We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to hike and explore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn
87450 E Government Camp Loop, Government Camp, OR 97028   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Port Ludlow, Wa.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place to hike and explore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

The rooms were quiet, comfortable, large and well appointed. The staff was very friendly and competent. We were traveling with a large group and the lobby/breakfast area felt very cozy but large enough to accommodate everyone. The breakfasts were wonderful and a nice variety; such as waffles, eggs/bacon to make a sandwich or hardcooked eggs in addition to the usualy breakfast cereals, breads and pastries. Everything very fresh.

Coffee/tea/hotchocolate provided all day as well as other drinks appropriate to the season. If you felt like a snack during the day, there was always a container of assorted fruits.

Goverment Camp is a rather small community but the number of lakes, waterfalls, and hiking trails close by was amazing.

We were there in late summer and the room rates were very reasonable.

Room Tip: All rooms accessible by elevator. Lobby on first floor and guest rooms on second and third floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    86
    28
    22
    12
See reviews for
91
95
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North East UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Loved this place. Saved a lot by staying in this hotel instead of the nearby Timberline Lodge. I thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was large, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was better than any of the other chain motels I stayed in during my 3 weeks in the US. Staying at Mount Hood gives you heaps of options for day trips, I chose to go to Mount St Helens but there is so much nearby. I would have loved to stay longer, if only I had the vacation time!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tieton
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

The room and public spaces were clean, staff were polite and helpful, bed was comfortable enough. No air conditioning in the room, although it probably isn't really necessary at that altitude in the summer, the open window at night was adequate. Hip-high refrigerator with freezer worked well. Tiny bathroom, have to sidle around the door to get it closed. If anyone fell in there, people would have a hard time rescuing them. Wifi was adequate, except for uploading to a corporate VPN took about 5 minutes per megabyte which can be typical behavior for satellite internet (don't know what they have) combined with a corporate VPN tunnel. If you're planning to work from the hotel, you may want to explore other internet access options in town or on your own.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Terrace, Florida
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We were happy with our room here. The proximity to Timberline Lodge and Mount Hood is the reason to stay here. The lobby had the feel of a lodge and our room was clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful and the breakfast in the lobby worked well (lots of seating was available). Even though the hotel is clearly geared to ski season with heated entrances and ski lockers, it was a fun place to stay in the summer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011 via mobile

I was apprehensive about my stay here after reading other reviews, but my room was updated,clean and fully functioning. The breakfast was a bit crowded but there was a Blacksmiths convention in town, and those guys take up space! This place is new to BW and they are really trying to make it good.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed in a lot of hotels on our trip through the Pacific Northwest, and this was one of the most expensive. It was also one of the worst. The carpet was very dirty-in our room and the hallways as well. The colors of bedspread and curtains were dark and outdated. We had a king suite w/ sofabed, which were all in one large room. The sofabed was old, uncomfortable, and had an unpleasant smell. The blanket on the sofabed had grease on it. We asked for another blanket, and it was even dirtier. Our teen daughter eventually crawled in with us. We were told that there were 5 ski camps, leaving at 5 am. It wasn't as noisy as we were expecting. On the plus side, they did serve breakfast from 5 am - 10 am. My daughter liked the breakfast burrito, and the ready-made hot chocolate. They didn't have (ran out of?) bread and butter, so we ended up using our own. Overall, not impressed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed here 2 nights in a room with a king bed and whirlpool. We then stayed one night at Timberline. The one night at Timberline was as much as our two nights at the BW and I enjoyed the BW more.
Our room at the BW has all the modern details we have come to expect, fridge, microwave, DVD player, coffee pot and free breakfast. But above and beyond that, the service was great and breakfast was actually pretty good!
There is a hot tub, sauna, and lockers there, but we did not use them.
If you are going to Mt. Hood or need a place to crash on your way to somewhere else, stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn

Address: 87450 E Government Camp Loop, Government Camp, OR 97028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Government Camp
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Government Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mt Hood Hotel Government Camp
Mount Hood Lodging
Mount Hood Hotel
Mt Hood Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mt. Hood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.