We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good breakfast and good reception” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn
87450 E Government Camp Loop, Government Camp, OR 97028   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“good breakfast and good reception”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I came for a photo trip to Trillium Lake.
Hotel has a nice lobby with fireplace inside.
Free hot drinking water is available 24 hr in the lobby with coffee.

Hot breakfast was available starting at 6 am, but since my group went to the hunting spot before 6 am, the reception guy was allow us to have breakfast earlier.
The reception, Lisa , was helpful and really understood us.
When we were in the lobby around 5 pm , she took out the fruits and hot snacks for us.

Wifi is great.

Another plus about the hotel : my friend by coincidence left her bag on the lobby .
Hotel reception kept it and arrange the shipment to another BW hotel where we will stay in the following day.
Appreciate this help

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtHoodGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about our property. We offer many amenities included in the rate that other lodging in the area does not. It makes our property a great value in Government Camp, OR.

Thank you,

Jeffrey A. Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    86
    28
    22
    12
See reviews for
92
95
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dutch Harbor, Alaska, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I only stayed one night and did not take advantage of many of their commodities. However, I enjoyed my stay here. It was very quiet due to the government shut down and the skiing being closed. The whole place is decorated Adirondack style, and they have a lovely fireplace in the lobby and chairs around to read or relax by the fire. There are also a couple computers in the lobby, so you don't have to bring your computer. The room was adorable! The view wasn't the best, but there is a restaurant and local brewery right next door. Sadly, they close rather early.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtHoodGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are happy your stay was enjoyable. The government shutdown in our area was unfortunate. We have some rooms with a view on clear days. I would suggest requesting a back side room during your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,

Jeffrey A. Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarragona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Best Western Mt Hood is situated on the south base of Mount Hood in Oregon. It is surrounded by some of the most beautiful scenery anywhere The hotel room was spaciouos clean and well furnished and the hotel staff were friendly and helpful.
Next to the hotel just a one minute walk is a bar/restaurant serving a varied bar type menu and many different beers--the food is good and reasonably priced.
The hotel offers a good seletion free self service breakfast with free coffees soft drinks water etc
The car park is of a good size.If I have the good fortune to return to the USA and Oregon I would stay at this hotel again,I had a good experience staying there and i recommend this hotel to anyone travelling in that part of the states.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtHoodGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We strive to provide an excellent selection of breakfast items. The scenery in our area is beautiful. I think about every day driving to work. We greatly appreciate all your wonderful comments and recommendation.

Thank you,

Jeffrey A. Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossland, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

After driving 22 hours to pick up our daughter from the Legacy trauma center in Portland - we had a great night and lots of help at the Best Western Mt Hood. Our girl was injured after falling in the rocks while skiing on the glacier at Hood - lacerated liver and undetermined leg injury - 3 days in the hospital and a 3 day journey home. Our first night was at Mt Hood to collect equipment and check with fellow skiers. It was a harrowing journey and we were very glad to be able to stay again at this hotel. We love this hotel. Beds are great, breakfast will get you by the lobby is comfortable and I like the location. The best part is the staff. Lisa Galbraith the front desk supervisor was especially awesome. We were struggling to transport our daughter - she was in a lot of pain and her leg was immobilized. Lisa made the world of difference. We asked if there may be some extra pillows we could by or have (old ones). As a past ski patroler she knew what we had to deal with. She returned with a pillow of her own and a 12 pack of paper towel rolls. She said it was the best thing for cushioning all the difference spaces around the body to help make an injured persons trip more comfortable. She had helped many injured skiers make their trip to the emergency room with out having to call an ambulance. We look forward to our next trip to the BW at Govey camp and hope to see Lisa again. I hope her empoloyer knows how awesome she is.
Many thanks for all your help - the Butler family

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtHoodGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Lisa is an excellent example of how we pride ourselves on customer care. We hope that your daughter is recuperating quickly. We hope you will be able to visit us again soon. I have talked with Lisa and she would like to say thank you for the wonderful review.

Jeffrey A. Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

situated on the south base of Mt. Hood with hiking trails right across the street from the hotel. The room was clean and adequately furnished with a comfortable bed and reliable wi-fi. Breakfast was above average and different choices were offered for the 2 mornings I was there. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable, quiet hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtHoodGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Our property is extremely close to hiking trails. Our location is great in relation to all the activities in our town. We strive to bring a good quality breakfast to our guest’s. We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Thank you,

Jeffrey A. Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Our room was quite large and contained a fridge and microwave. Nice clean friendly place to stay. We got snowed in up on the mountain overnite so didn't get to sleep in the room so I can't say anything about the beds but they did look comfy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtHoodGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It brings us great joy your stay was so wonderful. We are so sorry you were stuck on the mountain during your stay. We hope to see you again in the future.

Jeffrey A. Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

the mt. hood brewery offers great food & great tasting beers & it's next door to the hotel. the hotel had a fire roaring in the lobby as you walk in. the hot tub(large Jacuzzi with no jets). the water was 103-4 & room for 6-8.breakfast was good and filling. a return trip to this hotel is a must.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtHoodGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Tom,

We are happy your stay was enjoyable. Our hot tub is a great place to relax after hiking or skiing. We do have jets on the hot tub. There is nothing like a nice fire when there is a chill in the air. We cannot wait to see you on your next visit.

Thank you,

Jeffrey A. Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn

Address: 87450 E Government Camp Loop, Government Camp, OR 97028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Government Camp
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mt Hood Hotel Government Camp
Mount Hood Lodging
Mount Hood Hotel
Mt Hood Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.