerely,
Shannon Fischer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

We stayed at Collins Lake resort for a girls weekend and to participate in the Tubbs Romp to Stomp Race for the Cure Snowshoeing event. We arrived Friday afternoon around 4pm, we stayed in unit H30644. The unit is very nice and was perfect for our group. There was a managers reception at the community center from 6:00 – 8:00 so we went to check it out. They had New Belgium Brewery there sampling beer and door prizes, we didn’t win any door prizes but I noticed that they had two lift tickets for Ski Bowl for prizes. In the community area they had a nice size pool, hot tub, sauna, workout equipment, large fire place, and small kitchen.
The kitchen in this until if fully equipment with most everything you will need to cook a meal. The only thing we noticed it was missing was cooking spray or oil, and something to wrap or store leftover in like foil, plastic wrap or baggies. There are two bedrooms one with queen bed and on suite bath. The other room had two queen beds also with on suite bath. There was also a nice hide-a-bed in the living room area. They have a nice entertainment set up with flat screen TV, DVD, stereo and a Wii. The resort in walking distance to all the amenities in Government Camp and there is a shuttle to Skibowl.
The only complaint 5 out of 6 of us in the group agreed on was that the beds were way to soft. I guess we like firmer beds, it was so soft I slept on the floor for part of the last night. But for the most part this place is great and very affordable. We will return to Collin Lake Resort.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

We are a family of 4 (two young daughters) who spent 2 nights at Collins Lake on a family ski trip. The condo we rented was very clean, the beds were great, the kitchen was well equipped. (One minor suggestion is to add provide bath mats or rugs, the tile floor in the bathrooms was very cold.) We loved the location, walking distance to store and restaurants. Also walking distance to Ski Bowl ski area. It was a little bit cold for skiing the first day we were there, so we stayed in Gov't Camp and went sledding instead. Lots to do, and the condo was fantastic with kids. Everyone had their own room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Our family has stayed at Collins Lake Resort a number of times and we keep coming back. We loved this condo the best out of all of the condos we've stayed in. I have teens and grade school children. The pool and hot tubs keep them busy when we're not on the mountain skiing and/or snowboarding. The discounted lift tickets are a huge plus too! The sleeping accomodations in this condo are awesome. I would request this condo again for sure! I also have to say that the staff here at Collins Lake Resort are second to none. They are always fast and friendly and go out of their way to accomodate us! Thanks for making our trips to the mountain so pleasant. I wish the staff at Timberline could take a few lessons from you guys! :)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

We got unlucky and ended up in building F, which unknown to us, backs up to 26. Do not stay in this building if you have a child, or are a light sleeper. Unfortunately, our unit also had sunken in mattresses. Not good.

In defense of the resort, they are offering us a different weekend to try the place out.

We are looking forward to giving it one more try.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Horsell, Manager at Collins Lake Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2011
My sympathy goes out to your situation as you explained to me that you had booked this condo online unaware that we are located in Government Camp, Oregon which is on Highway 26. There is road traffic nearby and can be heard from some units. When you return we would be happy to help you find a quieter location within the resort. Our staff is here 7 days a week to make reservations and assist you. Please give us a call next time when you are ready to book.

Although there are properties on Highway 26, it is important to note that traffic noise affects some more than others and the entire resort should not be judged on one guest's experience. In our rental pool, some of our most popular properties are located on this corridor.

Each of these properties are different and owned by a unique owner. We will be sure to let the owner of this property know about their mattresses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

Overall we enjoyed our stay in our two bedroom chalet. The unit was spacious and in general clean. The kids enjoyed the Wii when we were not playing in the snow. You cannot beat the location.

The one really BIG negative was the FILTHY CONDITION of the kitchen items. As we started to prepare dinner the first night we found that not only were the "clean" dishes in the dishwasher still dirty but at least a third of the stuff in the cabinets & drawers were filthy: plates, bowls, glasses, silverware, cooking utensils, and pots etc. No exaggeration. Literally greasy caked on chunky smeared food residue. So... we cleaned and segregated a supply of dishes for our stay and we were fine but still it was just very frustrating and disappointing. I did bring this to the attention of staff during our stay, literally bringing a sample of items to the office so they would not think I was just a clean freak. The staff was very apologetic and responded to my concerns appropriately.

I would stay Collins Lake again but would be sure to call before my arrival to make sure the kitchen has been inspected given our experience. Seriously, some of the pots appeared to have just gone from the stove back into the cabinet. Also I would recommend to friends with the warning about the kitchen.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Collins Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collins Lake Resort

Address: 88149 E. Creek Ridge Road, Government Camp, OR 97028
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Government Camp
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Collins Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collins Lake Hotel Government Camp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Collins Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.