We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good old fashioned bar with good bar food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charlie's Mountain View

Charlie's Mountain View
88462 Government Camp Loop, Government Camp, OR 97028
(503) 272-3333
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A good old fashioned bar with good bar food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were staying in government camp for a wedding and we went to Charlie's both nights we were there and had a blast both times. We got typical bar food while we were there and were not disappointed!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Good food, relaxed atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stopped for lunch after checking out the Timberline Lodge and Mt. Hood. Excellent New England clam chowder and a very good turkey with spinach and bacon on the. The Reuben was really good, too. My son had a bacon cheeseburger which was ok. The bacon used is sliced real thick but the burger was average size. Only one person was working in the small restaurant, so service was a bit slow. However, once we realized that the guy was playing host, server and chef-all in one-we just kicked back and waited. Overall, a very good deal!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great price, great food, good atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We had been at Ice Axe when the grill broke. Our waiter suggested we try charlies for dinner and we were not disappointed. I had an excellent veggie wrap and my boyfriend had a great double (2 chicken patties) blackened blue cheese sandwich! If we are ever in the area we will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't judge a book by its cover!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

While Charlie's Mountain View may not look like much, it's definitely five star food! At first look, you expect that the best you can hope for is a passable burger and greasy fries. What they lack in atmosphere, they make up for it in the kitchen. The special on the evening my wife and stopped in was a Cajun salmon Ceasar salad. I gave it a try and was very impressed. I expected a few salmon bits tossed in the salad, but instead was served a very nice size salmon filet on the bed of salad. It was such a large salad I couldn't finish, and stopped eating the greens because there was no way I was leaving any of that salmon!

My wife ordered the Chicken Fetticune and was very happy with the meal. The chicken was tender and moist, and the Alfredo sauce was exceptional.

This wonderful dining experience was well beyond our expectations and we will be back!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Decent "Dive Bar"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stopped by for lunch with the family mid week in February. We were the only ones there (Government Camp is kind of a ghost town mid-week). The chef, was also our server. He was fairly attentive. Menu is fairly extensive, but mostly typical pub fare. Our son really liked his fried shrimp. Wife and I both had sandwiches which were pretty good. Basically, nothing to memorable, but you can definitely do worse in Government Camp.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's Mountain View also viewed

Government Camp, Clackamas County
Government Camp, Clackamas County
 
Government Camp, Clackamas County
Government Camp, Clackamas County
 

Been to Charlie's Mountain View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlie's Mountain View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.