We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Cozy, and Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn
87450 E Government Camp Loop, Government Camp, OR 97028   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Government Camp
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, Cozy, and Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

Great destination for a weekend ski trip. Plenty of ammenities, kind staff and clean property.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jatpat, Owner at BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback to other about your stay at the hotel. My partners and I just purchased the hotel last year and have spent a lot of money to upgrade the hotel. We love the Mt Hood area and want our hotel there to provide all the comforts of home for travelers taking a short break and spending time up on Mt Hood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    68
    20
    16
    9
See reviews for
74
70
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

We could not believe how nice this place was for the value. This hotel is very clean, the beds are surprisingly comfortable, the sheets are soft and of good quality, the check-in took us a total of 1 minute, and the lobby is useable and convenient. I almost never take advantage of the continental breakfast but at this hotel, I found it to be convenient and delicious. I had a breakfast burrito and great coffee and my boyfriend had donuts and a bagel with cream cheese.

The hotel is nicely located to all of the Mt. Hood action.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

There aren't that many places in Government Camp suitable for one or two night stays during the summer. The Inn is at the end of Government Camp next to the Ice Axe grill. Plenty of free indoor and outdoor parking. The lobby is rather spartan and the front desk is a folding table. It looks like the ran out of money finishing the lobby or perhaps are renovating? Breakfast is served in the lobby - a simple continental breakfast with the addition of warm egg burritos. We had a room with a hot tub which we did not use. The room was quiet and large enough. Wireless internet worked well. Much better deal ($$) than Timberline Lodge and you can always drive up to the Lodge for a drink in the bar before dinner. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed here for just one night after driving over from Portland and loved it. It's super close to Mount Hood, which was a lovely drive at night and the next morning. The restaurant in the parking lot (Ice Pick?) was really good with a very friendly staff and the hotel breakfast was surprisingly good. Make sure you try the sausages. They were delicious. Room was nice, beds very comfortable and a refrigerator is always welcome for travelers who like a nice, cold soda first thing in the morning. Don't worry, coffee drinkers, there was a pot in the room, too. Very quiet and, I'm pleased to report, bed-bug free!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2007

When I made my reservations online I was given government rate of $85 plus tax for the night. Unfortunately I did not print out the webpage with the rates. When I checked out I was very shocked to be charged $179, including tax. This is more than double the rate I expected to pay! To be quite frank, I feel like I have been scammed. I make all of my hotel reservations online, for personal use and for work, and this is the first time the email reservation confirmation did not confirm the price. I can't help but wonder if this is deliberate so that the customers cannot use this confirmation as verification of the price they were originally quoted. I contacted the hotel to attempt to have the issue corrected, but they said the government rate applied to military personnel only and would not to anything to correct the error.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2006

We stayed here for only one night, but it would be a great place to stay for an extended stay. The room was very nicely furnished with pine furniture. It had a countertop area (separate from the bathroom) with a sink, microwave, coffee maker and fridge. (Only negative for us was that the microwave kept overloading the circuit so we couldn't use it...if were staying longer, we would have had them fix it).
The hotel has a nice large, attractive lobby with a fireplace and a continental breakfast was included.
We didn't spend very much time there at all, but I noticed they had a laundry room, lockers for skis, snowboards, etc, meeting rooms (for large groups I guess) and covered parking.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross Plains, WI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2005

Adequate accomodations near Mt. Hood and good value when compared to the Timberline Lodge. Brewpub next door had great beer and food, but service was marginal! Clean, friendly staff and nicely decorated.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn

Address: 87450 E Government Camp Loop, Government Camp, OR 97028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Government Camp
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Government Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mt Hood Hotel Government Camp
Mount Hood Lodging
Mount Hood Hotel
Mt Hood Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.