We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool vibe, good food, jammin' java” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Mountain Cafe

High Mountain Cafe
88335 E Government Camp Loop Rd, Government Camp, OR 97028
(503) 272-3059
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Cool vibe, good food, jammin' java”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Really enjoyed a few breakfasts and espressos here. Extremely friendly service and all food and drink met or exceeded expectations. Problem? The pace is a bit on the slow side. Me wife tells me I need to chill out as we're on vaca. Fair point, but still...

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Three words for you BISCUITS AND GRAVY! We walked over to the High Mountain Cafe to discover the wafting smells of waffles! The kids were ecstatic and I was excited for the biscuits and gravy, FAVORITE! Hubby had himself a build it yourself omelette and was a very happy camper. Then the kids enjoyed some more skee ball while we sipped coffee and enjoyed a minute to ourselves. Definitely a good spot.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yard Sale!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stopped in here today on my way to Portland for lunch. Ordered an "Yard Sale" sandwich. All I have to say is awesome. Ordered my sammy and sat down to deal with a few emails. Internet was great service was better. I would suggest stopping in here if your in Govy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medford
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Food , however”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our breakfast of a scramble was very good except for the artichoke hearts that still had the small leafy portion on the heart. They were very tough and chewy, not at all edible. The background music was loud an "screechy" and a distraction for such a small area as the place was packed with everyone trying to talk above the noise. Also the food server handling our silverware did so by touching the ends of the forks instead of the handles. Also food was still on the fork when handed to us. Yuk! Sent it back. No tip at this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Best Sandwiches EVER! And I Don't Like Sandwiches...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We LOVE the High Mountain Cafe, whether on our way to Bend and just getting lunch to go or enjoying Mt. Hood for a hike. The variety and quality of the sandwiches are to be applauded. My favorite is the chevre goat cheese on whole wheat baguette, with the crispiest cucumbers, fresh spinach and tomatoes topped with a pesto that is to die for. Husband loves the turkey with havarti cheese and avocado with sprouts on whole wheat bread.

The sandwiches are AMAZING and the service very polite and accommodating.

Please stop in and enjoy lunch or breakfast. Great value, delicious food and a nice deck to enjoy the best sandwich you have ever had. And I HATE sandwiches... ; )

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Mountain Cafe also viewed

Government Camp, Clackamas County
Government Camp, Clackamas County
 
Government Camp, Clackamas County
Government Camp, Clackamas County
 

Been to High Mountain Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Mountain Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.